We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great place to stay. Clean hotel, great staff and very good location. I was initially concerned that the hotel was not located on the beach or boardwalk. But our stretch of the beach much was nicer and less crowded. It turned out to be a better choice. Some of the other hotels appeared to be dated but this hotel appears to be newer. The hotel provides a shuttle bus that takes you right to the beach (less than a 5 minute ride). I would definitely recommend this hotel, and the price was right. Very good value. Make sure to get a "Bay View" and avoid sleeping next to the elevator if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Roger J. for taking time to write a great review about us! We appreciate it and are happy we met your expectations! We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row. The bayside rooms are absolutely beautiful. Great price, amenities, and service. We will not stay anywhere else. Lots of restaurants and attractions and quick access to the beach. Friendly staff, very clean rooms, and the complimentary breakfast is more than enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Nancy M for your business! We are happy that you are becoming one of our regulars and that you enjoy our hotel and its amenities! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly. The only negative thing was the complimentary breakfast. It was undercooked and cold. The fruit was mushy and not fresh. Excellent pool and hotel bar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jecal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Jecal1 for your recent review! We are happy you enjoyed everything about your stay except the breakfast. We do apologize the breakfast wasn't to your liking....we do hope you'll come back and visit us the next time you are in Ocean City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Overall, we were just expecting more and we were disappointed with this hotel. We've stayed at many other Hilton properties, including Hampton Inns, so we thought we knew what to expect. Unfortunately we were wrong. First, the positives. The pool was very nice. Small, but nice. We especially enjoyed the view of the bay from the pool area. The tiki bar was nice (when it was open), and happy hour drinks were fairly priced. We also liked our room layout and size. We had 3 adults in a 2 queen suite and it was plenty of space. Free breakfast was very good, and all day coffee was appreciated. The gym was small, but the equipment while limited, was of good quality and the gym seemed pretty clean. They have a shuttle that can take you to the beach which is a nice touch, but we just chose to walk since it's right across the street and an easy walk.
Now, the negatives. First impressions are very important. Upon check in, I asked to make sure our room was bayside with a view as I had requested, and was told simply, "no you're street side." I asked her to check and see if there was a room with a view available and with out blinking an eye, she just said "no" very unapologetically. Great. Thanks. So we head up to our room. Right away I noticed that there was a dirty, wet washcloth left by either the last guests or the cleaning people on our tub. Gross. Also, right outside our room, someone spilled something sticky that made a huge mess. It looked like someone wiped it up, but it wasn't cleaned properly. We all walked though it and tracked sticky stuff into our room. We went to the pool and while it was very pretty, I was really disappointed with some of the behavior of the other guests and the lack of any supervision of the staff. There was a group of what seemed to be 2 families and their kids who were so loud and obnoxious it was ridiculous. Screaming, belching, throwing toys that almost hit more that one guest, jumping (even though there is a sign that says no jumping), and basically just taking over the pool. And we're pretty tolerant. This was not just rowdy kids splashing in the pool--the adults were just as loud. I know that's not directly the hotel's fault, but I really wished someone had asked them to tone it down a notch. You could see the faces of all the other pool guests thinking, "Seriously? Who acts like that?" If I worked there I would have asked them to be a little more respectful of the other guests. That night, right before bed, a loud alarm started going off. It wasn't the fire alarm, so we called the front desk to make sure everything was OK. They sent up a maintenance man who assured us that it was just the Freon detector, but there wasn't a Freon problem in our room. He said it was probably from us spraying aerosol or perfume. We told him no, we didn't spray anything, and he actually said, "Are you sure? I thought I smelled perfume when I walked in." Needless to say, we didn't feel very reassured, we were annoyed, and were woken up by it going off again in the middle of the night. The next night, I was woken up by the same alarm noise coming from someone else's room. I hope someone from the hotel reads this and makes sure there isn't a problem with the AC in these rooms. Freon poisoning is nothing to take lightly. On day two, we left the beach around 4:00, looking forward to happy hour at the tiki bar at the pool, only to find that the bar was closed. No explanation of why, or offer to do anything, just that if we wanted to go next door and get our own drinks then walk them back to the pool, we could just do that instead.
Overall, it was just a disappointing stay, especially considering it's not a cheap hotel. If we go back to Ocean City, we will not stay here again. We're kicking ourselves for not doing more research on where we stayed, but we thought we were safe with a usually very good hotel brand.

Room Tip: If you request a room with a view, make sure you confirm it before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JulieandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Julie and Dan,
Thank you for your review. I do apologize you had some housekeeping issues and your freon alarm sounded. The tiki bar does not open on days where the weather is not good. I do want to speak with you about your issues....if you can be so kind to either call the hotel and ask for Jill or email me at jill.douglas@hilton.com. Thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We truly enjoyed our visit to Ocean City, and the Hampton Inn is centrally located. Rooms and facilities were clean. The free breakfast was a definite plus .... It was more than coffee and toast, and we were satisfied with our stay and overall service. Would definitely stay here again if we visit Ocean City in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jadevirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A great hotel to enjoy the Ocean City, MD fun. It is located on the bay side of Ocean City so the sunsets are gorgeous. The rooms are spacious, clean, and welcoming. The location makes the walk to the beach quick.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a refreshing spot in Ocean City, Md. New hotel with nice amenities across the street from the huger priced hotels. Adorable trolley to the beach every half hour or a six minute walk to the oceanfront. We have been coming here to meet family for years and this just happened to be closer to our family. This place is a home run! Free breakfast and wi fi. You will not be disappointed. Very clean and fresh rooms and efficient staff.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Address: 4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-3241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing