We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Bayside Ocean City MD in the winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn Bayside Ocean City MD in the winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

As previously mentioned, we like the romantic get-away every 3 months or so and love Hampton Inn. In the winter months I book hotels with a hottub and was advised that there was one here so jumped on it as we love the DE/ MD area. The hottub was not in fact that, it was cold. We were given a million excuses and everyone called it something different to justify the cold temp. Jacuzzi/ Spa/ whirlpool/ conversation pool, and in teh welcome book in the room, it was refered to as a hottub. Pool towels are not large enough to dry your hair. after freezing for as long as we could, we returned to the room, where my husband turned up the heat before we left but the room was still cold. I argued w/ he front desk boy for 10 mins to get the lock off my control and all he would do is tell me about their new "dial up system" but still no heat. The maintenance man had to reset it, and appologised for now making it a longer wait still as he couldn't do anything else. We had an extra blanket in the closet and slept w/ our clothes on. The heat was finally btter in the morning but it never got too hot, as you think it would have for how high we had it. Another couple complained of the same issue. There were kids in the hotel for some kind of confrence and they thought it funny to knock on all the doors from 6am on... In the elevator they pushed ALL of the buttons, even when an adult male was present with them. (I know thats not the hotels fault - but they are oblivious as to whats going on in the hotel). The wifi went out and I missed my daughters check in and then failed to call her to wake her up for work when she asked me too the night before. But on the positive side the bed and the pillows are the most comfortable I have come accross!! And the manager there is vry nice as well. Why she can't understand why the staff faught with me rather than just accomodate us, and she tried to make it up to us.... So we'll be back... in the Summer!

Room Tip: In winter months, Bayside and end rooms may be cold they tell me... we froze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaRiBBeAnSOuLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you Ms. Price....I know we already spoke about your issues and hopefully our hot tub will be changed over the next time you wish to come. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    232
    71
    25
    22
See reviews for
393
273
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very nice hotel: room nicely appointed: separate living area from bedroom area. King bed very comfortable: get pillows. Refrig and microwave in the room. Hugh breakfast. Indoor and outdoor pools. Very reasonably priced. View was direct bayfront and room had balcony. Room was very clean and nicely furnished. Very nice hotel and plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you!! We look forward to having you with us again the next time you're visiting Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I chose this particular Hilton hotel for a few reasons. I have been a Hilton Honors member for one year. I chose this program over many others because I have always had good experiences. I also plan on staying at other Hilton brands alot more over the next few years as a government contractor working for the military I was hoping to have this brand as my home away from home. As usual the hotel was very clean, nice staff, and breakfast. This however was a special birthday weekend and I chose to stay here because it had such a nice indoor/whirlpool area. We were so disappointed to learn the indoor pool was FREEZING and so was the whirlpool. We were told by staff that it was to keep from harming children and that it was a recipricating pool not a hot tub/whirlpool. Though it does not state that on the website. I defintely would have chosen to stay somewhere else had I known ahead of time. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Bayfront, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Hi Joanne, Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write about your recent stay....we are sorry you didn't enjoy our indoor pool. It is not a hot tub. It is a "conversation area"...however it does seem to be an issue. We will be changing it over to a hot tub in the near future. We're happy to hear the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope you'll come back again in the future to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed there on Saturday 1/19 and had a king suite in the corner, the room was great but the bed was rock hard and like sleeping on the floor, my wife had to sleep on the sofa the entire night.

the breakfest was ok for the hotel and selfserve and the hotel is located on bayside ocean city

Room Tip: stayed there 3 times so far and a queen reg roon has the most soft beds The indoor pool is small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Mr. D....
Thank you again, for taking time to write about your stay with us. I know we already spoke and you know that all our mattresses are new and what Hampton requires us to have. They are all Serta's---at every Hampton. I'm very sorry your wife didn't like the mattresses....We're happy that everything else about your stay was good! We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a lovely, new hotel on the bayside. Staff is very nice and helpful. Beds are super comfy. Noise from outside my room did creep in. Would love to be there in the summer sometime to enjoy the poolside firepit. Breakfast is tasty and ample.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms offer tremendous sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckiwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back when you're in Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Fairly new hotel so everything nice and clean. Quiet weekend so clerk gave me upgrade to bay side view. The suite was extremely large and comfortable. Extra long desk/table. Large lobby. Large parking lot. 42 in flat screen tv. Located around 42 street, so right in middle of strip. Staff very helpful in providing local favorite restaurant. One complaint, was the hard mattress. Will return when back in area.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your recent response on the Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, MD. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but unhappy you didn't like your new Hampton bed. The Hampton brand requires all Hamptons to have a specific brand (serta)....and it may be because we are still new that you didn't quite like them. Hopefully that's the case!
We're glad to hear you enjoyed everything else with your stay and we hope you'll come back to see us the next time you're in Ocean City! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was our first stay at a Hampton Inn. We were in town with our 3 yr old granddaughter for the Winterfest of Lights on Sat 12/22/12. The young man at the front desk was very pleasant and friendly, he offered us a different room that was larger when he saw my partner in a wheelchair, we declined because we wanted the ocean view and the extra chair in the room for seating. We were barely in our room when the young man called to make sure our room was to our liking and would work for us which it did. It had a fridge & microwave which came in handy with having a 3 yr old, coffee, tea & hot chocolate was available 24/7 in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was really good, had your usual friuits, cereals, etc...but also had make your own waffels, scrambled eggs & bacon. It was in a comfortable & relaxing setting and we really enjoyed it. The lobby area had many sitting sections and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The only sad thing was that the indoor poor & spa were very cold, we were hoping for a nice soak in the hot tub after an evening out in the cold & ice skating but it never even got luke warm. I would most certainly recommend this hotel and stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countrygirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a response about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, our whirlpool in the pool area is not a hot tub...it is called a "conversation area" and isn't hot....its the same temperature as the rest of the pool. It is a consideration that we may be changing down the road however. We do apologize that wasn't to your liking but hope that you'll come back to see us again in the near future! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Address: 4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-3241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing