We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay all around”
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my 13, 12 and 6 year olds and my mother and husband. Close walk to beach. Great pizza across the street. Not a far drive from the boardwalk. Rooms weren't spotless but I haven't found a hotel yet that is. Pool was on the small side but we were here for the beach more than the pool. Staff very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catlvrpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review! We pride ourselves on being family friendly, which is why we offer a game room, sundeck and spacious indoor pool. Relax in our atrium, or work out in our great fitness center. We are within walking distance to a ton of great local attractions, dining and nightlife. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all the Carousel Group has to offer. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Carousel Group Vacation Package. The Carousel Group Vacation Package offers the most amenities in Ocean City! Book a room at our hotel and get great discounts just for being our guest! Guests staying at any of our great hotels can join us for - FREE Ice shows every night at 6:30 (June 12 - Aug 20). - FREE Voucher for our free family photo night, - FREE Movies on the beach Wednesdays on 118th st - FREE Family movie night at the Carousel - FREE Live entertainment on Carousel Back patio everyday in the Summer from 2 - 6pm - 10% discounted dining at The Carousel.

Thanks again for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for a few days. The rooms are a nice size, with a convertable sofa, table and chairs, kitchenette (microwave, coffee make, dinnerware, and full size refrigerator), and a balcony. The location was great (between Coastal Highway and the beach), and the parking was very good, a lot of it being covered. The only negative that I have is that the housekeeping could be better, The room had not been vacuumed before we checked in (obvious evidence on the carpet), and was not vacuumed the entire time that we were there. Also some of the furniture could use spot cleaning. We didn't use the kitchen facilities so I can't comment on the cleaning in that area. In the Bathroom, the sink and toilet were cleaned daily and fresh towels were supplied, but that was about all they did. I don't expect immaculate rooms at the shore, but they could do a better job. In spite of the above, I probably would stay there again because of the location, good rates, and room size/features.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review! Here at the Bonita Beach Hotel, we pride ourselves on excellent service and quality assurance. We are located in a great area close to great dining and nightlife, as well as many great local attractions. When you book a room with the Carousel Group you receive the Carousel Group Vacation Package! We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Carousel Group Vacation Package. The Carousel Group Vacation Package offers the most amenities in Ocean City! Book a room at our hotel and get great discounts just for being our guest! Guests staying at any of our great hotels can join us for - FREE Ice shows every night at 6:30 (June 12 - Aug 20). - FREE Voucher for our free family photo night, - FREE Movies on the beach Wednesdays on 118th st - FREE Family movie night at the Carousel - FREE Live entertainment on Carousel Back patio everyday in the Summer from 2 - 6pm - 10% discounted dining at The Carousel.

Thanks again for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a very basic hotel (no restaurant or room service, for example), although it does have a reasonable size indoor swimming pool (which looked a bit dirty) and a small games room. However, the rooms are reasonably sized and most of them can see the sea from the small balconies. With tax, one night cost over $250 - an outrageous price for such a basic hotel, but indicative of a very crowded Ocean City with "No Vacancy" signs up and down the main drag. And talking of the main drag, this is the #1 reason NOT to visit Ocean City. From morning to night I found the traffic was so heavy that it was worse than Beijing or Mumbai in the rush hour. Part of the problem (apart from the obvious - too many cars) is the staggering number of traffic signals and very long phasing. If ever a holiday destination was crying out for a monorail-style solution, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for your review and thank you for being our guest. July 4th weekend is the busiest weekend for the town of Ocean City Maryland. It is also one of the most expensive times to stay. On behalf of the room rates at the Bonita, they are quite inexpensive compared to similar hotels in our competitive set, and we do offer more amenities than any other hotel for the price. The Bonita Beach Hotel is part of The Carousel Group, The Carousel Group Vacation Package offers the most amenities in Ocean City! Book a room at our hotel and get great discounts just for being our guest! Guests staying at any of our great hotels can join us for - FREE Ice shows every night at 6:30 (June 12 - Aug 20). - FREE Voucher for our free family photo night, - FREE Movies on the beach Wednesdays on 118th st - FREE Family movie night at the Carousel - FREE Live entertainment on Carousel Back patio everyday in the Summer from 2 - 6pm - 10% discounted dining at The Carousel.

Ocean City is Maryland's most popular resort town for a reason. The town offers great amenities for free including nightly fireworks, concerts on the beach, family beach Olympics, Sundays in the park, movies on the beach, lazer shows, Sunday park parties, and free beaches. No other beach resort town offers as much as Ocean City Maryland does, especially for free.

Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you find your way back to our beautiful Ocean City Maryland again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Small, filthy pool. There was nothing but hair floating around and bugs. No towels or lifeguard which is dangerous since you can access it directly from the "game room" where I saw many young children unattended.

The room was not cleaned well at all there was a frozen juice left in the freezer which made me believe the refrigerator was never even cleaned. The microwave wasnt for sure, there was dried up food left in there. Bathtub looked like it hadn't been updated or cleaned in years. There were food crumbs in my bed, trash galore behind the dresser we had to move to reach an outlet, and stains on the pullout bed and it's sheets. Disgusting. Each day our towels and washcloths were never replenished, this hotel does the bare minimum.

The only "pleasant" experience was my check in but it was dragged a bit because the hotel had ran out of ink and parking permits. Definitely would avoid staying here again, cleanliness is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear valued guest, we thank you for your business and thank you for your review. We do have strict policy adherence when it comes to hotel cleanliness, especially when it involves our amenities. The recreation supervisor regularly keeps a log of the PH, bromine and chlorine levels in the pool. A log is also kept of the backwash times and the vacuuming of the pool. If for any reason a guest has found the pool to have any issues, we take swift action to correct the problem in any way possible. Our housekeepers have been trained to clean the rooms according to our policy which includes the fridges. We do apologize if you have found your fridge to be any less than exceptionally clean, and do ask that you bring the issue up with a member of our friendly staff so the issue can be corrected and further the enjoyment of your stay.

We do thank you for being our guest and cannot wait to have you as our guest once more in the future. Thanks again for your continued business in beautiful Ocean City Maryland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We got barely, what we paid for. Biggest disappointment was the pool. It looked four times bigger on their site, was cold and we had to go to the front desk for towels.
The room was dusty and had few towels. When my husband asked for towels he was told they only had washcloths! Glad I packed towels.
And employee shared his dislike of "foreign" help on an elevator ride that he held up and we had to wait!
Positive was that the room was ample for a few days and 1/4 block walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanChickMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for your review. We do post many photos of our hotel on the website as to not deceive guests. Our pool is quite spacious as well as our great sun deck. If there was any point of contention with the room we would be happy to either address the issue head on and clean the room or gladly move you to a room more suitable to your needs. We do hope that you choose to stay with us once more and EARN your repeated business. We thank you again for being our guest and cannot wait to have you once more at The Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City Maryland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband, baby, and I stayed at Bonita Beach over Father's Day weekend and had a nice time. We payed the extra $20 fee for a premium room which was well worth it! Our room was considered premium because it was on the top floor (5th floor) with awesome views of both the bay and ocean. The room was very spacious with a kitchen area (with full sized refrigerator/freezer), bedroom area, and living room space (with couch, table with chairs, and coffee table). The bathroom was a good size as well.
Only complaints: There were a lot of teenagers/college kids there and I could hear people talking in the room next door while I was in the bathroom. Room and bathroom also weren't spotless, but not horrible. Overall this is a great hotel for the low price. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay for the premium room for the awesome views. You'll thank me while drinking a cold one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for you continued business and for your review! Our premium rooms have great views of the ocean and the bay. It's always nice to go on vacation to enjoy the sunrise and the sunset from the same balcony! Our rooms boast spacious living quarters with full size refrigerators and kitchenettes. Thanks again for being our guest, we cannot wait to have you once more at our quaint hotel on 81st st!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were in OC for a sports tournament and spent 3 days at the Bonita. We were assigned this hotel by the event organizers and I was really scared after reading some of the reviews. HOWEVER, we had a terrific time, we had great service for check-in, check-out, restaurant recommendations and even for a plumbing issue (we had 7 girls visiting our room one afternoon and the toilet got a bit 'slow'...the manager was there within 10 minutes of my call with plunger in hand). The mattresses should be upgraded, our carpet was frayed, and our sliding door didn't open smoothly, but most OC hotels are a bit worn around the edges. We were happy to have a microwave and a refrigerator. The bedding was clean, and we had ample towels (also clean). Yes, the pool had sand in it, but it was a great break when a rainshower chased us from the beach. The parents enjoyed hanging in the 3rd floor atrium.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review. The Carousel Group has since taken over the management of this hotel and has done a wonderful job at accommodating our new guests. We are so glad you found your stay to be pleasant and that your room was spacious and clean. We look forward to having you again as our guest in beautiful Ocean City Maryland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#56 of 104 in Ocean City
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#35 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £54 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in Ocean city on 81 street! Our rooms include flat screen TV's, kitchenettes with sink, coffee maker, microwave, and full fridge. Hotel amenities include indoor pool, game room, fitness center, complimentary coffee, guest laundry, and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing