We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE FLIES AND GROSS”
Review of Oceanic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanic Motel
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
mcdaniel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE FLIES AND GROSS”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent Thursday JUNE 19 Room 26The Room is Filthy Nasty And Thrir Where Literally Dozens of Flies.......The Best Part Is When We Checked out We Left A Bag By Mistake And my Kindle was in it and when I WENT BACK to get it The Flies HAD Carried Away My Kindle Cause Its Gone......Never WiiL I Stay in This Bed Bug Infested Pig Sty!!!.

Room Tip: stay away as far as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waterman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    88
    45
    21
    52
See reviews for
106
103
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Earleville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here Memorial day weekend 2014. First the location is perfect, literally they are at the tip of the boardwalk and after I parked the car I did not need it again until the day that I left. They have deals with a couple places to save you some money, there are picnic tables and hammocks out back so you can sit down to watch the water (great view) and relax. The front desk and cleaning people were friendly and very helpful plus they must have had every coupon book they made for you to take. The building is older but that is not a bad thing, I liked having an actual key for my room. The only problem I had was that the bathroom was very small in my room but it had all I needed so no worrys on my end. I will be staying here again, this was a great trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you lock your door by hand each time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

the views are great! Near the bay, ocean, and boardwalk, what more could you ask for. this place is definitely worth it great price, great service, great views! This place also includes free fishing off the fishing pier.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodgers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The most fantastic views and experiences in all of ocean city. This place is a treasure. Nothing like it anywhere. Not fancy. CLEAN. Friendly. Comfortable. Bring your binoculars. You will always see something new.

Room Tip: They all have their special attraction. Bayyside for sunset. Patio for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We USED to love staying here until they ripped me off $100 on my credit card. So beware if u want to stay in a hotel of thieves. Its not worth it. My uncle had died and I was told I would lose the deposit which OK I get it or we could just rescheduled for another time and my deposit would go to that. So that's what we did. But after our stay they added on a hundred dollars when I confronted them about it they said nothing could be done. Rip offs!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Dover, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Every year we try to make it to the beach twice. We always stay at the Oceanic because it is so convenient to everything! Yes, the rooms are dated but what really counts is that our rooms are always clean and the customer service is top notch!. From the ladies in the office keeping my brother and friend in continuous fresh hot coffee, helping with directions and to the maintenance crew for their prompt service you can't find none better! They are real gems!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I booked two nights at the Oceanic Motel and was very happy with what I saw online and the low price, but upon arrival I found employees who were aggressive and rude, rooms that were dirty and small, and a motel that is run down. The location is nice - too bad they don't just tear down the Oceanic and put a place people might actually enjoy there. I checked in, went to my room, realized how gross it was, and went back to say I had changed my mind and was informed that there is a no refund policy. That must be because they have so many people who want a refund after being disappointed. DO NOT GO!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank scobb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#66 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#46 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Motel

Property: Oceanic Motel
Address: 710 S Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many a fish story has begun at the Oceanic Motel. Located at the southernmost end of Ocean City, we overlook the Inlet and Assateague Island with their famous ponies. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with refrigerators. Guests are welcome to take a dip in our outdoor pool, fish off of our pier or relax on our private bayside beach. If the ocean is what you crave, the beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Oceanic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Motel Ocean City
Oceanic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing