We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, NIce Pool and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, NIce Pool and great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my first time staying in Ocean City, Maryland. I stayed at this hotel for 5 days, 4 nights. When I arrived, my room was ready, which was around noon. That was great The front desk management was very nice. Waiting for the only elevator to take our luggage up to our room was a bit long. When we arrived at our room (in the North side, oceanfront), I was a bit disappointed. This hotel is very old, needs some maintenance. My first impression when I walked into our room was, what a very tiny bathroom. And very outdated. The toilet seat had 2 black marks (scratches) on it and was very annoying because I always thought something was there. Actual room was acceptable but very pricey. I have stayed at the Jersey shore for years, and never spent as much on a room, even for a weekend in mid July.
Coconuts is the Bar/Grille on property and was nice. Did not eat at the buffet, it is in the basement of the hotel and not alluring. Pool was nice as well. Overall, was a nice place but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the ocean. When checking out, I mentioned the small bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbaram612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    260
    127
    74
    53
See reviews for
407
189
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in late June. Beautiful weather and the beach and hotel were packed. The room was comfortable and had what we need. I booked a beachfront penthouse room but with only 4 floors, the view was lovely, but penthouse might be stretching it.:) The desk staff was efficient and quick if not overly friendly. The location was great for beaching, but a little far from boardwalk. We visited the breakfast buffet one day, but didn't go back. Food wasn't very good and much of it wasn't ready or available when we got there (past opening time), but our waitress was a nice girl and helpful. The biggest issue we had is they advertise wi-fi so my husband assumed he could tend to some business while there. We ended up having to wander around the property with his laptop trying to find a spot where we could sign on. It continuously faded in and out. They should consider upgrading the system. Overall, I'd go back to this hotel again. The pluses outweighed the minuses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeh_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Valley, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From breakfast buffet to late night drinks, everything and everyone was just right. Jeff and his staff (Joe, Patricia, Brandie, and all the servers) were sooo accomodating to me and my kids. Drinks served on the beach was such a nice extra, and the girls who served them were delightful. We ate lunch almost every day on property, and were on a first-name basis with everyone by the time we left!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here just for a long weekend and we reserved probably one of the more expensive rooms to have a beachfront room. Balcony was very small and no screen door, so not really able to leave the door open and enjoy the sound of the ocean. The rooms were nice enough but the décor is very old. For the rate we paid (more than $350 per night)--I had hoped for somewhat of a nicer room, but I think this is common for Ocean City. Also, we asked for an early check-in, while understanding that is not a guarantee, we were told the people had checked out of our room around 9:00 AM, but our room was not ready until 2:30 PM. Should be a simple enough task to ask the maid service to go clean a certain room, for an early check-in request, especially if the guest is staying in one of the more expensive rooms and made the early check in request early. The next day we came back from the pool & beach around 2:30 PM and our room had not been cleaned. The maid was right next to our room and we asked if they were going to clean it now, as the baby needed to take a nap..I offered if you could clean it now that would be fine, or you could come back in 2 hours. She said that the night maid would take care of it then--our room was never cleaned. Not a big deal overall but again, I think if I were her, I would have pulled the team together and had them jump in and just clean the room quickly. Always better to come back from a day at the beach to a clean room.

The front desk staff and waitresses were all very nice and attentive. The bar/restaurant is very busy for lunch and hopping at night as well. Loved hearing the music while we ate lunch or dinner, but by later afternoon/night time, the bouncers come out and card even families as you walk through the area as there are so many young people (as the manager told us--many underage) that come here to drink. I think they should simply ID people that order drinks, but they shared that they can't take chances so everyone, literally everyone, is carded and has to wear a wristband if drinking...made our family kind of feel we were in a college/fraternity party, but it was ok for that beach environment. You also have to walk through the outdoor restaurant/bar area to get to the pool area and my 16 year old daughters were asked every time they went to the pool..."Are you drinking today?" Just felt overall a bit strange.

I would recommend this hotel if you are going with other young couples, just want to have fun and not too concerned about a modern room. I think families traveling with teenagers and a toddler may have better options such as The Grande, where I've stayed before and the Hilton but it is very expensive even for a Hilton.

Nice enough, fun environment, but I give it an overall rating of a three star hotel with some areas that need improving and could move up in ratings with some modernization to the rooms and service.

Again, nice enough stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rflorez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an older hotel, but the location is awesome, direct beach access, parking, private beach bar with live music and happy hour, restaurants, pool, and very friendly helpful staff. The front desk was helpful with recommendations for local favorites and directions, vehicle was secure, and the room was very nice. It was obvious that the place is maintained. We got an ocean view room and were able to see the dolphins frolicking from our windows. The hallways were a little worn, but I didn't spend much time in them. The restaurant with the breakfast buffet had a lot of food, but wasn't really that good. The beach bar was a fun way to relax and spend an afternoon. The housekeeping staff were kind and efficient.
I stayed away from the dune level rooms because there was no view of the water, but after being there and seeing them, I would rent one for a return trip, they had nice front areas with outdoor seating, which would have been nice. With the beach only a few steps away, it is easy to see!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssilvaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review. We take great pride in our staff being the friendliest around. We are so happy that you found them to be just that. Our oceanfront rooms do provide a great view and the dolphins are often an added treat. Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Bob Borello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I chose this hotel after reading trip advisor reviews. I knew, going into it, that it was ranked 20th and that only 72% of reviewers gave it thumbs up. However, I read through the reviews carefully and noticed that those reviewers with families liked it. So, after thinking of my vacation needs, I took the plunge and booked it for my husband, myself, and two of our grandchildren (aged 10 and 11). I knew right from the beginning that it wasn't going to be right near the boardwalk so I was disappointed that we either had to walk a long way or take the car to that location. In fact I was happy about this since I didn't want my grandchildren bugging me to keep going back to the boardwalk instead of focusing on the beach and pool. I also knew it was an older establishment so I wasn't expecting lots of electrical outlets (as someone else complained about) or newly decorated rooms. The one thing that I did want was a large room overlooking the ocean with a balcony for my husband and I to enjoy as the grandchildren watched TV in the evening. So I booked a 5th floor room in the Waverly building. Upon arrival we were welcomed very nicely and given our keys. Yes, the facility is dated, yes, there could be some renovations, but overall I was pleased with the cleanliness and very pleased with the location and fun atmosphere. I almost felt as though I was on spring break in Miami Beach, but in a more controlled, very secure location that was suitable for families. My grandkids enjoyed eating at the Coconuts Bar and Grill (part of the hotel complex) and listening to live entertainment. They also enjoyed the great outdoor pool manned by lifeguards, and my husband and I loved the beach and watching the parasailing from our balcony. Finally, I would like to add that the staff was tremendous. Everyone of those we met, from housekeeping staff to wait staff to security staff, were pleasant and accomodating. I would return to Castle in the Sand Hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Be sure to make your preferences and needs know when you book so that the reservation staff can help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write. Indeed, we are an older hotel. That is not a bad thing. Our hotel opened in the late 50’s so we have been providing pleasant vacation experiences in Ocean City long before not only Trip Advisor, but the internet as well! We really believe there is a lot to be said for being around awhile. We are family owned (the same family that opened The Castle) so we also understand the importance of being a good place for families. Add this to the extensive renovations we have done to make our guests' stay more comfortable and we think we have a winning formula. We hope to see you again soon.
Bob Borello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed here at least 1 time a year for the last 8 years and love it.. the staff is always friendly and very helpful views are wonderful and rooms are always clean with everything that you would need

Room Tip: love the North Suites 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleadmin, General Manager at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review and for your continued patronage. We have many guests who stay here year after year and we really appreciate you trusting your vacation to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing