We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
17
Reviewed 3 April 2005

On a whim, my family decided to do a day trip to OC. It had been a very long time since my wife and I had been to OC and never had my children traveled there. I did an internet search and booked the Americana for two nights since the off season rate seemed reasonable, location (oceanfront-10th street and boardwalk) was close to the action etc..

The day after I booked the Americana, this TripAdvisor hit me with some pretty bad reviews. Images of the aftermath of spring break teens, smoked filled rooms and all gave some concern. Actually, if you read some of the other reviews you'd think the health department...well, let me clear things up for you.

The people at the front desk are very friendly. The lobby, pool room, hallways were not smoked filled. I would recommend a makeover in terms of paint/wallpaper, but all in all our first impression was good.

Our room was on the Penthouse level which included a 2 1/2 person jacuzzi tub. Everything was operational and the room included a kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave that were invaluable for heating up leftovers etc.

Not the Taj Mahal, but well run and clean.

The best thing about the Americana is the location, close to some good restaurants/shops and the pier.

My family had a nice stay at The Americana. If you are on a budget and location is important to you, I would stay at The Americana.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Our management is proud we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 180 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
210
Reviewed 21 February 2005

AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
My boyfriend and I read the bad reviews before we stayed in the Americana hotel, but we thought we would give it a try anyway since the price was right and we had already made reservations (by the way you have to cancel 10 DAYS IN ADVANCE)!!! We stayed there the 18th and 19th of February, and we would not stay there again. No matter where you went in the hotel there was a HORRIBLE smoke smell. We asked for a non-smoking room, but there were 2 ashtrays in the room. Both nights, the receptionist as well as other guests were smoking throughout the lobby. My boyfriend had to go to the bathroom when we got there, but we ended up having to clean the bathroom first. There were NASTY urine stains ALL OVER the toilet and all over the toilet seat, and the whole bathroom was very gross....it didn't look like it had been cleaned properly in quite a while. We ended up having to buy sanitizing wipes so that we could disinfect the entire room before we were able to use it. The floors had not been vacuumed, and they were not cleaned the second day either...so we felt the need to wear our shoes and socks the whole time. There were stains throughout the room...even the ceiling.

The room did not have an alarm clock (which I have NEVER experienced before), so we never knew what time it was. There was a coffee maker, but there was no coffee or filters....what good is that??? There were two of us staying in the room, and we only received one washcloth and one towel.....NO BATH MAT!!!!!!! As mentioned in other reviews, the sliding glass door was very difficult to open and close, and we could hear the other guests opening and slamming theirs as well. We didn't even attempt to use the pool...we were tooooooo afraid. As we rode the EXTREMELY slow elevator down on check-out morning with two other couples, the mood was anything but happy and friendly. These two couples seemed as annoyed and disappointed as we were. The only good thing about the hotel was the view outside and the location. My family, as well as my boyfriend’s family, has been staying in Ocean City for over 30 years. Rumor in ocean city is that the hotels along the boardwalk are inadequate because of the high school and college kids who come and stay in cheap places to get drunk. This is the main reason why we have avoided staying in no name hotels and motels. The Americana Hotel is a prime example of the unacceptable conditions that plague hotels along the boardwalk.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

I have discussed your issues with the our management team to make sure this doesn't happen in the future. We apologize for the experience you had with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
wappingers falls, new york
19
Reviewed 31 December 2004

we have stayed at this hotel many times and while it it not the best it was always adequate until my last trip on oct. 27th 2004. we had a smoke free room but when we entered the smell of smoke was terrible. the balcony was filthy and there was a plastic cup will with wet cigerette butts. half the lights did not work and the room was quite dirty. when we complained, we were shown another room. this one was worse than ours. all in all we looked at 7 rooms. one had mold two feet high on the bathroom wall. in another room when my wife turned on the light the bulb exploded and we had to bring her to the emergency room. when we got back at 1;30 in the morning we demanded out money back (they did give us the money) and we went next door to the paridise hotel which was beautiful.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

We are very soory your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrisburg, PA
17
Reviewed 29 July 2004

I was surprised to read some of the negative reviews of the Americana. I'll grant you that the hotel is not the Taj Mahal, but it was a pretty good place for the in season side view room we had on the sixth floor.

The room we stayed in was clean, and the maids were very friendly and kept things in order while we wree there. The bathrooms were not spotless, but I've seen worse in places where I had paid more. The indoor pool is small, but it served our children well during one rainy day we had.

The place was very quiet. We never heard noise from other guests, and being on the sixth floor, we heard no street noise. The balcony will seat about four adults. The chairs were not very clean on the balcony, and on the sixth floor, the balconies were not covered.

The elevators were slow, and the hotel offers no assistance in transporting luggage from the lobby to your room. There are carts available to take it up, and there appeared to be plenty of parking for guests. We got a spot very close to the door and had a spot during our entire stay.

The staff was mostly foreign, but you come to expect this in Ocean City, Md. Nearly every store or restaurant is either managed by foreign residents or has foreign people working there.

I have absolutely no problem with this. The workers were very friendly at all times and were quite helpful whenever we had a question or need.

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Ocean City in a good central boardwalk location with very nice ocean views, then consider the Americana. It's not the vacation hotel of your dreams, but if you want a good low budget option, I'd say go for it.

We're planning to go to Ocean City, MD, again next year, and will consider the Americana again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and we hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Silver Spring, MD
324
Reviewed 24 July 2004

Besides the location, this hotel was an absolute disaster. Upon move in, the phone was not working: it was never fixed. The furniture in the room was in disrepair, with knobs missing from drawers, light fixtures with no light coming out, light fixtures with broken shades, and an air-conditioning unit without a face. The bed had no mattress cover--they did provide sheets, how thoughtful--and was many times stained and in a couple places sticky, eww! The water was offine for a few hours one night (yes you read it correctly, no running water), and the two elevators--in a six story building--were broken for our last two days.

There was no patio funiture on our balcony, and the alleyway between this hotel and the next was filled with bits of trash left by people hanging off their balconies. Apparently, there had been no recent attempt to clean this alleyway.

Oh, and the overflow parking for this hotel is two blocks from the hotel. You can pretty much count on having to use that lot in the summer unless you arrive on Tuesday evening and never move your car.

All in all, for $125/night for a non-ocean room in a large hotel, there should have been some higher standards. Do NOT stay here. Try the Comfort Inn a few blocks down.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so we can take appropriate steps to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
17
Reviewed 23 July 2004

This hotel is owned/operated by foriegners who speak broken english (their english gets worse when there is a problem). Our hot water was out at different times three of our four days there (try waiting hours to get ready for dinner). One day we had no water at all! The elevator broke and stayed that way for at least two days (when we checked out it was still broke). We carrried all of our luggage (and 17 month old) six floors up and down. The patio furniture was covered in a thick layer of dirt and was unuseable. The microwave was broke and the buttons on the old phone stuck. They advertise cribs as being available. When we requested one, they tried to tell us there were none. After complaining, it took several hours to assemble one from storage. Then they attempted to charge us $10 a day rent for it! The management makes no apologies and certainly does not give refunds or try to make things right. If this all sounds good to you then risk your vacation on this dirty hotel.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

It is very disappointing to learn about the incident that took place during your stay with us. Rest assured that additional training and coaching has been done in order to avoid any re-occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
State College, Pa
12
Reviewed 17 February 2004

We stayed at the americana at a time when they were offering a special promotion. We found them friendly well cleaned a good deal for the money.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
6.1 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#73 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#39 of 104 in Ocean City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 104 in Ocean City
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 913 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-6689
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £52 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Ocean City
Americana Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing