We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Hotel BEWARE!!!!”
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Absolutely the most filthy and unsanitary hotel I've ever stayed at. The moth ball stench is so brutal I have to hold my breath until I get in my room. Sand is everywhere, bathroom floors are black with dirt and hair all over it. Walls are so thin you can here the music the lobby is playing so don't even think of taking a nap. Staff unfriendly and woman at front desk mocked me for asking for a maid to clean the bathroom. Stay the hell away if you know what's good for you!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant experience. I wish you had contacted management during your stay so we could have addressed your concerns. The Beach Plaza prides itself on the friendliness of its staff and our attention to correct any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Prior to booking this hotel I had read the very mixed reviews, now I will offer mine. I am a stickler for beautiful, clean and friendly hotels. The Beach Plaza has some very wonderful assets. I will list the pros and cons.
Pros- Location! Middle of the busy boardwalk it is located on a quiet stretch not far from the chaos but definitely far enough! Beachfront is not overly crowded, access is right in front of the hotel and beach chairs, lounges and umbrellas are available steps away. Parking was a breeze, close to the hotel and beach.

The hotel itself is a throw back to the old beach front hotels with Victorian chandeliers, a big porch overlooking the ocean and a piano in the old-time hotel's lobby. The old fashioned furnishings made it more charming for me than dated. I did not mind the actual keys or the very slow elevator.

The staff of the hotel take cleaning seriously. When I had a complaint it was attended to immediately so I give them kudos for how well kept the rooms and lobby was. The bed linens are crisp white duvet covers with many fluffy pillows. The staff at the front desk were very nice with Debbie making my reservations and offering me helpful hints in the area, to Brian who went out of his way for my family beyond what a hotel employee needed to for a family he did not know. Much thanks Brian, and lastly to Danelle who really cared how we liked our room and if we were comfortable. So what else could be said?

Cons- This is not a five star hotel. Maybe back in the day but not now. It's rooms show some significant wear and tear and the effects of the ocean's salt. (We had an ocean front room with an amazing view!) There was rust on the metal (grates, hinges, door jams) in the room and bubbles in the paint on the walls. At first glance I thought the room was dirty because of the worn appearance but it was not, it was very clean and freshly painted. The towels were thin and could be upgraded. The shower had mold which needs to be removed permanently and not just partially caulked over. But with that said, this is a BEACH HOTEL AND LOOKS LIKE A BEACH HOTEL. I loved that this was not modern and new as long as it was clean. I have stayed in many beach hotels and this was very nice. I have heard more complaints about the apartments than the hotel so separate them when planning your trip.

All in all, this WOULD definitely be a place I would return to with my family. It was a wonderful vacation! We also met a lot of really nice people staying there while on the porch.
(As a note specifically to the Canadian group who stayed in the apartments during our visit, your behavior on the porch was loud and crude. The porch is for the enjoyment of all, you offended everyone on the porch as evidenced by what was said when you all finally left.)

Room Tip: I loved the ocean front room, the view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachrunner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for your in depth review of the Beach Plaza. Our staff takes seriously your comfort and we try to remedy promptly any shortcomings. While we don't consider ourselves a 5 Star property, we try and treat our guests as if we are one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I read many reviews and viewed as many photos as possible on various hotels in Ocean City, MD.

I eventually selected the Beach Plaza Hotel due to it's location and value. I wanted a place that could accommodate my small family of four (2 children under the age of 10), and thus had a separated room for them to sleep. I chose the Ocean Front Apartment (two-story white building to the right of the main hotel). I could have stayed at another family hotel up on 90th St for $200 less (for the whole weekend), but given that I figured we would spend most of our time on the boardwalk - so for the extra $200, I would rather go to a place where I would not have to do any extra driving (plus, being right in the middle of the boardwalk, we could walk to either end easily).

check-in was relatively easy. the staff was very courteous and helpful. each time we made a request, there was someone at our door in less than two minutes.

the hotel features a high-end Italian restaurant, Ice Cream parlor, bar, and a bike rental. so this is really a "resort" so to speak. they do offer free WiFi (although it was spotty much of the time, so I'm not sure if they throttle your data stream).

the two drawbacks were lack of pool and the condition of the hotel. the condition was fair at best (the linen sheets were clean and comfortable), but the air conditioner looked like it has been there since 1960. the bathroom had some issues, but it was usable. i think they have some newly renovated units, but I'm not sure if they were ocean front.

Overall, we had a very positive experience

I would certainly heavily consider going back again for our family vacation next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your comments about your stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. Our location is ideal for beach goers and we are delighted that your family enjoyed its stay. Our first floor Efficiency apartments were renovated this past winter and the second floor is due for renovation this winter. So glad our staff provided courteous service during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed in the apartments of the beach plaza for four nights, no problems at all. Great service and a prime location if you like the boardwalk. Brass balls saloon is an awesome place for Breakfast and is close to the hotel. Hammerheads is THE spot on the boardwalk for fun. Will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genosarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

The entire staff is delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in our 3 bedroom apartments. Our location makes for fun times in Ocean City and we hope your schedule will permit a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Do not stay here!! I repeat Do not stay here!!! The Housekeepers are a bunch of theifs. One of them stole my son psVita while we were on the beach. I reported it as soon i got back to the front desk. Brian( front desk clerk) said he would have the manager call me back. i never recieved a call. The next day i had to go and complain in person before the cops were called. They acted like it wasn't a big deal. Please do not leave anything out because it will disappear. I should have know from the time i checked in Debbie at the front desk had a serious attitute problem. We stayed for a week and had to call numberous time because the trash was never taken out, room was never vacuum, to get toilet paper but yet they had time to drop off the towels and stole his game..This was the worst experience i have had staying at any hotel!!!!! Very disappointed and sad that nothing was done, not even an apology from anyone.
Unsatified guest, you know who i am front desk!!!!!

Room Tip: !!!do not stay here, housekeeping are a bunch of theifs!!!!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

When you reported a missing electronic game we immediately called the police who came and interviewed you and your son. The capacity of your room is for 4 people. however, you had over 7 staying in the room which made cleaning the room extremely difficult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Beach Plaza Hotel for 3 nights. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay- the staff was attentive, prices were reasonable... Overall, a fun place for the family! Thinking about booking a stay for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocean2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. The entire staff is delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our beach front location makes the Beach Plaza the ideal spot for family vacations. Looking forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Beach Plaza Hotel hosted me and some friends and it was a great experience. The people who work there were nice and easy to approach. The rooms were nice as well and it was an affordable price. Look to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin E, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. The entire staff is delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
1,001 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £96 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing