We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Colony Apartments
Bel Air
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is amazing on the OC boardwalk!! If location is what you desire, this is a great place right above the Fractured Prune donut shop. The rental is big enough for 8, we had just four people in our party. The pull out sofa's are less than desirable for a comforatable sleep.....our teenagers did ok, but an adult might have more issues. A few notes that would help if you choose to rent this space....bring extra towels as they only provide a few and there was no "maid" service over our three day stay. The kitchen is fully stocked wtih the basic necessities, appliances are a bit old but functional. Coffee filters, kitchen towels/papertowels and dish soap are not supplied so bring with you if you plan to cook. Dish network is provided on the tv, however, limited channels available so don't plan on getting your favorite shows. Once again, the location is amazing, fun people watching from the balcony and easy access to shopping, food and beach!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Colony was a great apartment to stay at while visiting OC MD! It was clean and had everything you needed in the apartment, if you wanted to stay in a cook dinner. The view from the balcony is beautiful especially for the sunrise if you are up that early. It's location is ideal as well. It is right on the boardwalk close to the amusement rides, beach, and other activities. There is also a very cute cafe right next door where you can get delicious coffee and breakfast sandwiches. I definitely recommend staying at the Colony for your next OC trip!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First let me start off by saying the you have to visit the Colony Apartments. The owners are AWESOME...the apartment was AWESOME...the view was AWESOME. not to mention it also has a balcony if you just want to relax and not go out. We had so much fun while staying in our apartment which is on the boardwalk with an AWESOME view of the beach. If it wasn't for the boardwalk we would be directly on the beach...AWESOME! You are a rock throw from the amusement park...AWESOME. The rooms were very nice and it came with a FULL kitchen...AWESOME. I can't tell you how PLEASED we were with our stay and I plan on going back with my family next time. Don't take my word...go see for yourself and you will have an AWESOME time too.

Thank you Colony Apartments for an AWESOME stay :)

Room Tip: Our room was right above The Wrapper....AWESOME view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The rooms are old and out dated the bathroom is gross needs new everything. the kitchen has crappy dishes and not anything you really need the beds all suck and the airconditioner is only in the back bedroom so the front of the apt where the sofa beds are do not get air they give you a old nasty fan to try and cool you.. the outside of the apt is nasty the mgt is never in the office you have to call them. there is also no internet unless you go outside which they lied about having and no channels on the tv.. the only good thing about this place was the location... thats about it.. will not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hall23060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I can only speak about the apartment that we stayed in not knowing what the others looked like. That being said, I'll start with finally arriving in Ocean City after a long drive. Took us quite awhile to find the building. Called the office only to be told we had to go down a very narrow street that has a sign that says Do Not Enter-Authorized Vehicles Only, although we didn't know it, I guess we were authorized. Once we arrived at the building all we could say was "Oh no we're staying here" as it was a pretty run-down looking building. The narrow street led us to a narrow driveway which led down to a very small narrow parking lot which was to fit six cars of varying sizes into the six spots for the guests in the apartments. Made it very difficult to get in and out of our small car during our stay no matter how you parked the car. My husband had to literally climb over from the driver side to the passenger side to get in out. Not happy but thinking okay this is a minor bump in the road we proceed to look for the front office. The office ended up being a very small, musty smelling area just inside of a rather dank looking entrance. During our stay there was never anyone in the office and the door was always looked. Still thinking okay, well the apartment is supposed to look nice, well the pictures looked nice. After going up the stairs to the second floor we come around the corner only to see that we are on the rooftop where several central air conditioning units for the stores downstairs are. Hope is wearing thin now as we find the door to our unit, the door being heavily chipped along side of a very rusty wall air conditioning unit. We open the door and see the apartment does look like the pictures, but in need of some improvements. While we could live with the rest of the apartment, the bathroom is what was the worst. From the shower curtain to the nasty looking fan to the lights on the sides of the mirror to the ever running toilet (even though we jiggled the handle). We brought a few concerns to the management. After our initial call was made it took them quite awhile to come. When he did he said everything was working fine. In saying that he made my husband feel like he thought we were making things up. Not to sound like a snob because we are far from it, but paying the amount of money that we did, we expected better. The pros to this rental are that it is right on the boardwalk with a balcony where you can people watch; the beach is right across the boardwalk; if you're into amusement park rides, etc., the building is two buildings away from the Jolly Roger Amusement Park. .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allevalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

For a family with three young kids this place couldnt be better! Can't believe there's a Fractured Prune right below us!! We sit and people-watch over the boardwalk, and run right out to the beach whenever we want. It is SO relaxing, and the air conditioner and thick curtains keep it quiet and dark for sleeping in. Luka and other staff are very sweet. We will be back for sure. It is clean, smells good, has real dishes, and being right on the boardwalk in a big roomy apartment can't be beat. Parking is tight but if u back-in it makes it easier. Put it this way, if u are ready to relax and enjoy OC, this is your place. If u want sterile perfection, find some other accomdation up on a high-rise. This is more like grandma n grandpa's cabin on the lake...n we love it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at the colony for senior week 2012. For eight, eighteen year olds it was fairly decent. Pretty expensive, you defiantly pay for being on the boardwalk. Management is very strict and doesn't trust it's visitors. After several attempts to be kind we still felt like we were in Alcatraz especially with the bracelets you get and the cameras throughout complex which are monitored constantly. Visitors not allowed after a certain time. Also, our shower drain was clogged when we arrived, and even after we notified management nothing was done to fix it. Not as nice as website looks. All in all though it wasn't as bad as others we encountered and I would give an "ok" review, ALTHOUGH, we did not receive our security deposit even though we spent hours cleaning up and nothing was broken. So, we will NOT be going back next year and we do NOT suggest it. FYI our security deposit consist of 800 dollars we did not get back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteRose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Apartments

Property: The Colony Apartments
Address: 306 S Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-6660
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Apartments consists of 6 Oceanfront apartments right on the boardwalk. Each apartment has a 360 view of the ocean and the Boardwalk! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing