We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ for the renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterman's Seafood Co

Waterman's Seafood Co
Ranked #55 of 412 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A+ for the renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This rest. went thru major renovation because of fire and reopened late last year. Beautifully done. Fresh, Bright, and very inviting décor. Their menu changed a bit and yes the wait service is lacking. However, it's a good place for blue crabs lovers. They have decent size crabs for a reasonable price. I have always loved their fried oysters and their fried fish sandwich. now they have fish tacos which wasn't bad. I will still go bad for their crabs and oysters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WYSWYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    87
    47
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Level Contributor
249 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Newly rebuilt since the fire, service has gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went on a Saturday for a late lunch/early dinner. A party of four we were seated promptly. Ordered drinks, appetizers and our meals. Drinks came promptly followed almost immediately by our dinner salads. What happened to our appetizers? "Oh yes, I will go get them right away" said one of the wait staff. Half way through our salads and appetizers the main meals are delivered. While I appreciate the promptness of the kitchen their timing was terrible. The restaurant was almost empty so I guess they had plenty of staff in the kitchen to attend to cooking our food. The whole meal was rushed and handled poorly. The other three had seafood dishes which ranged from okay to good in quality. Broiled Seafood platter, Crab cake and shrimp. I ordered the ribs which are described on the menu as "fall off the bone". I could not chew them off the bone, the steak knife they gave me could not cut them off the bone and finally they gave me a little very sharp knife which after much cutting pared enough meat to almost make a dinner. The ribs were very dry and tough. Realize this is primarily a seafood place. But if you are going to put ribs on the menu and advertise them as fall off the bone they should be somewhere near there. Had been to the old Watermans before it burned down and found it to be a much better restaurant. Metal tables my be good for cleaning off the seafood but it makes a terrible noise when people are banging their crabs with the little wooden hammers. What is the noise level during rush hours? I have made my first and last visit to the new Waterman's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcarmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Have been to Watermans many times in the past and it was a positive experience, however this time it was awful. After being promptly seated. . .even on Easter, we waited an hour to submit our order. When it did come the mac and cheese that was ordered came as veggies, then as mac salad when I mentioned the order was wrong. My baked potato didn't come until after the meal was finished. I had salmon which was a bit overcooked, and the previously great crab cakes were sub par. The newly remodeled restaurant was rather poorly decorated. It makes me think that there are new owners/mgt. as it just wasn't the same Watermans we usually go to.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scsusz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great deal for kids all you can eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were here off/pre-season and thought the service and the food was good. Great deal for the kids all you can eat feast. Our kids certainly got their (our!) money's worth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajohnsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fresh seafood...we never miss a trip to Waterman's when visiting the beach. You can choose from all-you-can-eat, regular menu items, appetizers, something for everyone not just seafood, but highly recommend!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterman's Seafood Co also viewed

 

Been to Waterman's Seafood Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing