We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the bar in back!”

Ocean City Fish Company
Ranked #110 of 437 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We keep the tradition of great Maryland seafood alive! Here, you can enjoy our famous, nationally recognized “best” crab cakes in Ocean City. We offer a wide variety of all your seafood favorites, as well as daily “fresh catch” specials. We offer free boat docking for customers. Our large open deck is perfect for steamed crabs while taking in the beautiful view of the harbor. It’s seafood fit for a Captain! For over 30 years, it has been our philosophy to serve fresh boat to table entrees and lite fare at the Ocean City Fish Company. We have maintained all the traditional recipes, most notably our award winning Captain’s Galley Crab Cake. Our great atmosphere allows you to sit back, relax and enjoy a great variety of cocktails, beer, wine and entertainment. Our servers look forward to helping you make this your new favorite restaurant and bar.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Check out the bar in back!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We love to sit out back and watch the boats go by. Great crab cake and strong drinks = good time! Happy hour is always fun and good lit fare menu. Nice casual place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    129
    59
    54
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“last visit for us”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

since this restaurant has been a favorite of ours for over fifteen years it was with great hope & anticipation that we ventured back on Saturday evening. Because the Rt 50 bridge was closed due to a malfunction, it was almost an hour drive to go out of our way to get over to the Captains Galley - this is dedication as there on many other excellent restaurants in Ocean City.

To say we were disappointed was an understatement! The service was very lacking - with so few people in the restaurant one would have thought we would receive excellent service - not so. Two of us ordered AUCE crabs & the 3rd person ordered from the menu. The crabs were small and extremely light - when we mentioned this the waitress shrugged and said this was standard for AUCE. We were served so many legs & claws that we made a comment to the waitress who stated "that's what comes from the bottom" meaning what? Was every batch of crabs the last?

The prices are at the high end for Ocean City and we therefore expected a better quality crab. For $10 less we could have had the same size and heavier crabs at many other places in OC.
Typically we would be a party of 12-15 on a Saturday night but due to past experiences at the restaurant others in our party had decided to go elsewhere - we were sorry we hadn't joined them.

Goodbye Captains Galley you profited for the last time from us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, MD.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Captain's Galley II”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

WE had AUCE upstairs outside deck, the weather and view was great, can't say that about buffet, the crabs was very mushy, salty and didn't taste very well. Five years ago best crabs in town not now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“crab cakes the best”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The best service and crab cakes, hand made and broiled to perfection. The Crab soup was also very tasty had to get an extra bowl. The location was easy to find and very scenic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank caramiapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Ordered shrimp cocktail and bacon wrapped scallops appetizer and got 5 of each for a little over $20.00. Ordered surf and surf for dinner and lobster was overcooked and crab cake had no flavor. Didn't waste my time complaining because not worth it. Would not eat here again. Bill was $95.00 for 2 people. Better off elsewhere. High prices for low quality over cooked food.

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean City Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Ocean City Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing