We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great off the Boardwalk hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great off the Boardwalk hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a quick last minute get away, I was very pleased with it. The indoor pool was great there was a nice deck to sit out on. The room was very large, 2 beds and a sofa bed. microwave, refridgator and small kitchette. would def stay here again

Room Tip: covered parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
millie516,

Thank you for choosing the Bonita Beach Hotel for your vacation destination. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of what the Carousel Group has to offer. For staying with one of the five Carousel Group properties, you are able to take advantage of the FREE ice shows, the FREE movies on the beach, as well as a 10% dining discount for any food purchase at the Carousel Hotel. We hope you are having a fun and safe summer!

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    52
    33
    44
See reviews for
149
106
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

this hotel is midtown Ocean city. The is no breakfast of dining available here. The room was beautiful, clean and freshly painted. the ladies on reception were informed and helpful. the housekeeping was scanty, once during our stay the sheets were changed and the floor was not hoovered. Even had security knock on our door 2am thing she saw people coming into our room with pot. she was quite agitated as it took me some time to remove cpap machine in order to answer the door. We had to check with reception the next day as to the reason for this middle of the rousing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Therese B,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your room. As you noted, we are a midtown hotel so it makes our hotel conveniently located within ALL attractions in Ocean City, Md. I do apologize for security knocking on your door in the middle of the night and waking you up. We hope you're having a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at the Bonita Beach Hotel before and have always liked it. The décor is very nice, it's bright, sunny and cheerful and is one of the reason I keep going back to the Bonita. On my recent trip at the end of April 2014 I was extremely pleased with the front desk lady who checked me in Kerryann. Kerryann is an excellent employee who they need more employees like her. She is very knowledgeable and professional. The other employee I dealt with was the maintenance man Hutch. He is a wonderful employee who was very helpful and took care of my issue in a very timely matter. They need more employees like him. The maid service left a little to be desired. During my time they the hotel was quite empty and one day I did not receive any maid service at all. On 2 days the guess dirty towels and trash bags were left in the hall at the end of the maids' shift. I was told they were spoken to about that issue. I would defiantly recommend the Bonita Beach hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Rona L,

Thank you for choosing the Bonita Beach Hotel for your Ocean City, MD vacation. I am personally happy to see that my front desk supervisor as well as my maintenance supervisor were able to provide exceptional service to you and your family. We take great pride in providing the best experience for our guest who are spending their hard earned money to come here and relax. As far as the housekeeping goes, I do apologize for your less than stellar service and I have brought this to my housekeeping managers attention. We can't wait to see you again next summer.

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean overall and the women at the front desk was very nice and knowledgeable. The pool was very nice, and we had 2 Queen beds and also a pull out bed in our room. The downside was it was very pricey and the location is very far from the main boardwalk. Overall the stay was great, clean, and the room was spacious. I did love the full size refrigerator! Also, the kitchen had clean dishes and silver ware to use. I really did enjoy my stay, and if it wasn't for the location.. I would def stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Ashley U,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bonita Beach Hotel. We are one of few hotels that offer a full size fridge as well as silverware for your kitchenette. Though we are not on the boardwalk we are within a five minute drive of the boardwalk. The nice thing about the Bonita Beach hotel is we are located smack dab in the middle of Ocean City so we are a reasonable distance from any attraction. We hope you're having a great summer!

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently chose the Bonita Beach hotel due to it's proximity to other family members accommodations. Pro: rooms are clean, indoor pool was a nice feature, relatively quiet.
I wouldn't complain if the hotel was priced reasonably - because it was the weekend, it was very overpriced for the quality of hotel. Rooms have not been updated in many, many years - this includes thread bare towel, carpet in desperate need of replacing, wallpaper curling off the walls. Paid a little extra for a premium view and we were 1 room off the street looking at the parking lot. The only saving grace is that the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cync3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
cync3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. At our hotel we offer what we feel is an affordable clean room, close to the beach. If you compare our hotel to other hotels in the area, you will see the value in it. A few things that add value to our hotel are the FREE ice shows, the FREE movies on the beach, as well as the 10% dining discount for any food purchase at the Carousel Hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance when you take another vacation in beautiful Ocean City, MD.

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I recently traveled for the first time to Ocean City, MD. I stayed at your hotel on May 31 and checked out on June 2, 2014. The room was very nice and clean and the staff at the front desk was friendly.
The biggest complaint I have is that the Maid Service on June 1, 2014 was dismal. When we got back to the room after a long day of fishing the only thing that was done was the Bed was made.
There were still towels and wash cloths in the floor in the bathroom. Now I know that you dont need to replace towels on the rack but hey come on. All this was laying on the floor and never picked up. I certainly wasn't going to use them after laying on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Don S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for your experience with our maid service. At that point we were in the process of training our new housekeeping staff and I can assure you that this review helped with that process. We hope to see you again next summer!

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the spring car cruise weekend, we booked the hotel 3 months before the event and told the lady that we want a street view, she told us that she'll try her best. So we got there and checked in, they gave us a room on the second floor, very back, other side from the street that we requested, with a GREAT parking lot view. The room looks dirty. We've never been so disappointed in a hotel. So we called the front desk and told them about it. They gave us another room, 5th floor with the same great parking lot view. They have a big room with a full size fridge. But the housekeeping never cleaned our room during our stay, but they keep refilling new towels and washcloths. They are a short walk to the beach which is a good thing. Other reviews are right about the pool, its a little dirty, you can see the sands settling at the bottom, and there's too much chlorine that as soon as you get in the game room you can smell chlorine from the pool area. We go to ocean city annually for the car cruise weekend and usually stay in a certain hotel every year, but We tried this hotel because of web reviews but it was a big mistake to give it a try, will never go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jerbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, General Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
jerbbi,

I am very sorry to hear about your less than stellar stay. As you can imagine during the cruiser weekend we get many request to be as close to Coastal Highway as possible. As far as the cleanliness goes, I find it unacceptable that the room was not cleaned up to our standards. I have brought this review up in my weekly meeting with my staff and hope that you will give us another chance. We hope to see you this October for the Fall Cruiser Weekend.

Ross F. Whitman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Property: Bonita Beach Hotel
Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing