We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Our first time here in four generations at another hotel. We ended our trip with our usual hotel, becuase of the holiday weekend rates, but we will never stay at the old hotel again. Castle in the sand has won us over. Breathtaking views from the Castle North, huge room, big, full kitchen. Staff ensures that you have a great time. Kids activities are great, my kids were there every day, 2 and 6 yrs old. Pool was sparkling clean, and huge. Movie night was lots of fun. Great live music each day. So easy to walk onto the beach. Breakfast buffet was affordable, and food was good. The only downside was the beds were a little uncomfortable, and the food at the grill was a little overpriced, but most things are these days!! Great place to stay in a beautiful, quiet part of town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castleinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I went down to OC Maryland on a last minute whim. When we got there we were turned away by 2 hotels that had vacancy signs because we were only looking to book for one night and they have a 2 night minimum stay. (Silly me...I thought a hotel would rather rent out a room for a night then have it sit vacant and get nothing....but who the heck am I?) Anyway...thats when we came upon Castle in the Sand. I figured I would have the same lousy luck with this hotel because it looked so nice and it appeared to be super busy. Well...as luck would have it - they had a vacancy and were willing to rent it for a night. The staff was very friendly and explained the room to me (2 bed efficiency suite) before we agreed to rent it. We were not able to check in until 4pm but they even had someone there to turn on the air condition unit so that the room was comfortable when we walked in. The decor was charming. It felt as if we were staying at grandmas beach cottage for the weekend. I can not say enough good things about Castle in the Sand. What I can say is that in the future we will be sure to book with them in advance without even bothering to seek out other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just got back from The Castle in the Sand at Ocean City, MD. We had an Ocean Front Penthouse room and could not believe the bargain. We were able to open the blinds every morning to watch the sunrise from our bed and then at the end of the day we would come back and watch it set. It didn't matter if it was windy or cold we had the perfect seat in our room. The best day was when the moon came up orange and lit up a streak along the ocean pointing to our room. The water was so close that we could go out at any time for a quick dip in the ocean and then come back to our room and get changed for the night-life (plenty within walking distance) - We also had the breakfast and dinner buffets so I have to admit we didn't leave the hotel building at all one day (which was perfect for the wedding couple we met there ; ) There is also the Coconuts Bar and beach volleyball and a big pool on the ground floor for even more things to do. We definitely can't wait until next year. (p.s. on the way home we stopped by Asseteague Island to see the wild horses - it is only 8 miles away!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandCrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The hotel check in was smooth, the front desk was polite and helpful with golf locations, and prices. The grounds were clean and the pool was sparkling and very big with a diving board. The rooms were not too big, but adequate, very small bathroom. Rooms very clean but needs updating, new carpets especially. Did not have an ocean view but did look at the rooms that offered an oceanview and the view was spectacular. They had laundry facilites which was nice. Beach was a few steps away. Coconuts next door which offered lunch, live music and a happy hour. All in all a good value for the money, verses other hotel prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domino166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We go back to the Castle In The Sand every year since we discovered it! Our summer is not complete unless we visit for at least a long weekend. We had vacationed in Ocean City before but we had a completely different vacation once we visited the castle. My child cried all the way home and on the couch when we came home this year. The rooms are set up to enjoy the layout of the pool and beach. The pool is large and located close to the bar and grill. The beach is right there as well. There is waitress serivce on the beach, volleyball, daily entertainment at the bar and kids activities all afternoon everyday but saturday. The difference about their activities is that they are outdoor as opposed to inside a cold conference room. There are no charges and the two ladies who run the program take an individual interest in each child and make them feel very special.

Once you experience the castle you won't want to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuessWhoYonkersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We checked in on a Saturday with ease, and were swimming in the ocean shortly after. Had a nice corner penthouse room which was plenty big enough for our family of 5. Rooms are a little dated, could use some updating. Shower pressure was really bad also. Our kids 6 and 4 really enjoyed the kids activities and the pool with diving board. We ate lunch at coconuts and that was also very nice. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferrarafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My family and I stayed here the last weekend in August. We arrived on a Saturday , the room was clean and we were pretty satisfied with it. However, the next day while I was in the bathroom the maid unlocked the door and walked right on in. My husband told her we were Ok and she replied "No"!! He told her again we were good (remember at this point we were only there less than 48 hours and we made our own beds). She finally walked out. After hearing this I opened the door to see if she was still there. I saw her cart outside the next room with a clipboard on it (I looked at it to see if maybe there was a mistake and she thought the room was suppose to be empty). No, our room number said "occupied" next to it. We went to the office later and let them know it was bizarre and they agreed she is suppose to knock. They stated someone would take care of it. Well the next day she did it again!! Walked right in past my daughters in the bedroom and into the living room area where i was. The whole maid experience was strange and unsettling. Consider yourself warned!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ValleyGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £67 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing