We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully cozy hotel with surprising upgrades”
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cozy hotel with surprising upgrades”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

On the exterior ocean lodge looks like just another cheap ocean city motel but that is far from the truth. After checking in with the incredibly friendly staff I proceeded to my room witch was surprisingly modern. A brand new led lcd tv with a full satellite package laid before me as I sat on my almost trampoline like bed. Off to one side a small mini fridge and microwave oven and the other an elegantly designed bathroom. The room was small but extremely cozy and the location couldn't be beat. A stones throw away from pickles pub and 2 blocks to the beach!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    4
    10
    16
See reviews for
15
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I would never stay here again, even if they paid me. It was cheap and there's a nice balcony; thats the only thing positive I have to say. Handprints and dirt on walls. The two double beds took up nearly the entire room. The one mattress didnt even fit the bed and kept sliding off. The bathroom, though newly renovated, looked as though my kids did the work on it. The small shower was moldy and the drain was scary (tetanus anyone?) and had to wear flip flips in it. You could not bend down to wash your legs, because of the small space! We immediately started looking for other places but could not find one so we were stuck there for almost a week! We hightailed it to the closest walmart for cleaning supplies to make the place a little better. We bought sheets and towels as well, because we, frankly, did not trust it. Shower curtain was moldy as well (got a brand new one, fresh out of the packaging, from the staff-which makes me wonder why it wasnt just changed). We used their towels for a pathway through the tiny room and treated their carpets like hot lava because they were that filthy! Needless to say we spent as little time possible in the room and got most of our sleep on the beach because we were still uncomfortable even after cleaning it. Please, if you value your money and cleanliness, save up and splurge on better lodgings!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean L, Owner at Ocean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We appreciate all the comments and the criticism we receive from our guests. At Ocean Lodge Hotel, we seriously take every comment that has been made in order to improve the overall customer satisfaction. We would like to agree with the statement that “the customer is always right!” But, in this case, (which many months have passed from the guests stay and new updates are in progress), it would have been very helpful if any evidence could have been provided to us in order to respond in a fairly matter.
Before the last season started (from early January 2013 - mid April 2013) we updated all the internal facilities including painting, carpets, furniture, mattresses, etc. In addition, we had new sheets, pillows, towels, refrigerators, mattresses protection with zippers, pillow protection with zippers, shower curtains, etc. Currently, we are working tirelessly toward the new season by improving even more our facilities. We are installing flat screen TVs, room curtains, upgrading satellite channel packages, new microwaves in each room, alarm clocks etc.
So, during last season (sometime from mid April 2013 - mid October 2013)…we are not sure which dates the guests is referring to, it is impossible for the guests to have experienced handprints/dirt on the walls, or issues with mattresses, or mold in the shower. We are a family business and the cleanness is our top priority. We are one of the few small hotels in OC to have a housekeeping supervisor at all the time throughout the season.
Furthermore, it is hard to believe that the guests had so many issues at our hotel, yet they did not report any of them to the management or the supervisor on duty. It is even harder to believe that the guests spent additional money at Wal-Mart from their vacation budget in order to accommodate themselves in the room that have already paid for the entire week without reporting the “issues” or seeking any compensation.
Regarding the room sizes – our hotel is fairly old building but very well maintained. It is our belief that the room sizes are serving very well the purpose of it. In addition, they are fairly priced, very clean, in a great location, and we deliver a terrific customer service. Most of our guests were very pleased to stay at Ocean Lodge last season, and many of them are returning this coming up season. We are looking forward to seeing all of them and many others.
Ocean Lodge Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Being a native Marylander, I've definitely had my share of Ocean City. My boyfriend and I love to fish and we are always on the go. After a failed attempt to camp at Assateague, due to no vacant sites... I did some searching online for affordable rooms at the ocean. I almost said Forget It because all of the rooms were soo expensive or the cheaper hotels were booked. Then I came across Ocean Lodge. I am soo glad I did because its a great place to stay! Very inexpensive and awesome location. Walk over 2 short streets and youre on the boardwalk and 2 streets behind is the bay! The staff are very friendly. All linens, towels, and toilet paper are stocked daily. The room was chilled for us when we got there. We took a small room with only 1 double bed. It had a tv, compact fridge and window ac. Thats all we needed! Just a place to sleep and shower. The only "problem" we had was the bathroom was very small and compact. Nowhere to put soap and shampoo in the shower. But, If youre on the go like us... this is a PERFECT hotel for you! You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Decide how much you are going to be in that room. Then decide how much you are willing to pay for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennM3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Let me start by saying that this is not a 5-star hotel. This being said, it is not a dump either.
Any staff member that we had to deal with was absolutely amazing and did every thing in their power to make our stay as nice as possible.
The location is just perfect. The Boardwak is very close and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
The room was quite old but it was clean when we arrived and it was cleaned every day. The air conditionner, Wi-Fi, refrigerator and TV all worked well.
My major complaint would be about the bathroom. It is really small and is lacking into major amenities that you usually need in a bathroom. As an example, there is no electrical outlet in the bathroom. There are also no place to put the soap and shampoo in the small shower so I had to leave my stuff on the floor next to the shower and water would spill out everytime I needed to get something. There are also no phone or alarm clock in the room.
Overall, some improvements are needed but I would probably choose this hotel again if I had to go back to OC in the future because of it's location and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Eve_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was there with my friends last weekend. We stayed there for three nights. The rooms were very nice and clean. The service was excellent. The owners were on top of things in order to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Very great location and close to boardwalk. I am definitely coming back next year. Next time is going to be a family vacation. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Where do I even start. First off, the pictures on the website are not accurate at all. We had a group of 8 people, the rooms were extremely small. No place to put anything, and there is one bathroom which is located in the middle of the two connected rooms which is stupid. The air conditioner was moldy, so we asked someone twice to come fix it. Nope, never did anything about it. Fridge was leaking everywhere so the maid came and wiped it with a towel... thanks I could have just as easily done that myself. We all wore flip flops to take showers because there's just a nasty hole in the ground as the "drain". We didn't bring any extra toilet paper because who would have though they don't supply you with any? Ridiculous. Also, we didn't receive any of our security deposit back, so if you plan on staying here, don't plan on getting that back because they will tell you some absurd reason as to why they're keeping your money. Oh, also there was no room service the entire week so we were left with a scummy room full of dirt on the floor and sheets that were not changed daily. Please don't stay here is my advice to you.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lexie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The advertisements online are not very accurate. I expected the rooms to apperar as they did in the photos, but they were much smaller and not nearly as well kept. Upon arrival, the refrigerator was leaking onto the floor, the air conditioner was moldy (making my allergies act up, which in turn effected my sleep), we had to wait an extra hour and a half to check in in after our scheduled check in time, and the shower did not have a drain, just a dirty sharp edged hole, and as a whole the room was rather dirty and had minimal lighting. The only thing done to make any of it better was that the maid wiped the water from the fridge up. We were told maintenance would clean the ac unit, but after asking two days in a row, nothing was done to clean it. We had to supply our own toilet paper, the hotel said it is not their job, and were limited to one towel per person. The location is not too bad, it is a few blocks from the boardwalk, not on it or even across the street. Overall, I would not recommend this place for an enjoyable stay, the workers were not very helpful and it was hard to figure anything there out. The only plus was that we could walk to the boardwalk in like 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. People from Beach Bum Motel told me that thet we satisfied with their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Critic4Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#39 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#75 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Property: Ocean Lodge Hotel
Address: 801 Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3848
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE OCEAN LODGE HOTEL. After a successful season of 2014, the Ocean Lodge Hotel's management and staff are looking forward to a wonderful new season with all of you! The Ocean Lodge Hotel in Ocean City Maryland invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly environment. Our three floor building provides one and two double bed rooms as well as apartments, and it is located downtown to the heart of the Ocean City on 8th street and Philadelphia Avenue.** Our convenient location is only two short blocks from the beach and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk! Ocean Lodge Hotel has a front deck and a common balcony which is a great place to be during big events such as the Car Show and Bike Week. All of our rooms are non smoking and equipped with satellite TV, wireless internet access for free, refrigerator, air-conditioning, microwave, and private bath. Complimentary fresh coffee is available in the lobby every morning. * * * We also offer free parking! (One parking spot per room)Our goal at the Ocean Lodge Hotel is to make your summer vacation a relaxing experience so you can enjoy that time with your family and/or friends. Families, groups, and couples will find our quiet, clean, and comfortable hotel ideally suited to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing