We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Inn
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Historic hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent hotel. Paid extra for superior named room- enjoyed its comfort and spaciousness. Staff very friendly though reception failed to tell us actual number of our room which led to wandering around until we stumbled across it. Nice touch at breakfast was the loose tea with a gorgeous aroma - so much better than a dull green tea bag.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Talbot Inn. The accommodations are modest and clean. The room has a small microwave and little kitchenette. The location is very close to the board walk. The kids would have liked a pool but you can't please everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The deal breaker for us was this property not having a pool for the kids. The ocean water was
damn cold and some water around 75 would have been well-received. Location was great. on a drive-by. After a 3-day visit in late June, I would not be overly concerned about having advance reservations if we ever went back. Saw lots and lots of hotels/motels with 'Vacancy' signs, especially as you worked your way north toward the Delaware state line. Thought it would be cool to have a hotel right on the boardwalk, but the summer prices would have scuttled the whole trip. Those places are for those who want to drop a grand just on a room for a 3 or 4 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank FrankJ569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

As always, after seeing some reviews you get a little apprehensive about staying at a new place. You get mixed reviews and wonder which review to trust. Well we took a chance an decided to stay at the inn, and we were very pleased. Very clean, great location, just keep in mind these are older buildings, no elevator. We were very happy and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

we stayed here just before July 4th the rooms were very clean and the atmosphere was wonderful. The night that we arrived they had a DJ playing on the deck below we stayed on the second floor of Baysideit was nice to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the boat and listen to the DJwill definitely be back in the future

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lah2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stay Away!
I never write reviews because I am just so busy. However, I just had to chime in about my experience. We have gone to this location every year for the past four years with our children. We used to love this place but as the title says, this place has crashed and burned. Summer 2012 was a nightmare. We are no prima donna's but management was apathetic to every concern.
1) Our door lock did not work and the security latch was broken which is a big concern because of the children. Picture attached.
-One rainy day we were watching TV and some drunk guy just wandered into our room (mid day). He was very apologetic but .....that is a hint of the norm around this place now.
2) Our refrigerator was cool and not cold and had mold/mildew randomly around the fridge. Picture attached
3) There appeared to be a blood stain on one bed, cant confirm but there was definitely a stain. Picture attached
4) Every night, every single night there was drama, streaming and fighting. The police came because there was a burglary and assault.

Long before the police came, we called the office and they responded "what do you want me to do about it". Pretty much the same response on other nights. These were not minor disturbances. Every single night, there was constant loud conversation from a multitude of people out on the balconies.....until the random shouting matches. The patrons on the floor changed so its not even like there was consistently one responsible party. One day, there was 9 guys in the room next to us.

So basically, if your a teen or twenty something and want to party all night, this is the place for you. Otherwise, avoid the nightmare. Every item was brought up to management and we were met with apathy at every instance. I know this place isn't the Ritz but it is now officially hit bottom.

It been a year so I have forgotten some of the horrible items worth mentioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TripLover991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrducksOc_Md, General Manager at Talbot Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Sorry for your stay with us was a nightmare. We have since gotten a new supplier for our linen service. You didn't mention of telling the office about the door lock because we do take security serious and would not have left it that way had we been told about it. Our Housekeeping personal are human and they do make mistakes just like everyone else. With that said we have some pretty awesome housekeepers this year and are on top of cleaning. With your statement of calling the office and being told "what do you want me to do about it", we are constantly training employees and our Policy is to help all guest no matter what. We would go to the room that is being rude to other guest and ask them to quiet down or the Police will be called. Our Street side rooms accommodate only 6 people, not 9 and they would have been asked to leave, had you talked to our office. We hope you may come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

You get what you pay for and more.The price is very good .The room is fine and clean. The location is not the best but if you are looking for a room to stay for one night on the road , it is perfect.Not for family extended vacation.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aviron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#57 of 103 in Ocean City
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Inn

Property: Talbot Inn
Address: 311 Talbot St, Talbot Street Pier, Ocean City, MD 21842-4149
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Talbot Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing