We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Gold Coast(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
353
264
130
80
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
264
130
80
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiving boardwaverly castlecoconuts bar and grillthe cottagesbeach servicebreakfast buffetbeach barocean frontlive entertainmenthuge poolfirst floorceiling fanfull kitchenconvention centeroff seasoncoffee makeroceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
794 - 799 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I stayed at Castle in the Sand as a little vacation to myself. I had a room in the 'castle' part of the hotel which had a nice open upobstructed view of the ocean. This was very nice and I enjoyed the respite.
However, I was very concerned about where the placement of the little kitchenette was.
As being on a top floor with no way out in case of fire, the oven is right by the front door.
If a fire was started in the unit by the oven there would be no way out. This bothered me.
I would think the fire marshals would not permit this.
Yes, the decor is getting old and rugs are worn thin, doors are warped and air conditioners are noisy; but it still allows one to relax and enjoy. Just be very careful when cooking.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We stayed in one of the guest house apartments in Sept. The decor was very out dated and could have defiantly used some updating. Grounds and facilities were well maintained for the most part, just old. The outdoor restaurant / bar were very good and had a fun atmosphere. The pool was large, but cold. The breakfast buffet was not very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pictures that the website posts for the hotel are a little deceiving, it makes it out to be grander than it actually was. Good place to stay overall if you don't require the most modern facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank me3tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

My family have been coming to the castle for the last three years and we always leave looking forward to the next year to rebook ....The staff is great , with any problems quickly taken care of... the accomendations (although the decor may be a little outdated)... are charming....it's definitely a good location - home away from home...i highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Stayed at this property in 2006 and booked this year too. The service desk is very helpful and kind. The rooms, while being outdated, are very clean and comfortable. The mattresses were very comfortable and the linens clean. We had a kitchen and it was well stocked and super clean too. The bathroom was also super clean and had everything anyone could need. At this time of year, an Ocean front room with living room, bedroom and kitchen--also a balcony at the Senior rate goes for 64 a night or less. Will book again. Great trip!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceanWheeling_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

My husband and I stayed September 16th through the 18th. There was road construction on 38th Street which began before 7 am and ended after 4 pm - while we understand that the hotel has no control over situations as this - to have them tell us to call the township/county and complain was not the response we expected. Some kind of accomodation should have been made by the hotel for this horrible inconvenience in being forced awake at such an early hour while on vacation. I feel a free drink or discount on food would have been a good gesture on their part. The manager never got back to us. Very bad customer relations in our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainBeachNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews