We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot rod weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oceanic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanic Motel
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
gambrills
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hot rod weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We still had a great time/with all the rain!!!Boo. This time we all stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage. I must say it was like a house.Great with full kitchen was a plus.T.V in all bedrooms and nice living room. The best part was large front porch. Parking at the rear by kitchen was good for carring every thing in.Nice bath and also a 1/2 bath. It is a little old but has that charm of back in the day of great O.C Everything is in walking distance and beautiful views. Must add the staff is great. We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blewis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    86
    44
    19
    51
See reviews for
103
99
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We vacation at the Oceanic every year.. The location, staff and prices are amazing.. You're pretty much in your own little haven on the Inlet and yet just a walk across the street from the beautiful boardwalk. Views are breath taking from pretty much anywhere you look. The staff are always there with a smile on their faces and eager to help when needed.

Room Tip: We prefer the bay/inlet side the views are just beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have always wanted to stay here but it was always full. I finally got to stay here on the weekend of October 4,5,6, 2013 and was very pleased with everything from the service received in the office to the cleaning of the room. I was very pleased with the cleaned rooms and the location every thing was just wonderful when I left I told the lady in the office I will stay no where else when I come to Ocean City. I love the view and the short walk to the boardwalk and all. I will be back in July 2014. See you then and thanks for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseSantos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulipg17
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I've stayed at the Oceanic before and I would stay again if the price was right for my needs. I have found them to be consistent in their quality and a good choice for a comfortable (but not luxurious) OC stay.
In this instance I came for 3 nights during Bike Weekend in Sept and stayed in the West Apartment with 3 other adults. The apartment was clean and stocked with the necessities. I enjoy this motel and want them to succeed so my suggestions are in the spirit of constructive criticism in hopes that the motel will use them to improve.
1) The fold out couch bed was reasonably comfortable and the bedding was clean, but the blanket has a noticeable stain and ought to be replaced. I would also suggest a fitted sheet that fits a bit better, since this one easily comes off because it's too large.
2) The kitchen was well stocked with the basic cooking utensils and the only thing we noticed that we did not have were napkins. Please include some napkins. We noticed the appearance of ants around the kitchen after a few days but this was due to us leaving out food in unsecure containers and not the fault of the hotel. Just be aware of this.
3) The room was clean but very much in need of updating (worn out carpeting, some wall scratches and trimmings). This may give the appearance that the room isn't so clean, so some updating will go a long way to a neater look.
4) The bathroom could really use some more shelving space and hooks to hang up towels.
5) The stairs leading to the upper level could be more clearly marked (it's a little confusing with the door to the stairs closed) and often the stairway smelled a bit smoke filled due to smokers on the lower level outside. I'm sure some fresh carpet and air freshening in the stairway would help quite a bit.
6) Consider offering some pet friendly rooms. I would come here much more often if I could bring my (quiet and well mannered) dog.
Overall, I like this motel and it has a lot of that ocean city motel charm. The location is one of my favorite in Ocean City and the prices are reasonable. I enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have the best location I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulipg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Sunfest 2013 is when we stayed at the Oceanic Motel. We chose it because of its perfect location at the Inlet. Upon arrival I immediately inspected the beds to rule out bedbugs. The beds passed inspection for that. I was pleased to see the mattresses were encased with a decent protector. The bedding however, was old and stained. One bed had a fitted sheet and bedspread only, no blanket. The other bed had a cover sheet and bedspread, still no blanket.

We had an Inlet Suite, a three-night stay was $643. Cheaper than an oceanfront chain but hardly worth the money. Upon arrival the room smelled very nice, although after a few minutes the strength of the aroma choked me. The living area was an ok size but you couldn't really sit at the table because one chair would put you in front of the door and the other was tucked in between the table and a side table to the sofa.

The bedroom area had to full-size beds. The room is too small for two beds. One bed was against the interior wall and the other bed was against the wall of windows. No curtains, just cheap thin 1 inch plastic white mini-blinds. Cars were parked within inches of the windows. At night the headlights beamed in through the windows. The window AC unit was actually resting on the foot-end of the bed. Each time the compressor turned on it buzzed with vibration which also vibrated the old window panes and the bed. There was a broken-down dresser and two chairs squeezed into the room too. The furniture took up so much room that there was only about 14 inches between the two beds. At the foot end there was about the same space between the beds and the dresser. The drawers were dirty so we lived out of our suitcases which left hardly any room for walking.

The motel claims to allow only one parking space per room but they will issue as many parking permits as you need. Several rooms near us had 2 or 3 cars for the 6 person room capacity.

We arrived on a Thursday and chose to keep our do not disturb sign on the door because we don't need daily maid service for only three of us. By Saturday I figured out why they use the overload of air-freshener when preparing a room for arrival. The room stank of urine.

We were in a first floor room and spent much of our time outside. I found the room to be disgusting. Each room has two rocking chairs in front of it and because there were no individual porches there was a large group from upstairs who used the area as a communal area.

The wifi was practically non-existent. Our phones couldn't hook up to it because each time you attempt to use the wifi it takes you to their website to agree to the terms and then to another page with motel info.

Electrical outlets were limited, old and not convenient for charging phones. I found an available outlet behind our nightstand between the headends of the two beds. I pulled the nightstand away from the wall to reach the outlet and I was shocked at the filth I had found. I don't think they can even fit a vacuum cleaner in much of the bedroom. There was dirt, dust, hair, paint chips, change and a blister pack from medication behind the beds. I left the furniture pulled out hoping they would see it and clean it before the next guest arrived.

This place had to have been flooded during hurricane Sandy and nothing has been replaced. Floors, walls and paint are all peeling and curling up. Someone needs to inspect that place for health violations.

It's a shame to have such a prime location go to waste on these owners. It wasn't nearly as cheap as it should have been considering the condition. I've stayed at places half the price that were better maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lmartin1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

i come to ocmd twice a yr and always stay at the oceanic motel. it is a great location for me, will be back next yr ,if i can i will be there in a week or so ,if i can not make it then i will be back next year i frelly like the place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfanatic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I spent a week here with my family: 4 adults and three children ages 3-8. We stayed in two rooms. A family room (2 double beds) and a communicating room. The communicating room was useful because it gave us more space to store our stuff. We could also shut the door between the living room and bedroom so the children or adults depending on who woke up first, could sleep without being disturbed. We had a great stay. The rooms are small, clean, and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choledc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#66 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#47 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Motel

Property: Oceanic Motel
Address: 710 S Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many a fish story has begun at the Oceanic Motel. Located at the southernmost end of Ocean City, we overlook the Inlet and Assateague Island with their famous ponies. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with refrigerators. Guests are welcome to take a dip in our outdoor pool, fish off of our pier or relax on our private bayside beach. If the ocean is what you crave, the beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Oceanic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Motel Ocean City
Oceanic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing