We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family stayed at this hotel August 2-4, 2013. The beds were stained and one had plastic on it. The sheets were dirty. I had to get clean ones from the office which were stained also. The room was above the restaurant and it was very noisy until to 2AM . The toilet did not flush properly. We could have stay at a five star hotel in Washington, DC for the price we paid for this dump!!! Save your money do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Nasty rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleS304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear concerned guest, the issues in this review have been disputed. We change out the sheets after every reservation, and the maintenance issues would have been a simple fix if a member of our friendly staff were to have been notified. We would have been happy to accommodate you in a different room considering your dissatisfaction. We have worked hard to upgrade all of our rooms, beach house, banquet space, lobby and amenity package. We do offer more amenities than any other hotel in our class. We offer free beach chairs, family photo night, movies on the beach, a swimming pool, camp carousel, discounted dining and much much more. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you give us the opportunity to earn your business back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    52
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
107
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have never written a review about a hotel before but for this hotel I definitely won't miss an opportunity to warn people.
PLEASE SEE MY PHOTOS
1) way over price for despicable room that we had... I paid almost 3 TIMES the amount than I paid in downtown DC for a 4 star (hotwire)
2) the hotel bedroom was old, dated, stained and the drapes were yellowed
3) the carpet was dirty and was wet for some reason
4) the toilet was leaking and ran all night long
5) the shower was stained with black spots on the floor
6) mold was growing around the shower valve and spout
7) the shower valve was falling out of the wall and doesn't shut off fully
8) their was rust inside the fridge
9) our boxspring had a large black and brown stain approx 2 feet x 2 feet
10) carpets were dirty

PROS
1) we checked thoroughly for bedbugs but thankfully we didn't find any
2) close to the beach

PLEASE SEE MY PHOTOS

I want you to know that I stay in 3 star hotels all the time and I wouldn't give this hotel anything more than a 1 star. I was enjoying my 1 year anniversary with my wife and I wasn't expecting this. One thing I've learned... make sure you do your homework.

I will be making a formal complaint to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear concerned guest, we do apologize for your stay. Our prices are extremely competative in Ocean City, especially for the amount of amenities included in your stay. The Carousel Group Vacation Package offers discounted dining, free beach chairs, free family photo night, free nightly ice shows, movies on the beach and much more.

The drapes you had mentioned are a year old, and are in fact yellow. We can understand your concern and would have hoped to move you to a different unit to address these issues.

These issues are currently under review by our management team and will be dealt with in accordance to our policy adherence and quality code.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had checked into another hotel down the road and promptly left after an issue with the rooms. We were stuck in OCMD with no place to stay. After hours of looking for an open room we found Coastal Palms and the young woman behind the counter was very kind and understanding trying to find us a room in our budget. After having a horrible experience at the SUN TAN motel we had asked if we could see the room prior to purchase. WIthout batting an eyelid the young lady said "sure thing" and asked for an ID to hold. The room was VERY clean and at a great price. The elevators are a little on the dirty side and you do have to get ice from the front desk (to keep people from filling coolers and leaving no ice for anyone else), If you can look past those few things you'll enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: 5th floor will give the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123ALEXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! OCMD is a great place to get "stuck" in, and we're so happy you had the opportunity to stay with us in beautiful uptown Ocean City. We have worked hard to make sure your vacation is a memorable one, and we can't tell you how much we love the positive feedback. We hope you find your way back to get "stuck" in OCMD again in the near future! Thanks again for being our guest, and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

we had to stay for 5 nights, couldnt checkout early. didnt like that had to pay in full when booking. balconies all connect so no privacy at all. a little lattice or something else would have been nice. had to ask for ice daily at front desk since no ice machines. pool so very very small. room could have been cleaned better. didnt feel like vacuum was ran during my stay. bathroom floor was constantly gritty. couch was flithy dirty and smelled. staff was super nice and made all feel welcome. good location although the ocean view not the best. plenty of parking. would not stay there again as it needs some major updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for your stay and thank you for your review. We do state in the initial process of booking your reservation that we have a no early check out policy. Any changes must be made 72 hours prior to your arrival, we apologize for any mis communication. We do admit, our pool is on the smaller side, but it is a great added feature to any hotel and the size of our pool is proportionate to the amount of guests we accommodate.
The Carousel Group took over management of the Coastal Palms in 2011 and has continued to renovate and expand on our amenities and appearance. Each room has been individually renovated, along with the Beach House, Lobby and conference rooms. We have recently added the Carousel Group Amenity package to the stay, which includes free beach chairs, free family photo night, movies on the beach, discounted dining and more! Thanks again for being our guest, we hope to have you again during your next beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Family stayed in ocean view room at the Coastal Palms 07/19/2013 to 07/23/2013. Was in town for a 10U baseball tournament. Room was very clean and staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Room had 2 queen beds which were quite comfortable. The A/C was plenty cool and the shower never lacked hot water. The pool, although on the smaller side, was a big hit with the kids. Beach access is only 1 block away with a view of the ocean from your balcony. The price was by far among the best of all the hotel chains in the area, especially for the middle of the summer in the heart of tourist season. Location was great and within walking distance to many great restaurants. Otherwise, the local public transporation (bus) is only $1.00 to ride. Also, just a short ride to the boardwalk. Overall, our stay was fantastic. Highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable beach get-away.

Room Tip: Request to stay on one of the higher floors for the best view of the ocean. Also request to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear valued customer, thanks for staying with us at The Coastal Palms Oceanblock Hotel on 120th st! We work hard to accommodate our valued groups such as your baseball tournament. We are glad you found our great staff to be hospitable and our accommodations comfortable. Thank you once more for your valued business, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumpton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Overall our stay at the Coastal Palms was satisfactory. The staff was top notch in all areas and went out of their way to insure a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean as was the outside areas of the hotel. The location was within walking distance of any establishment you desired to visit. The only drawback to this particular hotel was that the sofa bed I had to sleep on was very uncomfortable. Luckily, as I like to BE PREPARED, I had an air mattress in my vehicle and I was able to pump it up using a portable wet/dry vacuum. I still give the hotel at least 3 stars as the gentleman that I spoke with to book the hotel saved me about a 100 dollars over a 2 night period just by calling him directly and not using an online service. ENJOY

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for choosing the Coastal Palms as your vacation accommodations. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, we work hard to hire the best workers for our great hotels. We do offer cots in case a particular party needs additional sleeping accommodations. We have an amazing location close to Northside Park, The Carousel, and just one block to the beach. Within walking distance one can find great dining, local attractions and enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation package has to offer. The amenities in the Vacation Package include Free Family Photo Night voucher, Movies on the Beach, Theme Nights, discounted dining, live entertainment, discounted ice skating, Camp Carousel, live ice shows, game room, access to our dining and lounge, tropical lawn, and complimentary beach chairs. Thanks so much for being our guest, we cannot wait to have you once more in beautiful Ocean City!

You can always save more by booking directly through our hotel, and not on the website. Enjoy! We cannot wait to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed four nights at this hotel. My only complaint is the plumbing is a bit lacking, but other than that we enjoyed our stay very much. We needed a cot after the first night without delay the staff brought one right away at no extra charge. The rooms were clean and although a partial ocean view it was a pretty one. They are pet friendly, have designated smoking areas (which makes everyone happy). Pool was clean adn convenient and friendly and courteous staff. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review and for your business. We are thankful to have you as our guest and happy we could accommodate you on your family vacation! All of the Carousel Group hotels are non smoking with the exception of outdoor designated smoking areas. We work hard to accommodate all of our guests, even those who have pets! We hope you had an opportunity to enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer. The amenities in the Vacation Package include Free Family Photo Night voucher, Movies on the Beach, Theme Nights, discounted dining, live entertainment, discounted ice skating, Camp Carousel, live ice shows, game room, access to our dining and lounge, tropical lawn, and complimentary beach chairs. Thanks so much for being our guest, we cannot wait to have you once more in beautiful Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.7 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#25 of 103 in Ocean City
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Palms Inn & Suites

Property: Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Address: 12004 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coastal Palms Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Palms is a family friendly hotel situated in peaceful North Ocean City. Located near many local attractions, you won't have trouble finding entertainment for the whole family. At Coastal Palms you will experience quality, comfort, a personable staff, moderate room rates, and an overall friendly experience. Just steps from the beach, you can relax and unwind with the vacation you and your family deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastal Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing