We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel meets expectations ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Hotel meets expectations ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Arrival; We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday evening. The hotel was easy to find, partly due to the bright color of the building.

Parking; All of the hotels parking is under the hotel, just be aware some of the parking spots are tight. The spots closest to the lobby are the worst, park further from the lobby for spots with more room.

Check-in; There was no one in line so the check in process was quick and easy. The front desk employee was friendly.

The room; Our room was 516 and had a south facing view. I booked a "Premium Ocean View" online and I believe a more premium ocean view would be the rooms on the north side that have a bigger but still partial view of the ocean...but they were the same price online so no big deal...plus on Friday night from our balcony we were able to see the NASA rocket that took off from Wallops Island and it was amazing to watch.
The beds; There were two queen size beds in the room. The beds had old comforters on them, not sure why hotels still use these but they came off the bed as soon as we walked in. The beds also had older sheets and an older blanket...time for some new linens. The beds were a little hard but okay to sleep on. There was also a pull out sofa bed in the room which we looked at and honestly wouldn't ever use. The mattress had no sheet on it and there was a lot of stains on the mattress.
TV; They must have upgraded their TV's recently because we had a flat screen TV in our room which was a pleasant surprise. There were also multiple channels which made it nice to watch after a long day on the beach.
Kitchen; The room also had a small kitchen with full sized fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and sink. There is also a limited supply of dishes and utensils...but they appeared dirty and needed to be washed before use.

Housekeeping; Below expectations. After housekeeping "cleaned" our room we noticed a note that was left in our room. The note said they were out of towels and to check back later to get clean towels. We also noticed the garbage wasn't emptied and housekeeping had taken a couple pillows from our room...kind of odd. So later that evening was called the front desk and fresh towels were brought right up.

The pool; The pool was in good condition, yes not 4-star hotel but was clean.

Location; This is where this hotel is above average...you are only a block away from a very nice, not overcrowded beach.

Overall the hotel met our expectations for a beach hotel at this star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing view to get a little more view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your informative review! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service, and a superior experience. Our check in process is quite quick and our staff is very knowledgeable on the area and our operations. Our premium views are exceptional and at a non premium price. We prefer to pass the savings on to our customers. The Carousel Group took over this hotel this past Summer and we will be looking into your comments about the bed spreads being outdated and the sheets. As for all our hotels, we work hard to upgrade our hotels, amenities and customer experience. Along with the fitness center, atrium, indoor pool, game room and sun deck, we offer the Carousel Group vacation package during the Summer season. Stay tuned for great specials and deals for the fall and spring of 2014! Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    52
    33
    44
See reviews for
149
106
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes Barre
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived early to the hotel. When I checked in at the front desk we were told that due to our early arrival we would not be able to check in yet. Expected this, we knew we were early. We were told we could use the pool and other facilities to entertain ourselves until our room was ready. When we made our way to the pool area (not indoor/outdoor-only in door with a large open sliding door to the outside patio) we were so disgusted. If we hadn't already payed in advance for our room we would have looked elsewhere. The shower area was absolutely disgusting. Mold growing everywhere. No place to put dry clothes in shower to prepare to dress after shower. Pool was all sandy...not just a little sand...a lot of sand. pieces were broken around the pool including the one rail into the pool. I just kept my fingers crossed when we were finally going to our room (we were able to check in two hours before schedule). Surprisingly, the room was a lot nicer than I expected. Bathroom was clean. Patio had two nice chairs and a nice view of the ocean. If I was just reviewing this room based on the room and the location, it would not be a bad review. Later in the evening we decided to go to the game room. On the computer it showed several electronic games and the like, that I figured my kids would enjoy. There was one skill crane kind of machine and a ping pong table. That was it. The kids asked to go back to the pool...NO WAY!!!! The workers were nice enough, the room was nice enough, ....will I return....I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnef06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear valued guest thanks for your review. Our pool is cleaned and maintained on a regular basis and should have been nothing less then excellent. We do apologize if you encountered any sand in the pool area, due to our proximity to the beach it is a daily challenge to keep the area free of all sand. As you had mentioned, our rooms are quite spacious and absolutely cleaned and inspected prior to our valued guests checking in. We are at a loss of words for the video game remark in your review. The photo on the website of the electronic games is accurate, those exact games have been there since May 2013 and will continue to remain there. The electronic games are located directly next to the window, 4 ft from the ping pong table you had spoken of. We sincerely apologize for your less than excellent experience at our pool and ask you give us a second chance to earn your business back. Thanks again for your review, we hope to have you again in the future as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights. The rating is accurate and your expectations should be in line with the trip advisor rating. It was a good hotel to stay at, if your looking for great value. Our room was clean and the kids were happy we made it to the beach. The front desk people were very nice. Internet worked great. My kids loved the pool and the ping pong table.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing Bonita Beach for your beach vacation! Our hotel is a great value but we do offer a higher end experience with our indoor pool, sundeck, game room, fitness center and atrium. Our staff is some of the best in Ocean City. We hope you had an experience to enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer. Thanks again for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel for your beach vacation accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our room was spacious with 2 queen beds, sleeper sofa, mini kitchenette. Our deck had two new chairs and a view of Coastal Highway and 82nd street. The staff was very friendly and promptly replied to our request for additional towels, pillows, sheets and blankets. The room did not have additional bedding for the sleeper sofa so we had to request bedding. The A/C was cold and we found the hotel very quiet. Nice indoor/outdoor pool as well. Ocean block, no crossing Ocean Highway...always a plus. And the bus stop was very close by. We had two teenage boys with us so we didn't make use of the game room as they entertained themselves by taking the bus everywhere. But it seems like a great place for younger children with the pool and game room.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the third floor, street view. Room 321. It was quiet but no view of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review, and thank you for being our guest in beautiful Ocean City! As you mentioned, we are at a great mid town location close to lots of shopping, dining and nightlife. Catch a bus and be downtown in no time! Head up north to Northside park and make sure to go to the Carousel for discounted dining in the Oceanfront Restaurant, or discounted ice skating on the rink. Whatever your Ocean City expectations are for a beach vacation, The Carousel Group has it all. Thanks again for staying with us in beautiful Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel provides decent combination of rate, location and quality. Just steps from the beach (do not need to cross the Highway) and the bus stop. We were lucky to get the room on the last 5th floor, with a good side ocean view from the balcony. For those who have problem with sleeping - the conditioner is pretty loud and you can hear some noise from the next door rooms (when it's off).

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the upper floors. Floor 3 is the pool area, so you might want to avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel as your Ocean City vacation accommodations! We work hard to make sure you get the experience you deserve, at a price that won't break the bank. With amenities such as indoor pool, atrium, fitness center, game room and sundeck, it's no wonder our guests are raving about their experience. As you mentioned, the balconies do have a great side view of the bay and the ocean, and we are just a few steps away from the beach. Thanks again for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel in beautiful Ocean City. We can't wait to have you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I booked BB because of the location and amenities that this hotel has and others don't. This was our first stay. Our room, 408, was definitely way more spacious than the average hotel room with 2 queen beds, sleeper sofa, fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, paper towels, some dishes, new chairs on deck, etc.
The a/c worked great too. The room was very clean and new towels brought every day. Sure the bedspread is outdated but, who cares!
The beach is just a short walk and the beach area near the hotel wasn't crowded. There are many places to eat within walking distance including Dunkin Donuts and The Fractured Prune across the street. We heard no noise in the hotel. The front desk even let me check in early since my room was ready. I really appreciated this. I will definitely book this hotel again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your great review on our great hotel! Our rooms are quite spacious in comparison to other hotels and include full refrigerators, kitchenettes and balconies. We are within walking distance to South Moon Under, Hooked restaurant, hair and nail salons, Mexican food restaurants and more! Thanks again for your review and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our weekend in OC and enjoyed our stay at Bonita Beach. It was our first time in OC so we were not sure what to expect, but booked BB very last minute because of location, price and because they had vacancy. We were a family of 4 and had a room with 2 double beds plus a pull out soda. Room was spacious and clean and had a full size fridge and microwave which are both huge pluses when traveling with kids. Decor is a bit outdated but the room and bathroom were both intact and well maintained. I think that they could do better with the linens- the sheets were very thin, pillows were mushy, and bath towels were ridiculously small. But again, the room was clean and carpet appeared new. We really enjoyed the pool. The pool itself was clean and water was perfect temperature. They have a really nice set up with the pool being on third floor in an atrium with skylights and doors open to a sun deck, but they have to replace the beach chairs that surround the pool because they are old and stained and really make the pool area look bad. The beach is just a few steps away and there are many restaurants within walking distance. Maybe they have one and I just missed it, but BB could really use an outdoor shower to rinse off sand when returning from the beach. There was sand tracked in the lobby and elevator which did appear to get vacuumed daily, but an outdoor shower could cut down on a lot of sand being brought into the hotel and its rooms. Overall pleasant stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review, but more importantly, thank you for being our guest! We have made a lot of improvements this past year and look forward to making a lot more in the upcoming winter. Your comments about the outdoor shower have been noted and we will be bringing this up during our next meeting. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Property: Bonita Beach Hotel
Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing