We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is top ten in ocean city?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2007

I saw a special for this hotel and cross referenced it with tripadvisor. It was rated number 6 when i booked this hotel out of 82 and at the time of this writing, it is now number 5 out of 82 hotels in Ocean City. If this is one of the best hotels Ocean City has, then the city has some pretty terrible hotels.

The non smoking room we got was stinky. Of what? Hard to describe, but definitely a smell. The front desk personnel are completely rude, probably cause they can be - the area is packed in the summer and it seems most people stay in what's available rather than a hotel of their choosing. The outside of the hotel looked dated which was fine upon arrival because most everything in Ocean City looks dated (except the Hilton which is huge and looks brand new).

The restaurant in the hotel had a terrible band which sang covers of rock songs. Okay, at a beach front hotel, play beachy songs, not bad 70s/80s rock songs. The waitress rushed us everytime she came by the table - when ordering, when asking if our food was okay, when giving us the bill.

The room was big, but stank. We did not even peel back the covers, we slept on top of them. The toilet flooded because we learned you have to hold down the handle for a long time till everything goes down. The faucets were all loose and we were never able to get a good temperature to take a shower. Also there was absolutely no pressure from the shower. 2 trips to the room by the maintenance guy.

The good things about this hotel was that they had a pool, diving board, and it is a beachfront hotel. Plus they had great frozen adult drinks. They do not provide beach towels and the room towels for showering are all small.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2007

After reading the good reviews for this hotel, I thought I made a good choice. I can't believe this hotel is rated good and got such good reviews. We stayed in the North Bldg, Waverly Castle, which I don't know how they could call this a castle. We were told we would be on the third floor but was on the second. There was no parking in the alley that the hotel is in. This was one of the noisiest hotels I have ever stayed at. The loud music blarred from the bar all day. The guests made so much noise outside of the rooms going by, getting on the elevator and getting ice. Doors were slamming all of the time. And you can forget sleeping late, they had white mini blinds on the windows so you were up at the crack of dawn. The balcony furniture sucks and the door locks automatically when you go out on the balcony so you have to bring you key. The balcony is pitch dark at night. The room and furniture was old. The wallpaper was worn, the floors and linens were dirty- Yuk!! The spare pillows had stains on them. The pool was so crowded, they were no chairs and when you did find a chair they were so close, you could not even get on them. The only good thing was it was close to the beach. I was really disappointed and was very glad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank whirly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2007

We tried to stay here with our two young kids but checked out after one day. The noise was awful. Our suite (consists of a queen bed in a very small room, a kitchenette, and a pull out sleeper sofa) overlooked the pool on one end and the bar on the other end. There were kids out at the pool area at all hours and the bar had live music all day. After the band stopped they crank out music on the speakers and it is also very loud. The rooms are pretty outdated and have very old furniture. We complained about the noise and the mgr told us there wasn't a room that was any quieter. We were able to check out early w/o paying for the nights we didn't stay there. We went to the Holiday Inn Suites and it was about the same amount of money and very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JoannaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed in a room at this hotel with three other people. They shared the two queens bedroom and we got the sleeper sofa in the living room.
I had read the posts on this site before making my reservation. I was expecting a clean, but old hotel room.
The room was as I expected. Unfortunately, it meant peeling wallpaper, worn furniture and a bad sofa matress. The beds in the bedroom were much more comfortable. We should have brought our air mattress instead.
The AC unit was good enough to cool the entire room, but it had been turned on too late on our arrival day, so the bedroom was stuffy for the first night. We did find enough towels in the bathroom. The view was great. The pool was clean and large. The beach was steps away from our room.
This room did what we wanted for the price we wanted considering that we had guests (we got to rent one room instead of two), but I would not go back if it was just the two of us.

If you still want to go, here are a few tips. If you do not like loud music, request a room in the North building. The South building overlooks the Coconuts restaurant and they play music all day.
If you want an real ocean view and a balcony, request a room on the second or third floor. The first floor view is blocked by the sand dune and the last floors' balcony are enclosed in glass.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heloise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

My Sister-In-Law and I decided we needed a long weekend away from the everyday stresses (and without our husbands). So we decided to go to the beach for a 4-day weekend. Ocean City, Maryland, here we come! But with so many hotels to choose from, where would we stay? We started with Trip Advisor and based on the reviews we read we were willing to give Castle in the Sand a try. We had never stayed there before. We liked the location, 10 blocks from the Boardwalk (excerise needed), and the best of all, a ocean view room at a reasonable price compared to other area hotels.

We had such a terrific weekend! Everything was perfect, 4 days of gorgeous weather and the room was exactly what we needed for the type of stay we planned. The room was a suitable size for the two of us and it was clean. The maids did a good job of tiding up everyday but we did need to remind them to provide us with more towels. The pool bar was convenient.

We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank GetAWayGalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

My husband and I have visited Castle in the Sand three times so far. We found the hotel on the internet about 6 yrs ago and thought we'd try it, we were very pleased and have been back 2 more times since. The place is clean and always kept up great.
We love the fact that you can eat and have a few drinks without having to leave the ground.It's in a great location close enough to walk to the boardwalk and shopping. It's nice that you can drive there and park your vehicle in a secured lot and not worry about it. We also like the fact that you can relax at the beach or go to the pool, and waitresses will serve you food or drinks at either place. Castle in the Sand is a great place for couples or families, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Vacationer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I booked our trip to the Castle in March 2007. Wanted to return to Ocean City where my parents used to take us as kids 25-30 years ago. Searching and reviewing hotels on the internet was somewhat time consuming and concerned me. Looked for a fair rate for what was offered. I had no help or outside referral. Castle in the Sand was my choice. Great, central location right in the middle of Ocean City. Nice clean beach, umbrella rentals and all right there. Private gated parking lot was secure. Very friendly staff at all times. Our room in the castle south was a small suite, but just what I expected based on the hotel discription. Staying on the requested 3rd floor, we had a great view of the ocean to the east and wonderful swimming pool on the west. Pool was huge and life guards were nice. Enjoyed hearing some of the reggae music on balcony from coconuts bar below. Made us feel as if we were on a tropical island somewhere. All in all we were very happy with the stay. It was a great value for what we paid.

The only small issue was the flooring and carpets need cleaned. They made our feet kinda soiled walking around. Kitchen sink drain was slow and so was shower. They were not really dirty just need cleaned out.

Staff was always ready to help and see to our needs. We'll be going back again!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank stump1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing