We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Desert Qualms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Ranked #72 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 28 May 2014

120th street is a little bit of a hike to the main attractions (boardwalk, restaurants, bars, etc.). Paid extra for an "ocean view room." Unfortunately this hotel is not on the ocean and our view consisted of a sliver of ocean visible between two other hotels. The room was disgustingly dirty. Our couch was full of stains and rips, burn holes in our curtains, one bed was broken, and even our blankets had stains. I noticed the hotel PR comments on some other negative reviews claiming to have fixed some of these things...well I stayed here a week ago and have the pictures to prove there have been no upgrades or deep cleanings in years! The picture of the pool on the website is ridiculously deceiving as well. It is a teenie tiny pool right on the boulevard! Not even behind the hotel toward the beach. The woman working in the office is complete misery to deal with as well. All in all just do yourself a favor and at least go further towards all the fun if you're going to slum it. Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NursesNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear NursesNotes,

I want to start off by thanking you for choosing the Coastal Palms Hotel in beautiful Ocean City Maryland. We are located on the North part of Ocean City where you can ride bikes at North side park, dine at some of the best restaurants in town, and enjoy a relaxing day at the beach with the FREE beach chair rentals we offer. We are on the ocean block side of coastal highway so you do not have to cross a busy highway to enjoy the beach. As far as our rooms go, we took over the building in 2011 and have done many upgrades to the rooms. Just this year, we have upgraded the mattresses for the beds. I am going to bring this review up during my weekly meeting with my staff and identify what/how we can provide a better product for our guest. We hope you have a fun and safe summer.

Ross F. Whitman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed this past weekend at the Coastal Palms for 1 night. It was a spur of the moment stay, and the hotel staff was able to accommodate our group of 6 well. The woman who worked the front desk was very helpful.

I typically do not stay in hotels, we usually go to resorts, but as noted in the last paragraph this was spur of the moment. I was uneasy about possibly sleeping in a dirty "hotel." The outside of the hotel does not do it justice. When I walked into the hotel room, I was very pleased with its cleanliness and the UTD features.

Negative, the pool is small and not very inviting.

However, what we needed was a place to crash on Memorial Day weekend that was clean and Coastal Palms did it! I would most definitely stay here again for a weekend getaway at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Christa L,

Thank you for your review and your business. I am glad to hear that our front desk was able to accommodate you with everything you needed. At the Coastal Palms we pride ourselves on customer service and offering our guest the most value for their buck. Though the Coastal Palms is not a resort, you would be able to take advantage of what the Carousel Group has to offer. During the summer months we offer FREE live ice shows, FREE family photo night, FREE movies on the beach, and a 10% discount at the Seasons Restaurant just for staying at one of the 5 Carousel Group properties. At the Coastal Palms you receive the amenities of a resort without the costs associated with it. We hope to see you again this summer!

Ross F. Whitman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are looking for leaking faucets, poor noise insulation, wet carpets, moldy/musty smell, and no maid service, then this is the place for you! Not to mention that when you let the front desk know of all the issues you simply get "sorry". Although they did explain the maid service...187 rooms with 2 maids means some rooms just won't get cleaned. Spend the $20 more per night and stay at a reputable place, you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Try a Holiday Inn or other brand name where they at least care if you have a complaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valued guest, we apologize for your less then excellent stay. These comments are out of line with the usual positive feedback we receive for an excellent value hotel. There should have been no excuse for the wet carpet and for that we do apologize. We would have been happy to move your room to a suite which may have been more comfortable. The Coastal Palms only has 94 rooms, not 187, you may have mistaken our hotel for another local hotel. We would have never told you that your room would not get cleaned considering the low occupancy during this time of year. We strive to make sure all of our Fall vacationers are well accommodated for. Please consider us for your next Ocean City accommodations and we pledge an exceptional stay for you and your friends/family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Front desk was nice, but wet carpet, mustysmelly, dirty, leaky faucet no stopper, remote control missing, did not clean room. Pretty good space and view from the balcony.
I do not recommend this if you want a clean, quiet comfortable room

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valued guest, we thank you for your business and your review. These comments are egregious and we will take action immediately to correct these issues. All of our rooms have been remodeled with new beds, bed spreads, sofa's, carpet, drapes, LCD TV's granite and more as of the Summer of 2012, so it seems out of order with the bulk of our reviews we have gotten in the past 2 years. We do offer daily maid service which should have been provided each day of your stay. The Coastal Palms is not a luxury hotel but we do pride ourselves on quality assurance, a superior product and excellent customer service. We are deep cleaning and improving our hotel for the next season and ask that you offer us another chance to EARN your business back once again for your next beach vacation. Thanks again for being our guest we certainly hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent one night passing through Ocean City and found this hotel through Tripadvisor. It was well located and very reasonable -- of course, in mid-September, prices are down.

It was very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were above average. We got a 5th floor room with a nice view of the ocean from our balcony. It was a very short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for giving us the opportunity to be your host during your September beach vacation! For many, this is the best time of year to travel considering the crowds have thinned out and the hotel rates have dropped. With all the stores and attractions still open, it's no wonder why so many people choose to take advantage of a late Summer vacation. At The Coastal Palms we work hard to give you a superior customer experience at a great value. As you mentioned, our rooms have above average pillows and beds. The 5th floor does offer a nice view of the Ocean, and we are located just a few steps from the beach. Thanks again for the great review, we look forward to having you again in the future.

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is an older property that has been recently taken over by an established name: Carasoul Group. They put some new signs up and thats about it. The staff at check in was very friendly. They accidently didnt return my drivers license at check in and never bothered to call the room and tell me they had it. After searching for hours I gave up. When I checked out I asked if anyone found it and I was informed they had it the entire time.

The rooms are old school and bathrooms really, really old school. Slow draining sinks, shower and toilets that just barley made the flush. The property is crowded and in need of updating. I stayed her in mid September 2013 and for $60.00 a night, you can still go wrong. Spend an extra 20 and move on to another property.

If they spent as much effort on updating the property as they did marketing it......well then maybe.

Room Tip: Do not get street sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for the review. The Carousel Group has taken this hotel over as of 2011 and has made many improvements including all new exterior, completely new lobby, refurnished rooms with new paint, carpet, beds, bed spreads, drapes, HD LCD TV's and case goods. This hotel has been given a generous face lift and we plan on working hard to keep making improvements. We do hope you give us another opportunity to earn your business in 2014 and give you a superior customer experience.

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

They only plus about this hotel is the staff. They were all very nice. The exterior walls were paper thin, the sliding door didn't close properly and it had no lock! Not as clean as it should be. Fridge had some kind of splatter all over the front, could tell where the maid failed to vacuum, and spit balls behind the bathroom door! Couldn't wait to get my small kids home! Being part of the Carousel Group I thought this place would be much cleaner than it was. Not at all what we expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1CrazyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear valued guest, we apologize for your complaints and ask you offer us another opportunity to earn your business back. We work hard to upgrade and expand upon the hotel, our rooms, our staff and our amenity package. If you would have mentioned these issues to a member of our friendly staff then we would have been more than happy to accommodate you with a different room. The issues described in your review are not that of our quality standards. Thanks again for your business, we hope to provide you and your family a superior guest experience in the future.

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
3.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 104 in Ocean City
967 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#49 of 104 in Ocean City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Palms Inn & Suites

Address: 12004 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: £67 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coastal Palms Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Palms is a family friendly hotel situated in peaceful North Ocean City. Located near many local attractions, you won't have trouble finding entertainment for the whole family. At Coastal Palms you will experience quality, comfort, a personable staff, moderate room rates, and an overall friendly experience. Just steps from the beach, you can relax and unwind with the vacation you and your family deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Coastal Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing