We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality and Relaxing”
Review of The Edge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edge
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great place to relax and get away. This is definitely not a place for children - singles or adult couples. We didn't get our first or second room choice because we booked late, and were not disappointed in the room we had (No. 9). We were able to glance at a few others because the housekeeping staff was friendly and agreeable. The other 2 looked fine also. As we have not been to OC MD for a dozen or more years, this was the first trip without kids. There is nothing on Fager's Island but the 2 hotels and the restaurant. I expected a larger island to drive a bit on! Nonetheless, if you just want to unwind, a nice place. I chose this place because the weather in October can vary so much, and I wanted something waterfront that we could enjoy inside as well. Bed, ammenities, and cleanliness were great. I was glad there was not a desk in the room - this was more of a luxurious suite instead of a hotel. The fireplace was a nice touch to add to the ambiance, although it didn't produce heat. There was a fridge, sink, and nice countertop. The fridge had a few complimentary sodas and waters. Two downsides from our perspective: The tiled shower had no door or curtain, so if someone was sitting on the sofa, you might wish to not be exposed unless you are younger than 25 (LOL!). A little privacy would be nice. The 1st night we had the continental breakfast delivered, which was OK - grapes, a piece of coffee cake, and OJ. (Coffee, tea, and hot choc were already in the room). The 2nd night were grapes, OJ, and some not so great pound cake slices that we tossed. A nice muffin or donut from a bakery would have been so much more delicious and appreciated. I will do a separate review on the restaurant - but in summary, excellent food there. I discovered I no longer like the OC tourism street after street, but this place was isolated enough that I didn't notice it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, which was one of the more private rooms over the water, I noticed that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairreviewinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We celebrated our birthday kickoff weekend together at the Edge during Labor Day weekend. We stayed in the RIVIERA ROOM. Gorgeous!!!!! We highly recommend, and will probably request that one again when we come back.

Our room was on the first floor and right near the Bay. In the afternoons into the evening we'd sit on our little porch area with some champagne we bought down the street and watch the sunset while listening to the music. Thanks to the floor to ceiling windows, we could be in bed or even taking a shower in the afternoon and still be able to bathe in the afternoon light.

The Fager's Island Restaurant was also conveniently nearby, so we could easily get breakfast or enjoy a nice dinner. But there are also a number of other great places to get a drink or a good meal along Coastal Road.

We even tried the swimming pool there and had a great time. It started raining and got a little dreary, and so we ended up the only ones there, but the water was warm and oh so comfortable! And the pool itself was set up to look like a beach. It was an interesting experience swimming there with the bay right next door.

And should i mention the Jacuzzi in the room? really nice :) It's right next door to the window so you feel like you're on the bay. And the bed was just super comfy as well.

John the night keeper was a real darling and Marie was just as nice.

Room Tip: Get the Riviera Room. And bring your own champagne or wine to enjoy the afternoon sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The rooms are immaculate. The attention to detail was unbelievable. Every night the room was turned down candles were lit, lights were dimmed and fire was going. Bedding was high end quality. The room was immaculate. the view was beautiful and the front wall is all glass you can sit in the sitting room or lay in bed and watch the gorgeous sunset. Patios are private and every night fresh fruit with coffee cake is delivered to the room for a continental breakfast in the morning. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend this to anyone. The food in the dining room is top quality although a little pricey but well worth it.

Room Tip: choose the Edge over the lighthouse rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our first getaway to Ocean City in almost 15 years. We usually stay in Rehobeth or Bethany. We decided to stay here because the rooms looked nice and we always loved Fagers. While the room was beautifully appointed.. There were a couple of shortcomings to give it a perfect score. The lighting in the bathroom was nonexistent. There were almost no drawers to put your clothes away only a closet and two small drawers, luckily we were only there for a couple days and kept our clothes in our suitcase. Plus, the porch overlooking the bay was so tiny it felt a little cramped with two people sitting out there with coffee or cocktails. We were told no children were allowed at the pool by the rude woman at the front desk and there were small children playing in the pool and no one there to monitor what was going on. And speaking of the rude woman... we were greeted by a woman at the front desk who immediately asked for the remainder of our deposit before anything else. it was a little strange. she was not friendly and only marginally helpful when we asked any questions. We have stayed at many five star hotels and always the staff is accommodating and accessible. This was not the case here. In fact, the checkin process is in another building all together and we ran into others who drove up to the hotel and could not find where to check in. I called to make the reservation and was never told where to check in at that time only found out when we called the hotel and couldn't figure out where it was on our way there. You do not drive up the same road as Fagers.

Room Tip: There is no fitness area or spa and it is a long walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dziner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I booked a room at the Edge @ Fager's Island for a couple of nights to celebrate our 30 year wedding anniversary. We had never been to this hotel, but it looked like a nice place from the pictures on their website. I called and made the reservation and the lady on the phone was very pleasant & helpful. When we arrived in O.C., we did have a hard time finding the place. But, once we found it, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff @ check-in was great! They took us to our room, which was Room #9. Incredible view & decor. There was a heart-shaped whirlpool tub, fireplace, and balcony where we ate our complimentary breakfast every morning. We are planning on going back to O.C. again this summer & will definitely stay at The Edge again! It was awesome!

Room Tip: Room #9 is on the 2nd floor. It faces the bay & has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Fager's Island sunsets are amazing, so we decided to try and stay within walking distance for our week at the beach. Our room at the Edge, #9, was even prettier than it looked online. Things started out a bit rocky, with some difficulty with the new key card system - but management couldn't have been more gracious handling the inconvenience. Everything mentioned previously - the nightly turndown service with candles lit and chocolates on the pillow...a tasty continental breakfast...a never ending supply of fluffy towels and the softest pillows and bed made it a perfect romantic getaway. We were able to relax by the pool with full view of the bay and an easy walk over the bridge to Fager's Island. Drinks on our personal deck - and the surprise of holiday fireworks...if you want an adult getaway in OC, MD with the amenities of the finest hotels then the Edge is where you need to be. We are planning to book next year's vacation before we leave.

Room Tip: Haven't seen the other rooms, but #9 is ultimately private, with a heart shaped jacuzzi overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrendaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Every night, the staff turned down our bed, put soft music on, dimmed the lights and candles we on.......We would come back to the room, and it was so nice!!
Quality was top notch. It was relaxing, and quiet in our room.
The pool was great, and the heart shaped hot tub was relaxing too!
I will defiantly come back to this hotel.....our experience was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riviera Room, view of bay felt like we stayed on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jolink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 104 in Ocean City
1,031 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#53 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge

Address: 201-60th Street in the Bay, Fager's Island, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £243 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve distinctively designed and furnished suites reflecting cosmopolitan sophistication with the simplicity of the beach, each providing uncommon comfort and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edge Hotel Ocean City
Edge Ocean City
Edge Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing