We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$131
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Royale Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Gold Coast(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
353
264
130
80
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
264
130
80
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiving boardwaverly castlecoconuts bar and grillthe cottagesbeach servicebreakfast buffetbeach barocean frontlive entertainmenthuge poolfirst floorceiling fanfull kitchenconvention centeroff seasoncoffee makeroceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Booked our stay through the Hot Deals area on the hotel's website. Received a great rate on an ocean front penthouse room, which was even better than described on the website.

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Room was clean and spacious. The view was great!

Though checkout time was at 11, we were permitted to leave our car in the lot all day, as well as use the pool and changing facilities before heading home.

Waitress service on the beach and at the pool - the drinks were great!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed in the north tower on the 3rd floor and had a great view. The room does need some updating but the beds were comfortable and the tv has MANY channels. Our room had a small kitchen area that was just enough. The bathroom is very small but the shower head is awesome! The staff is very polite and we were allowed to check-in at 10:30am. That was very accomodating to our day. We loved the live music at Coconuts (the outside hotel restaurant), happy hour and beachside and poolside food and beverage service. The boardwalk ends around 27th and the hotel is on 37th so that gives you an idea of how far the two are. Overall, our stay was great and relaxing! I would go back again. Oh, Phillips seafood on 21st was very yummy!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beachbabyTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

There were some good points and some bad points to Castle in the Sand. First of all, I would like to say that their website is very deceiving. The hotel room decor looked like it came right out of "That 70's Show." It was very outdated and definitely is in need of some rennovations. The bed was uncomfortable and bowed in the middle. We stayed in the North Castle on the 2nd floor. The elevator was out of service for the majority of our stay. Our room had a separate bedroom and it was never cool in that room because the air condition was on the other side of the suite. It made for very uncomfortable nights. The positive aspects of Castle in the Sand is the view from the balcony. We could see the ocean beautifully. However, the furniture on the balcony was so old and uncomfortable, we couldn't stay out there for very long. Also, the Coconuts Bar and Grill was very pleasant and the live music was one of our favorite parts. The volleyball court is a nice touch as well. All in all, we would not book with Castle in the Sand again. It was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aad0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

After reading decent reviews and then some bad reviews, I didn't know what to expect. We only stayed one night but our room and stay was better than expected. We stayed in the north castle in a suite on the 3rd floor with a great view of the ocean.

Good points:
- clean
- comfortable living room furniture with enough seating; seemed new (not worn); included sofa bed, 2 arm chairs, 1 ottoman, coffee table
- nice dark wood tables, desks
- 2 queen beds in bedroom
- full kitchen with stove, microwave and clean fridge; stocked with utensils and plates etc.; expandable table
- 2 tv's with cable; one with vcr/dvd player
- can borrow dvd's from front office
- plenty of towels
- reasonable rate for suite (tail end of low season)
- right on the beach
- fairly close to boardwalk
- balcony with small table and chairs
- ocean view

Minor negatives:
- front desk staff was kind of aloof
- a/c didn't seem to work but fortunately didn't need it
- next to boiler room so some noise
- fairly thin floors and walls
- entrance door to outside (not to common hallway)
- entrance door opens into bedroom, not living room
- outside looks bit dated but can add to charm

We would stay here again for more than a day since the suites are ideal for longer stays (with the kitchen).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gymfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

My husband and I spend our anniversary weekend in OC during the SpringFest. Our regular hotel (Quality Inn Beachfront) was fully booked, so we decided we would try Castle in the Sand. A friend of ours from church had recommended it. We stayed in a first floor suite. When we checked in, the staff was completely friendly and wonderfully helpful. No complaints there. We reallly liked the size of and the way the suite was set up. You could walk right out the back door and were no where from the path over the dunes to the beach. It had a full kitchen that was very well stocked, right down to a potato masher! Those were the great things. Here are the problems....Both of the double beds in our room were broken down, the coner of the box spring on one was actually touching the floor! The mattresses on both beds had the smell of mildew. By chance I had a bottle of Fabreze in the car. I sprayed down the beds, carpets and curtains and it helped a little. It is definitely time for some new beds! The walls are paper thin... We could hear everything going on in the rooms on both sides of us. There was a group of women on one side there for a bachelorette party that were quite graphic in their group discussions! LOL....But, it made us think, What are they hearing from us???Geez! Time to pad the walls a little. This hotel has been around for a while, it is definitely time for some updates. Again, the service and front desk are absolutely wonderful. Other than the odor in the bedroom, the room was very clean. If you decide to book, ask for an upper floor and ask if the mattresses have been replaced for the 2008 season.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDG-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews