We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, cozy and perfectly placed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spinnaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spinnaker
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Friendly, cozy and perfectly placed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved it here. As long as you don't mind the compact rooms, this hotel has everything you could want. Friendly, attentive service and a built-in cafe make for convenient amenities. The outdoor pool area is also spacious and very well kept. By far the best feature is the location - you're just a few steps from the boardwalk and prime beach access. Close to the action if you seek it, but far enough from it if you want a quieter getaway on the north end of the boards. As stated before, the rooms are on the smaller side - but are clean, cozy, charming. We will definitely be coming back here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a back corner room if you can so you can enjoy a less obstructed ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moseaphus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    160
    40
    6
    10
See reviews for
208
97
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family has been staying here for years! Always very friendly service from check in to check out! Location is great, one half block off of boardwalk, no traffic to cross. Ocean views from private balcony, yes some rooms offer a better view than others. Not a 5star hotel, older but well kept! Clean, rooms updated on a regular basis. We love the FULL kitchen..complete with microwave, full size (not huge) fridge and a full stove with an oven. With a near middle of the boardwalk location you are close to restaurants, mini golf, a drug store and of course the beach and boards!

Room Tip: higher rooms though a little more offer better views from the balcony..rooms on the side above the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dartoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed only one night. This hotel seemed to located just a little north of all the real Boardwalk activity, but we liked it because the beach was not crowded. The staff was extremely friendly. Check in was easy. Visitors might want to be aware that the rooms are entered from an outside balcony and those of us who have problems with heights might want a lower level room. We had a problem with our mattress and the next morning I reported it as an FYI to the front desk; they told me that had we called them at night, they would have replaced the mattress. The kitchen area is small but stocked. We did not use it except to make coffee and keep some drinks cold. No problem with noise form other guests, but this hotel, like all the beachfront hotels, is on an active street. We had breakfast in the attached cafe …once again, everyone was very friendly. Overall, a great experience!!This is not a luxury hotel, but it was perfect for a family get away.

Room Tip: If I went again, I would ask for a beach front room. There are 2 levels of efficiency rooms: effici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldsmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I loved our stay, we arrived almost an hour early and although check in was not until 4 they let us check in. The room was clean and furnished nicely. The view was beautiful from the balcony. We were a couple of steps from the beach, the staff was polite and courteous the swimming pool was great. I have no complaints and will be back next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Spinnaker was a great experience! We checked in with Donald, who was professional and friendly, and was directed to our room on the 5th floor. The room was fantastic, clean and fresh. We had everything we needed. The linens were fresh, the kitchen adequately stocked and the bathroom was spotless. Our view from our balcony was perfect for relaxing and taking in the scenery. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for the top. Room 510 was the BEST, though the end room on any floor would have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went for cruisin week, required 3 nights at $195 per night. Beds and pillows were great. TV had some channels, had to scan constantly to get to next available channel, was Direct TV. People on both sides smoked on their balconies and in front of entrances to rooms. Told front desk twice that they were smoking, against motel rules. Told front desk about noise and trash on our balcony from their rooms. Second night was yelling from 12:30 to 3:30 AM. Told front desk, should have called Ocean City Police. Not in the mood for another sleepless night, we packed up at. 6:30 pm and headed home losing $200.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First, let me just say that the location of the Spinnaker is excellent! You are literally a few steps from the boardwalk and the beach. Second, I didn't know what to expect, but the room we stayed in was extremely clean, had good lighting and the bathroom was immaculate. Towels were plenty and there was a small kitchen where you could make coffee/tea if you wanted. There was also a microwave and a full size fridge. Again, I give the Spinnaker points on cleanliness; the kitchenette AND the appliances were very clean. There was even a toaster and I found dishes in the cupboard. I thought those were really nice touches for guests who are there for more than a few days and want to cook/warm something up for themselves. While we didn't face the ocean directly, we still had a view of the ocean and boardwalk from our room. The other thing that we absolutely loved (traveled with my son and nephew) was the pool area. The pool is heated and my son and my nephew both enjoyed it. Now for the rest of the pool area; the "deck" extended from one side of the building to another and actually connects both buildings (Spinnaker consists of two buildings) so you can access the area from either side. Then you have a cushioned outdoor patio furniture that runs the length of one wall and is perfect for just relaxing especially if you're not swimming. They also have chaise lounges if you want to sunbathe or just relax. Or, if you just want to sit and drink/eat something, there is seating with umbrellas for shade. There is also a cafe (Malia's) that serves awesome omelettes. We totally enjoyed our stay here. The Spinnaker is not a chain hotel, but it was really worth the money and the one of the big selling points to go back is how clean our room and furniture was. Oh, I forgot to mention there is a small dining room table in case you want to eat in your room. Thanks Spinnaker staff for being so professional, friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cannonball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker

Property: The Spinnaker
Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spinnaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing