We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was awesome, views are awesome, and kids love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This was our first family vacation to Ocean City, Md, and we decided to stay at Castle in the Sand by browsing their website. We asked for a room with a view of the ocean, and they put us in the waverly castle 4th floor, with the most breath taking views. The children's activities are awesome, face painting, crafts including making faces on seashell, puppet shows and movie night under the stars. We were literally 10 steps away from the beach. The pool was so well supervised with 2 life guards. The staff there were extremely friendly and helpful, everyone always had a smile. oh and the breakfast buffet was excellent for the price. I am definitely returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashellsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

The small suites are in the old building--which has outside entrances and no elevator. The ice machine is on the first floor, outside the office; it is locked. There are no ac units or ceiling fans in the bedrooms. The ac unit in our living room was so loud it was difficult to sleep--but it did muffle the sound of parties on either side of us. The single tv was small (and in the bedroom, not the living room). You have to scan a card to get into the parking lot, which is a pain. While we were there, there was no internet access in our building--it had gone down before we got there--and they had only managed to restore it in the new building with the large suites. We were there for 4 days, and they never got it working in our building. All the small-suite dwellers who had counted on having wireless access had to take their laptops to the basement of the new building and set up shop on chairs outside the restaurant.

No discount was given for the absence of this promised amenity.

Lots of people showed up with coolers overflowing with beer--lots of partying going on. Not the best place for young children.

On the plus side, the Olympic-size pool was very nice, and the courtyard off our balcony (where the outside restaurant is and where they projected a kid's movie one night) was nice. The breakfast buffet at the restaurant was reasonably priced and pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargainchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I love castle in the sand everyone is so friendly and nice. The is pool beautiful and you have an awesome view of the beach. It is so clean there and it is a very family orientated place. They have volleyball there which you can also play which is a lot of fun!!! Theres also a buffet that has resonable prices and great food. This place is awesome they have a bar too!!! Theres something there for everyone that they will enjoy!!! You will never want to leave, I know i didn't !!! So if you want too have a lot of fun castle in the sand is the place to be!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachluvvvv2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I first went to the castle over thirty years ago, lots has changed in Ocean City, and even the castle, its much bigger. One thing hasnt changed though in all these years, The friendliness of the owners and the staff,. Whats really amazing it REAL ...We have gone two and three years in a row, ad then not for ten years, but when you walk in the door, its like old home week, you get that friendly smile,that please and thank you, and this last time I found the owner out there working with the staff, he was filling the soda machines. Its very much a family place, where everyone relaxes, have nice conversations, and friendships are struck for a lifetime. We met an older couple there thirty years ago and stayed friends and in contact with them till their death. Theres lots to do , they are centrally located, the rooms are clean, the beach is wonderful, the pool is great, and so is the little restaurant, Coconuts. I can tell you one thing, this is a family orientated, clean place, thats fairly price, not inflated like alot of places, and trust me when I say, I'll be back.. I mean it..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimg5303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Spent a few days here for an end of summer beach getaway. Staff great. Had made reservations and then forgot to make sure I could get a first floor room due to elderly person's needs that I was traveling with. Called back about one week later and they were able to meet my needs. Best kept secret that I really don't want to divulge is that they have restaurant service at the beach. Food arrived in a timely manner and was delicious. Would definitely stay here again. Have been going to Ocean City, Md for 29 years and this place was one of the best I stayed at yet.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Penny051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Castle in the Sand Hotel was perfect for my family with boys 7 & 8. We had a suite room with a balcony overlooking the ocean with a kitchen. The beach is a very short distance from the hotel. The pool was awesome to use my 8 year old's word. The hotel is kid friendly and conveniently located near the boardwalk and other Ocean City attractions. If we didn't want to prepare our own meals, the restaurant and outdoor grill had plenty on the menu from which adults and children could choose.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernon074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This was my first year traveling to Ocean City, MD and I loved it! The NJ shores need to take a trip to MD to see how they can improve their amenities!

The Castle was very conveniently located! We stayed in the Waverly building facing the ocean….very nice! Every morning we caught the sunrise, then were able to roll over and go back to sleep!  Loved having the choice between the beach (waitress included) and a nice size pool! It was actually hard to decide which to do each day! But we did try to catch the live music at Coconuts each day (1-5pm) which was very good! The only problem with the pool set up is that there is a building between the pool and the bar/band. It would have been nice to sit by the pool (or in the pool) and enjoy the music! Happy Hour is from 5-6 with 2 for 1 drinks…..be careful how you order, if you want 2 drinks in total, don’t say 2 or you will get 4! (Nice problem to have!)

The shuttle/bus service is great! For $2 a day, you can ride the bus as many times as you want all day! We parked the car and never drove again the whole week, just jumped on the shuttle, no worries about drinking and driving!!!!!!

One of our favorite spots was Tail Feathers at 22nd street (short bus ride away), you could relax in a hammock type swing and enjoy a tasty beverage with your feet in the sand! The best part was that the swings were reserved for adults only….no kids allowed! And, of course, Seacrets at 49th street (also a short bus ride away) is just amazing! The place is huge! During the day, you wade out into the bay, jump on a float, and the waitresses come out to you to serve you a tasty beverage…..doesn’t get much better than that!

Our time in OCMD went by way too quickly, there was so much more to do! For example, we need to explore more of the huge boardwalk, the miniature golf courses and Asetek Island. We will definitely have to go back! And I think Castle in the Sand is worthy of a return stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £62 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing