We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the "Royal Treatment"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have always wanted to stay at the castle since it opened many years ago. Finally made a reservation for March 30. Check in/out was easy and quick. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Room was very clean and decent sized. Cons were bathroom was very small and there was no balcony for our room. But we had a beautiful view of the main drag, convention center, and the bay. Conveniently located to attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RB745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed at castle in the sand three nights from march 30, 2012 to april 2, 2012, great place we alway check with the trip advisor site before we book any hotels we plan to go to, excellent reviews, the place was within walking distance of the ocean city convention centre, our grand daughter was performing in the cheerleading contest there, the room 413 was excellent the staff was polite and professional, robert, sue ann, john, jack, matt, lucind, wayne,candy, andie, young jack, if i misspelled anyone's name please forgive, the castle made my wife and i feel like king and queen in one's castle, many thanks from janet and robert molter of holbrook, new york

Room Tip: there are only great rooms at castle in the sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOLFER117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

let start off with the pros of this room it was oceanfront so the view was top notch 2. there was a clog in tub drain and they were pretty quick to fix it. 3. the room was very clean. and thats about all for the pros. ok now the cons lets start with the beds lets just say you my as well sleep on a slab of concrete(arent beds in hotels supposed to be soft?)and the pillows dont have nothing to them u need like all 4 to equal 1 regular pillow. the balcony was nice to have but WAY TO SMALL, my girl would have to put her feet up every time i walked by and i still stubbed my stinking toe on railing the chairs outside were horrbily uncomfortable max 3 feet from wall to balcony oh and my girl is only 4 11 maybe it was just our room 5004 in waverly castle but i highly doubt it will not stay here again quality inn on 33rd was sooo much better and it was only 20 dollars more a night. oh and if your going there just for coconuts bar u dont have to stay there cause u can go there from any hotel i asked

Room Tip: different hotel lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydogDallastown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Castle in the Sand during St Paddys weekend 2012. Check in and check out was smooth. The front desk was very nice and helpful. We stayed in the Oceanfront Penthouse, which had an awesome view of the beach and ocean. In the summer it would be a perfect view. The hotel is in walking distance to the 28th street area and the 45st village which is the ending point for the St Paddys parade. Can’t wait for coconuts to open in early May. Price, location, all in all it was a good choice and we we’re happy with our choice and stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyinburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Castle in the Sands is our favorite hotel in Ocean City! We have been staying there for the past three years, going at least twice each summer,and have had a fabulous experience each time. We stayed in the main building on the first floor where we were immersed in a tropical paradise with palm trees, beautiful flowers and plants, lights, private beach and live music. Oh and a Happy Hour that can't be beat in price. The service was top notch from housekeeping to an incredibily friendly front desk and a genral manager who made us feel like we were family. We have been to various tropical islands and the Castle in the Sand reminds me of these places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a nice hotel that could use some updating. We stayed in the north building and our room was ok. It does NOT have central air. Again - we did NOT have central air and the A/C unit was located in the living room area by the balcony. That meant our back bedroom got uncomfortably warm. I actually just went and slept on the couch because it was just too hot in the bedroom to sleep.

The pool is very large and nice. They check your name when you enter so outsiders can't use the pool. I hate the restaurant located on the patio. I have no idea WHY they ruined that area with the cheesy restaurant because the food is not very good and you get eaten by bugs. They use to have a grill and you could just buy burgers by the bar so I don' t understand the point of the open air restaurant other than to completely ruin the view/atmosphere for the building right behind it. Big dislike on that one especially since they have a restaurant downstairs.
The ladies that run the kids activities were very nice and my children liked that alot. They made masks and pirate hats. Very fun for them.
The beach was fine. Plenty room to put down your towel and I did see waitresses from hotel roaming around getting drinks for folks. Nice touch. Overall - it was ok. Not sure we will bother going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is a privately owned resort, therefore it is the only resort in ocean city that has a private beach. We love lounging by the ocean and having waitress service! You can order delicious cocktails or food from their outdoor grill and have it delivered to your beach chair. We have stayed in the north suites and the south suites. Both have kitchens and family rooms. It's always been clean and perfect. There are townhouses you can rent also. The nice thing about this hotel is that it is not a huge high rise with thousands of guest. It's in between so there isn't herds of people trampling over you. It's closer to the boardwalk than most of the hotels this what we like. You can walk to a nearby bus stop and take the bus which goes up and down the strip all day long for a buck. They have a great tiki lounge which is open day and night, an inside bar where you can play keno. Take out breakfast place. Place your order over the phone walk two min to pick it up. The swimming pool is in the front which is great so the screaming children are away from the tiki bar which is near the sand. No reason not to stay here and enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogidavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing