We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why we love the castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
philadelphia
1 review
“Why we love the castle”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Great location right on the beach. Great bar/grill with live music everyday from 1-5pm.
Seemed like great kid activities...but we didn't bring our kids this trip!
Fun volleyball court.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    256
    124
    74
    51
See reviews for
397
186
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My experience with The Castle began 50 years ago when it first opened. The Showell's wanted to purchase the property between their new hotel and the cottages my parents were renting... however they ended up buying the cottages also. Over the years, the Castle has grown from one building and the cottages to the family vacation destination it is in 2009. Over the years, there have been many changes but the quality of service from the staff is still great. The first pool has been replaced by an 25 meter olympic size pool. For your dining pleasure, Coconuts Beach Bar and Grill is within a few steps from the beach and patio along with Footprints Pub and the Beach House Restaurant located in Castle North. There is a volley ball court, a game room and activities for the younger set. Now my grandchildren eagarly await their week at the Castle each summer. I have been asked many times why we keep returning to the Castle. I tell them I cannot imagine going on vacation any other place in Ocean City...It's like coming home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie1012A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in for the amount of money we spent!
Every aspect of the "so called" suite was extremely small, old (had not been updated in decades), dirty, and uncomfortable. We stayed in room 25, on the second floor, overlooking the pool and the Coconut Bar/volleyball area. All the furniture was definitely purchased at the Salvation Army,.... as is. The old, old TV didn't work at first and we had to buy a inflatable mattress to sleep on the sofa-bed. The bathroom was extremely dirty, worn-outdated decor, a chipped toilet seat, and the residue of a old bath mat stuck in the tub. The best thing about the place was the location of the hotel to the beach. That was great.
I recommend that you ask to see your room before you check-in or definitely stay some place else. The room they advertise is nothing near what you might get.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytraveler048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanham, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This was our 7th year at Castle in the Sand and each trip has just gotten better. It's on the beach, the pool is huge and our cottage is always clean and ready for us, and the staff is warm and welcoming.
Each year it seems they add something new for the family to do together- this years addition was a family movie night at Coconuts. Castle in the Sand has become a summer tradition that we all count down the days to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Great ocean-front hotel in a great location. We stayed in a North "Penthouse Room" Oceanfront on the 4th. floor and awoke every morning to a great view of the beach and ocean. We found our room to be clean and spacious for two adults and three young children. Very family-friendly with a large clean and lifeguard-attended pool. The kids enjoyed an afternoon break with "Lady Sunshine" and Lady J" and their daily schedule of interactive activities. The outdoor bar and grill named "Coconuts" was convenient for lunch with live daily musical entertainment and just steps from the beach. We would highly recommend this hotel property to families visiting Ocean City for the first time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This will be our 5th year at Castle in the Sand and as much as I would like to keep it a secret so that I do not have to worry about not getting the reservation I want, I just have to let you know this is a whole different world. Yes, you are in OC however there is live music from 1-4 which is heard even at the pool and one of the only parts of the beach that serve refreshments including frozen drinks. They have a D.J. on Friday nights to start off the weekend and an all you can eat buffet that is a great deal for the price. Just be prepared to waddle back to your room. This year they added an outdoor movie night with popcorn and candy. Nothing better than sitting in the sand watching a movie. It is one of the only hotels that once we unpack my children and I feel like we are home and the kids love those smiley fries. Thanks for a great vacation look forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We have been going to the Castle for 20 years now. When we started, we stayed there so our kids could join in the kiddie activities and now they are joining us for 2 for 1 happy hour. We rarely leave the premises with everything we need right there. Located right on the beach, when someone is tired of the sun and sand, they can retire to the pool, volley ball court,restaurant, bar or room. There are daily activites and music and,though very family friendly, it is like a party every day! I haven't found anything else so all encompassing on the east coast! How many teenagers want to go on vacation
with their parents anymore? But our kids are still going with us well into their college years and it is a tradition we plan to keep up!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing