We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another outstanding visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Ringwood, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another outstanding visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed at Castle in the Sand July 13-20. I have reviewed this place before and everything in that review still stands true (great experience). Each year we return to find an extremely hospitable staff that go out of their way to make sure your happy. Jeff the food and bev manager must sleep well at night, the guy is always moving, over seeing or helping out the staff, same with Joe. We booked very late as as a result had to switch rooms the last 2 nights of our visit. This went went off with out a hitch. we simply packed our stuff and it was moved by the hotel. The rooms are all recently renovated, clean and the ac works well. Also rooms are quiet at night, you cant hear your neighbors other than the odd slamming door. You have everything you need right there. Theres really no reason to leave the resort. Great beach with cocktail service, great pool with diving board and cocktail service, great restaurant (coconuts) lunch dinner and a great happy hour, beach club buffet for breakfast, and live music all day long. Kids club that does face painting etc for the little ones. Its a great mix for parents with kids as you can have a cold beer or drink and not abandon your family. very laid back and comfortable. Full of families and not a drunk fest. It just really works. Then if you decide to venture out your a few blocks away from the boards, and pretty much everything else. buss is quick to everything. Go have fun, I cant wait to get back next year!

Room Tip: If you have little kids and will be back and forth from beach, get a waverly first floor efficiency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sull29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear “sull29”,
First I would like to thank you for your continued patronage of The Castle. It’s nice to read that you and your family have had another great stay, and that our staff in all departments met your expectations. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments. I’d also like to thank you for taking the time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor. I am proud of the renovations that were completed the past two years and glad you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the amenities we offer. Coconuts and our free children’s activities are very popular with our guests. I hope the rest of your summer is a pleasant one and look forward to having you stay at The Castle on your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    256
    123
    74
    51
See reviews for
397
181
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphiak PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay here. Location is great- beach is steps away and the convenience of having coconuts beach bar and grill right there was the main reason I booked here. We didn't want to have to drive somewhere to grab lunch or a drink in the afternoon. Coconuts happy hour is great-5 to 6 pm 2 for 1 drink special and live music a plus. We stayed in a penthouse room- north building 2 queen beds Beds were comfortable and seemed clean. Bathroom was another story. Toilet had fresh urine drips and stains. Counters of sink not cleaned and shower/tub very rusty. Bathroom needs to be renovated. This place would be awesome if the bathrooms were updated and cleaning staff was better. I called for toilet paper at 730pm and was told a "runner" would bring it up. 840 pm and still no toilet paper. Thankfully I brought my own tissues but for 200 a night you would think I could have toilet paper. Overall beach and beach bar is great, location is great,rooms were just ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear "philly91",
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our great beach front location and Coconuts, our Beach Bar and Grill. Unfortunately, we feel that we did not meet your expectations for cleanliness. The fact that you perceived the bathroom was unclean is unacceptable to us. The issue has been addressed with the house keeper on that floor. There are certain times during the evening, especially during heavy bar traffic times, that our runner staff are very busy fulfilling all needs. This must have been the case in you not receiving your toilet paper in a timely manner. We have instructed our front desk staff to deliver items like these personally and not rely on support staff. This should alleviate the problem. Thank you again for your review and thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Bob Borello, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We recently spent a few nights at this hotel. We had a mini-suite on the ground floor of the south building. The location was convenient to everything. Outside one door was close parking and the huge pool. Outside the other was the patio leading to the bar/grill area and beach. The Beach House restaurant, the Ice Cream shop, and the gift shop were also mere steps away. There was live music in the bar/grill area (Coconuts) every day at both lunch and dinnertime. The pool was clean and had a true deep end with a diving board. The fact that Coconuts serves food and beverages at the beach and pool made us feel like we were at a resort instead of just a hotel. Service from Coconuts was extremely slow (so much so that one time I left the pool area to track down our waitress so we could close out our bill), so that's one thing that could be improved, but we recognize life is a slower pace at the beach in general, too, so it was just a minor irritation.

The room seemed to have a good bit of wear on it (some peeling paint, chips & scratches in the kitchen counter, etc), but was clean and neat. It's not a fancy Hilton or Marriott-type, but it was perfectly fine for a beach vacation. No need for fancy when you're wearing flip-flops, anyway! I had been warned ahead of time that my room location might be noisy, due to the nearness of the bar/grill and pool, and yes, it was a bit noisy, but things quieted down by midnight each night. I could also hear the family in the room above ours walking around. The air conditioning was downright awesome, though. Hard to believe a wall unit like that can keep the room so cold, but it did so well that we ended up raising the temperature a little (because it got too cold!). We were able to walk to the north end of the Boardwalk with ease. There is also a bus stop one street over from the hotel, and it only costs a dollar to ride ($3 for off/on all day), so that was convenient as well.

The beach was not crowded at all (especially when we compared it to the beaches we saw in front of the Boardwalk hotels), and even though the hotel was completely full part of the time we were there, we didn't encounter crowds at the pool or restaurant, either.

For those with younger kids, there are a lot of kids activities every day. (Another thing that made it feel resort-like)

Someone else mentioned this, but just a heads up that a $10 cash key deposit is required at check-in and refunded at check-out, so make sure you arrive with a little cash on hand.

We were very happy with our visit and are already talking about plans for a short return trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is very open and honest about the pros and cons of different room locations (they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vwnotabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear “travelexperiences09”
Thank you for sharing your nice compliments regarding your vacation at The Castle in the Sand Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. We have so many things going on to entertain our guests it is like being at a small resort! Our pool is not only one of the largest in Ocean City, but is the only one with a diving board. This has been very popular with our guests. Coconuts beach waitress service also is one of our guests’ favorite amenities, along with the free children’s activities that are available. The Castle’s location is very convenient to many of Ocean City’s most popular attractions including the boardwalk and amusements so it was nice to read that this was a plus for your family. Thank you for patronage and I hope you will return on your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdale, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

"The Castle" offers everything we look for in a family vacation. Comfortable rooms with a full kitchen which allows us to cook a few meals in, quick walk to the beach, and the BEST swimming pool in Ocean City. We've enjoyed many lunches & cocktails at the beach bar/grill while listening to the live music. Last, but not least, the children's activities the castle offers with "sunshine and lady j" have been entertaining our kids for years. The best face painting you'll ever see! Entire staff friendly & always accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trudytrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear “trudytrue”
I’m glad you enjoyed your family vacation at The Castle, and you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. We strive to provide clean, affordable accommodations with modern conveniences and it’s good to know that we succeeded in all areas during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our property, your continued patronage, and I hope you’ll stay with us again on your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here with a few friends for the first time, and it was very nice, breakfast buffet, Bar/Night Club, beach with in walking distance, a little expensive but the whole Ocean City is expensive, will definitly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boo2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear “Boo2302”
Thank you for your patronage. I’m glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Castle has to offer. I hope you’ll stay at The Castle in the Sand Hotel the next time you visit Ocean City, Maryland.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Castle in the Sand and Coconuts Beach Bar keeps bringing us back year after year.Spring Summer Fall , You can't go wrong.The rooms and location are just what I'm looking for . Good food fun and entertainment always the best !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weremeychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear “Weremeychik”
Thank you for being a returning guest and taking the time to share your comments. It’s great to know that you enjoyed The Castle in the Sand Hotel and all of it’s amenities, including Coconuts Beach Bar & Grill. I hope you’ll return to The Castle on your next Ocean City vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just got back from our second time here. We love this place!! Great for the kids who loved the activites for kids, the movie night and swimming in the large pool. Having a kitchennette in the room was great for breakfasts. We felt like we were in a resort area with Coconuts restaurant, music playing, volleyball, beach and pool service. Cannot wait to go again!! Great walking distance to many things and a short drive to the boardwalk, deep sea fishing and go carts!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor of the Waverly Building-great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear “Sue M”
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed the amenities that make The Castle so popular! I’m glad you found our accommodations suited your needs, and our location convenient, as The Castle is close to the boardwalk, amusements, fishing, go carts and lots of other popular Ocean City attractions. I hope you’ll return to The Castle the next time you vacation in Ocean City.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing