We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at the Hotel Monte Carlo !”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Georgetown, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at the Hotel Monte Carlo !”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Last year was our first stay at the Monte Carlo. We travel to Ocean City every year and had never stayed there before. We stayed in a beautiful room, which had a nice jacuzzi tub and a private patio. We also loved how close we were to the boardwalk, and public transportation was very handy. The rooftop pool was great, beautiful view and well taken care of. We had a wonderful time, and just made a reservation to return this year!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelrat4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    99
    65
    50
    87
See reviews for
168
111
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westminster md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Our stay at the hotel monte carlo was wonderful. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and very roomy. We especially liked the balcony to sit on at night and listen to the music in the next hotel across from us. I would recommend this hotel to our friends and we will be renting again this summer as well as in the past years .
Thank you guys you are the greatest.

Karen Kuhn

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dknywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Clair, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2009

The stay was nice. Activities close to hotel. Quick walk to the boardwalk. Enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxson2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Made reservations for March 13th & 14th,4 rooms.Had to cancel one room and was told I would have to pay the reservation fee (one nights stay) and I agreed. Checked in and was charged a higher rate than was quoted over the phone,ok we can live with that were here. A friend called me and wanted to come down for the weekend with his wife and I said great I had to cancel one of my rooms and that they could have it,just tell them at the desk when they arrive. The following day all 8 of us went out around 11:00 am and returned around 11:00 pm. The beds weren't made,no trash removal,no coffee for the morning,no clean towels and our heat had been turned off,it was cold. Called the front desk and was told they would address the problem in the morning. Next morning didn't hear a thing. We decided to stay another night but booked a room at another hotel. We were checking out and were told we owed an additional $148.00. We asked what for and could not get a reasonable explanation or an itemized bill explaining the extra charges. We asked to see the manager but he would not come down to the lobby he would only talk over the phone. My friend talked with Mr. Bowden the manager and could not get any straight answers from him. Mr. Bowden was rude and hung up the phone. We did pay the additional money only because they had my credit card number. The couple that had taken the cancelled room were told when they were checking out that they would have to pay an additional fine of $200.00 for smoking in their room. They were held up a half hour while the room was checked out by the smoking police I guess. Anyway they didn't have to pay the $200.00. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau with no results. Emailed the OC chamber of commerce,no response from them at all,so now I'm here venting. I have been to many hotels/motels and have never had any problems. If I were you I would stay far away from the MONTE CARLO HOTEL.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikesroadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
We are saddened to hear this guest did not have an enjoyable time has he would of liked. At check in one room was cancelled and deposit forfeited per our hotel stated policy. We pride ourselves for the cleanliness of our hotel and correct any issues has they may arise. I am the manger this reviewer is referrring to and I did not at any point hang up on him. That is completely unprofessional and no one on my staff would do such a thing. We try at all cost to avoid such issues by stating our canceallation policy is 10 days prior to check in. We never change rates after a guest has reserverd a room. Please understand this reviewer has stated several untrue things against our property. Our guest are the most important people to us and their comfort and happiness are our main goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This was the first time in this hotel and it will definitely not be the last. The service and the room was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasserbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Nice location, Pool, Hot tub. Ugly rooms..one of our beds was broken (the legs near the feet were uneven/bent and felt like you can slide off of it in your sleep).
It's too expensive and the rooms can use a makeover/upgrade. It was clean so no bugs or anything like that. Not sure if I'll stay there again.
Oh and parking was a pain too..not enough spaces.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
Our rates for our hotel are the most economical of all hotels compareable to us in the downtown area. We offer more ammenities for less money than other properties near us. We have just replaced all the bedding in our hotel as well as new carpeting to give our guest the best quality and value for their money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

this hotel is in the best location on the board walk you can walk just about anyware that you like. the hotel is clean and the staff is very pleasent and helpful. and the rates are just as good.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fordman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing