We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware MONTE CARLO SUITES & HOTEL MONTE CARLO are both being reviewed on this site”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #68 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
West Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be aware MONTE CARLO SUITES & HOTEL MONTE CARLO are both being reviewed on this site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I want everyone to be aware that my review is for the MONTE CARLO SUITES located on 11th Street. It is owned by Hotel Monte Carlo and the check in is at the 216 North Baltimore Avenue location but the suites are located on North Baltimore Ave and 11th street. Great location. Conveniently located a block over from the boardwalk. The suites are very modern and clean and they have rooms for 8 people or more.It has a kitchen with granite counter tops and full refrigerator and a working 2 burner stove, microwave and toaster along with coffee maker for those coffee lovers. They also have pots and dishes and basic essentials. There is a private balcony and our suite had a pull out sofa, king size bed and 2 queen size beds.The beds were very comfortable. The mattress on the sofabed could be replaced. Bathroom is large enough to have 3 people getting ready at same time and a Jacuzzi bathtub. The pool is in the building but still considered outside. There is also a vending machine for soda, but no ice machine. Building is private so you get a key for the downstairs entrance to elevator and of course to the room. Management is not on location but they come by to check and you can also call them. You also have access to go and use the pool and hot tub at the main hotel on 3rd st which is the Hotel Monte Carlo. Thats where you would also go to have breakfast but we did not because it was only from 0800-0900. Parking is one space for the unit but we were able to find parking on the street and since we could walk everywhere we did not have to move the car. When we did have to use the car to go to Seven Eleven we used the one that had the hotel pass on it so we can still have our parking. My mother who is extra particular really liked the place. When she first started reading the reviews on this site she was worried. I had to explain to her that most of the reviews on here were for the main hotel itself. This I knew because everyone was mentioning the Subway restaurant in the lobby and roof top pool ,and where we were at there was none. Everyone is entitled to their opinions but this site can be very deceiving because like I mentioned the reviews are for 2 different locations owned by same company. Its worth trying out for yourself. We had a great time and we will stay here again. Remember Monte Carlo Suites ....

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the wifi password. Its free but you still need to request it when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 786nancyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    96
    64
    49
    80
See reviews for
157
108
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The manager was very disrespectful and used bugler language including the F word continuously in lobby behind desk. The rooms were very dirty, and the cleaning staff came at 8:30-9 in the morning (when you didn't want to get up to have them change your sheets) always out of toilet paper and tissues, and many of the doors DO NOT SHUT AND LOCK!! My experience here was awful, and it ruined my trip completely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorrrx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
This review is full of inaccuracies. This was written by a High School Senior Week Student who was asked to leave hotel for violating State Laws with underage drinking and drug use. The Student on way out door threatened to post negative review of hotel due to this. We had a hotel guest in our lobby at time who commented on the unruliness of the girls involved. After their subsequent eviction the guest next door enjoy a peaceful nights sleep without the interruption of underage party goers that are common in the month of June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Located one building back from the boardwalk. Easy walk to the beach which wasn't as crowded in this area because of the lack of high rise hotels. The staff was pleasant everyday. Parking was free across the street, ice can be purchased for $2 a bag at the front desk. I expected a lot less from this hotel because of the low price. What I received was a large clean, comfortable room with a small but clean bathroom. The refrigerator worked well. The outdoor pool area was very nice; I did not notice uncleanliness. The lobby was always spotless, the beds were comfortable. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite with a side view. The higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_T0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our family of five stayed at the Hotel Monte Carlo for three nights while in OCMD this summer. I usually do not stay at non-chain hotels, but decided to take a chance on this one because of the location, room size and price. It was a good decision.
Location: The hotel is on the ocean block, not right on the boardwalk, but close enough (one building behind a boardwalk hotel). The front of the hotel is on the corner of 3rd and Baltimore, so you're in the lower end of the boardwalk, not far from the pier and great food. Getting to the boardwalk and beach was very easy, probably less than 30 steps away from the boardwalk.
Check-in: Check-in was good. No wait. When I asked for a higher floor (they had us on three, we wanted the top floor, which was five, they accommodated the request right away.
Room: We reserved a studio room with two queens and sofa bed and a balcony with ocean view. The room was exactly as described, recently updated and clean. The hotel is older, but well kept and comparable to a mid-class chain hotel of similar age. The queen beds were clean and comfortable. My only complaint with the room was the sofa bed. It was bent and getting out of the sofa wasn't easy. There were missing springs, and the first night we decided to put the mattress on the floor instead of the bed, because it was more comfortable. When housekeeping noticed the bed on the floor the next morning while we were at the beach, they had everything fixed and left us a note apologizing for the inconvenience. There was a mini fridge, sink and microwave in the room, which served well for breakfast everyday. There was only soap and a little bottle of shampoo in the bathroom, so be sure to bring your own lotion, etc.
Pool: There's a rooftop pool and hot tub. Both were clean and not crowded at all. The depth of pool is only 3 feet, so great for younger kids, but not toddlers. We used the pool everyday. There are lounge chairs and tables on the rooftop as well.
Staff: The staff was very friendly and attentive. This isn't a full service hotel, but we always saw the guys mopping the stairwell, checking for trash in the pool area and cleaning the lobby windows. They stayed busy.
Parking: They have a free parking lot directly across the street. Spaces are narrow, but we always found one. You can get preferred parking under the hotel for a fee, but we didn't see a need. We were in a mid-size SUV.
Two things you should be aware of: The wifi was spotty at best when we could get connected to it and there isn't an ice machine in the hotel. You can get a cup of ice at the front desk and buy bags at a reasonable price, but be prepared if you're thinking of filling your cooler before heading to the beach.
Overall, this was a good stay and I would recommend it for families looking for a bigger room that sleeps five right near the start of the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. There's a balcony and you can see the bay and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

room was clean but bathroom was very small.. ..the toliet ran all the time... the fridge didnt get cold.. the pool outside and deck were very dirty with bird poop on everything... could not get in pool or hot tub... inside pool had no filter system running ... water was gross.. the only good thing...the staff was friendly

Room Tip: lots of noise outside the window on the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

we go to OC every year we have stayed at a different hotel nearby in the past we tried this one because it is a great location, bus stop right outside your door the view form the rooftop is incredible the outdoor pool is nice the indoor pool is very small the weight room is basically in a closet outside with only 3 machines.. The staff was friendly enough the only problems I give the hotel is small upkeep such as there was no do not disturb sign for our room the towel rack was about the fall out of the wall. bathroom sink was slow to drain housekeeping was a bare minimum the bathroom was never wiped down our entire stay they only took out trash and swept floor in living area and gave you towels they didn't wipe out tub or sink. I didn't like that. but overall for basic needs it is fine.

Room Tip: we stayed on 4th floor side ocean view the view isn't bad you go onto balcony and look down appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We usually travel to Ocean City once or twice a year. We have stayed in various hotels along the boardwalk and the Monte Carlo has always been a nice place to stay and has always met our families expectations. Since our last stay, the hotel has went through some remodeling and seems to continue to make improvements. We had no issues. Staff was polite and courteous, rooms were comfortable and clean, and the amenities were sufficient. Though parking is very tight, and there is no ocean front rooms, the hotel is conveniently located, the boardwalk and beach access is just steps away...we would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hmbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#58 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#74 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing