We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The original”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greene Turtle

Greene Turtle
Ranked #170 of 416 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Original Turtle, est. in 1976, is an Ocean City Tradition! Enjoy 50+ HD Flat Screen TVs for all your favorite sports! Upstairs is our Game Room w/ bar & additional seating! There’s Great DJs w/ dance floor! We have Sept-May food specials, MD Lottery, Keno & Nightly Drink Specials year-round! Monday - Friday find our Lunch specials & the best Happy Hour! Visit our Apparel Shops with something for everyone - located just down from the bar; plus a store on 6th St. & the Boards is open seasonally. Carry Out * Catering * Party Trays * Parties here Turtle on the Run Carry Out shop is open during the summer, next door. So whether out with the family, adults looking for a fun place or sports fans ready for the game, you’ll find it here!
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The original”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is the original location and I was very excited because my husband and I love the Greene Turtle. It was a Sunday so the place wasn't hopping but the wings never disappoint. I had to have the Maryland crabcake and my husband had the burger. Good food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    63
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just OK - Overrated”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Food is just OK and nothing special. Some items overpriced. Our takeout order got messed up and of course didn't notice until it was too late.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank likesnicethgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Original Green Turtle on 116th St. has gone way down hill. We tried to have a meal there last night and just ran into problem after problem. The place is dirty and too cramped to ever be clean. Air ducts were dripping water on 3 patrons that we could see. The food is all over the place. We sent a steak back twice, then gave up. Chicken on the caesar salad was old and dry. Salad was old and dry.
It has been a yearly tradition for our Family , but never again. They need to switch the staff with the Rehb. Beach location, we had a great meal there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Last visit a problem”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've been to this place half a dozen times. Everything was fine until the last visit. During that meal we had a fly in our soda, dirty utensils, multiple orders done wrong (such as cheese despite asking twice for no cheese), water brought with lemons more than once when we asked for no lemon (one of the waters that arrived with no lemon tasted more like lemon than plain water), they forgot to even bring drinks multiple times, and copious smoke blowing over our table from the front door that was open much of the time (probably also where all the flies came from). Staff apologized repeatedly but then kept making mistakes so the apologies didn't help much. To their credit they did take the fly soda and one order that was messed up twice and couldn't be eaten off the bill. This last visit was not at all like the others so maybe this was just a very off day. However I'm not sure I'd return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChuckC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good bar atmosphere but no outdoor dining”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Food is not too good, but the beer and atmosphere is good. Its perfect for night out for beer, but not a family friendly atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gme123gme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greene Turtle also viewed

 

Been to Greene Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing