We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't know what to expect but still disappointed.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
10002
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Didn't know what to expect but still disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We planned to stay here for 2 nights in July for a quick getaway in Ocean City. The hotel was not as expensive as other in the area but was still expensive so we figured it would be ok. When we arrived, the downstairs looked like a old school Parlor which may be great for some but not for us. The room was very small, slightly musty with terribly thin walls. We could hear the neighbors easily (loud obnoxious kids and parents) during the day and at night. The room seemed like a cheap highway super 8 motel. Now there is nothing wrong with a Super 8 motel but at least you know what your getting into with Super 8 and they don't charge 4 star prices. Yea, yea, the location was on the Boardwalk and the beach but the beach was too rough and freezing (not hotel's fault). Long story short, we were so disappointed with the entire situation that we checked out immediately after our first night forfeiting our second night. Thats not a particularly smart financial move but it was the best decision for us and we don't regret it. Im sure this hotel has a particular clientele but we are not it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdystylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your July stay at the Beach Plaza. As you noted our rooms in the hotel are small and we may not appeal to everyone. We do pride ourselves with excellent customer service and a terrific housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    128
    94
    61
    62
See reviews for
229
126
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I could not seem to find a TripAdvisor listing for the Beach Plaza Hotel Apartments, so I am submitting my review under the listing for the hotel itself. In addition to the normal hotel rooms, the Beach Plaza also offers 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, apartments that are located to the rear of the hotel, so it is not necessary to cross any of the busy Ocean City streets to reach the boardwalk or beach. The apartments are quite large and comfortable. They are provided with all linens, a reasonably well equipped kitchen, and daily maid service. Our group of 6, ranging in age from 4 to 66, stayed in apartment 509 during June 22-29, 2013. As many reviewers have commented about the hotel, the apartments are also old and could use some updating and even some repairs, but overall, the apartments are still very nice and convenient for an Ocean City vacation. The young ladies providing the daily maid service were exceptionally friendly, very competent in their work, and handled our needs well. Although the kitchen is somewhat equipped, I would suggest that it is a good idea to take along one or two favorite cooking pans and skillets - just in case what has been supplied with the apartment doesn't quite meet your needs. I can't say enough about the beds - they were very very comfortable!! The only complaint that we had is the fact that there is no insulation or soundproofing in the ceiling the separates the lower floor apartment (509 where we stayed) and the upper floor apartment (510). The people in 510 seemed to do a LOT of walking back and forth across the apartment floor, which treated us to a lot of noise, but it was only for a relatively small portion of the day so it was not unbearable. If you are a person who likes a modern, up to date, condo or apartment for your vacation, this is not the place to book. But, if you enjoy staying in an older, comfortable location with a little history and character, the Beach Plaza Hotel Apartments would be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The upper floor apartments are quieter since you won't have anyone walking across your ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your in depth review of your stay at the Beach Plaza apartments. So glad your entire family was able to enjoy the beach and being together.
Our winter plans include updating the apartments and I have noted your comments and will pass them along to our maintenance staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is an older hotel but very nice. The location is perfect... right on the boardwalk and near a beach entrance. They have a porch with rocking chairs which I sat on early in the morning watching the sunrise. Coffee was provided in the lobby and always ready by 6am. In the afternoon they put lemonade out on the porch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayaker332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
The entire staff is delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Beach Plaza. Our beach front location can't be beat and we are hoping you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Did I say it was in a great location? Right on the boardwalk with the beach on the other side. And also two minutes from one our favorite places to eat (see my review of Brass Balls). Loved rocking on the front porch after a long, tiring day Lemonade was also provided there as a nice touch. The building was nicer than I expected after staying in many Jersey shore hotels. As an older building, I feel it was kept up nicely. It looks like our room had been recently been done over but since I don't stay in the room too much it is not too critical as long as it is clean (it was). Parking was great...attendants were on duty to insure that only hotel patrons were using the lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our LOCATION!!! Nothing better than staying just steps away from the beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our front porch. That is one of our favorite features about the hotel. Please come back and see us again soon. Be on the look out for some great fall specials.

Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaca, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Overall, the hotel was a nice place to stay. The location was perfect and the staff was very friendly. This was a clean place to stay, but the rooms need renovated. There was no safe or mini fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location. It is so nice being so close to the boardwalk. We are always making improvements and renovations to our hotel. We look forward to you coming back and seeing us again in the future.

Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pylesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

While the location and parking of the hotel were great, the room was much less than what I expected for what we paid or what the pictures showed on the hotel website. My daughter, mother, and I just were there for 2 nights and 3 days this past weekend. The windows were filthy, as were the track of the windows, and the bathroom was disgusting, and the hairdryer didn't even work. The shower would not drain properly so when we tried to make sure the drain plug was pulled all the way up we realize it was not even attached and it came off revealing green nastiness at the drain! We didn't even want to shower in there but had no choice. Then when we arrived a bit early than check in I was told I would be called on my cell if wanted to walking around the boardwalk. No call ever came. We were not checked in until almost 3:30pm! Asked the staff a few questions about the hotel and their bike rentals that are listed on the website, they had no idea. Had it not been my daughter's first time to beach, my mother and I would have just left! Room was definitely not work the over $600 I paid! Avoid room 104, if you are planning on staying.

Room Tip: Choice another hotel. And if you are going to stay there choose the highest floor you can so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Beach Plaza Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and parking. You can't beat being just steps away from the beach. I do apologize for your housekeeping issues, I have addressed these problems with the housekeepers and I assure that they have been taken of. We continue to make improvements and renovations to our hotel. We do hope that you come back and see us in the future!!

Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A group of us went down this weekend and stayed at the beach plaza hotel. When we were finally able to check in to hotel, there was blood on the comforter. We called the front desk and had housekeeping come up and change the sheets. The shower drain was backed up and the water would not go down. We went down to the front desk asking maybe if we could change rooms and both the man and woman were not helpful. All they would say is no rooms available. Not even apologizing or being sincere for the issues in the room. Since there were a few rooms we had booked, they incorrectly charged credit cards not checking who was who on the rooms. Over all the place is very dated for the price they are charging, terrible customer service, and i would not stay there again. I will spend the extra few dollars and stay at a reliable place. The pictures on the website are amazing compared to what is actually presented when you see this place in person. Only good thing about this place, is its a nice location since you are right on the boardwalk/ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANCB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding your recent stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. I certainly do sincerely apologize for your inconvenience of the room quality during your stay. Housekeeping has verified that it was not blood on the comforter, it was a lipstick stain. I know that neither is acceptable and for that I again apologize. As far as our customer service, I have addressed your concerns with the 2 associates working the front desk and I assure you that they have been cleared up. Again, I apologize for your customer service experience, I do hope that you come back and try us again and I assure that your experience will be pleasurable.

I hope you have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#41 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Property: Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing