We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty disgusting dump”
Review of Alamo Motel

Alamo Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Motel
Ranked #100 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Turbotville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dirty disgusting dump”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was by far the worst motel Ihave ever stayed in. The room smelled terrible and the bathroom got worst. Don't think it was ever cleaned. It smelled like someone had urinated all over in there. There was only about 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper and no soap. We had to drive to Walmart at 10:30 at night to buy soap and also get some air freshner to spray around. Also there was no garbage can in the room or the bathroom. No toilet paper holder on the wall & no towel racks. Only a couple hooks on the door of the bathroom. One lamp in the room, better so you don't see how nasty it really was. We were stuck with this place because we decided at the last minute to go to the beach and there were no vacancies anywhere but here, and I could see why they had vacancies.... We paid almost $400 for 2 nights... I would have rather stayed on Aseteque Island in a tent than to ever stay there again... and the advertisements are all false. The restaurant is closed and so is the bar... I could not wait to check out of that place.. If you are ever going to Ocean City and this is the only place to get a room, don't do it. You will regret it. If you are a reasonably clean person this is not for you. The only way someone would say this is a nice place has to live like a hog at home, and then it would compare to their home life. I am a clean person and could not wait to get home to a nice smelling clean home.... I would sleep under the boardwalk before I would sleep here.. This place is giving Ocean City a bad name. I hope we don't get bed bugs... I cannot beleive the health department has not shut them down. I told my husband that is probably why the restaurant was closed, probably by the health department.... do not stay here... bad, bad, bad place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    5
    5
    50
See reviews for
15
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very dirty rooms we found bugs in the beds!! Holes in the wall!! There is a reason you can't get refunds I don't understand how the place is still in business you can't even sit outside your room without the owner acting like a (man's part) stay in your car it's cleaner an safer the windows you could take out from the outside so if someone would want to come in your room all they would have to do is slid out the window pans

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FLYERS824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We saw the room. It may be a good sleep here but don't expect anything newish as the furnishings are seemingly worn with age. There is no ice machine for your drink nor do they have any ice freely proffered at the office. The best features of this place is all the staff is especially nice, warm and friendly so that must count for a lot but not if you are expecting what you'd normally get as a fresh newer feeling motel room. For $40. more you can fix it by staying elsewhere otherwise save a bunch and this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Could take place in a Tarentino movie. All comments you read are exact and accurate. I paid in advance and finaly dis not stay. Too dirty and felt unsafe. But somehow i am happy to have been there. It makes a good story to tell for my wife and I

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DioViSalviRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Dirty, the room was so smoky you could hit the curtains and smoke seeped out! Dirty, holes in the mattress, black mold on wall, broken tv. When the electric went out we left - we felt it was a dangerous place to be especially with no lights. I we had looked at the room before we rented we never would have stayed, no surprise, no refunds. why this place is still in business is beyond me, which is a shame, looks like it was a cute place at one time, maybe 50 years ago.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms. stay in your car it's safer and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family went to the beach for the weekend and only stayed because it was the only one left vacant. As soon as you entered the room smelt rank of mold and was horrible! there was a bunk bed in my room and it was so shaky i was forced to sleep on the floor as i thought i was going to fall off. everything in the room was connected to a single extension chord and there were no outlets. lit by a single lamp the room was dark smelled and looked dirty. the mattresses were eaten up by mice and one of the sheets was stiff and looked like someone had previously wet the bed.
There was a t/v but it didn't work and was ancient. The bathroom was disgusting and for some reason all the towels and even the toilet paper was wet. The shower was either too hot or too cold and i could not sleep because of the extremely loud air conditioner and squeaky beds.
I would NEVER stay in this motel again as sleeping in the car would in my opinion be cleaner and safer

Room Tip: Find someplace else or sleep in the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pedro Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here because we were stuck. Room smelled strongly of smoke and mildew. We asked the manager about the mild in the shower and he said it was hard to get rid of. Dirty. Old junk furniture everywhere. Horrible. Just horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bedtime Inn
Bedtime Inn
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#46 of 103 in Ocean City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
1.4 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#65 of 103 in Ocean City
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel

Property: Alamo Motel
Address: 12614 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9540
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo Motel was the first motel built in Worcester County. Built in 1946, many people have made this their resting place for daily, weekly and weekend vacations. We are located in West Ocean City MD, less than 2 miles to the Ocean City beach and 2.3 miles to the Ocean City Inlet and Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Ocean City
Alamo Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing