We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Place for kids”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed during the weekend of the St Pattys day parade. Its a great place to stay during the offseason because of the indoor pool. A couple small things I could complain about which would be typical of any motel but the most important thing was the kids had a blast. The kids absolutely loved the caribean key pool. Its in a great location next to a Royal Farms, 2 grocery stores and a bunch of outlet shoppping across the street. We got a packaged deal that came with a panera bread giftcard and two free passes to Ripleys Believe it or not which was alot of fun too. Rooms were very clean and the temperpedic mattresses were very comfy. Our room said it wasn't remodeled but it was in much better shape then some of the same priced motels in OC. It definitely was not the taj mahal but its a place where your kids are guaranteed to have a great time. We will definitely be going back, hopefully this summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
We are so pleased that the family was able to escape for a St. Patty's getaway. The Tempurpedic's are a wonderful mattress that our guests truly enjoy. Rilpleys is a fun attraction our guests have given us great feedback on and you can't go wrong with Panera! We know your family has choices when going on vacation and we appreciate your business!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    307
    83
    40
    33
See reviews for
802
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed Friday night and Saturday night this past weekend. Room smelled musty but was clean. We just left the bathroom fan on to ventilate the room. Pool was awesome for the kids! Chaise lounges were not clean, needed a bath with chlorox cleanup to make them a bit more appealing. Ladies room floor in pool house gets very very wet in the bathroom stalls. Need some of the blue mat in there like is in the hallway to get to the bathroom. But overall the pool and attendants there were great. Loved that they provided towels. The miniature golf was very fun and the playground was great also. We dined at Waterman's Restaurant on fresh steamed crabs and also at Harrison's Harbor Watch at the boardwalk. Both were excellent. I thought the no smoking policy was great at the hotel but there were many butts outside our hotel room. the driveup parking was fabulous and we drove to the pool so our little ones would not freeze on the walk back (cause you know they were wet). We would highly recommend this hotel to families solely because of the pool, golf, playground and close proximity to boardwalk and fun seafood restaurants. In fact, we are going to purchase a gift certificate for other members of the family to bring their kids for the weekend!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocenview47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thanks for your review....just as we read your comments we had scheduled the deep clean of the pool area and lounge chairs. It sounds like your family had an enjoyable time in all that we offer here in Ocean City in the off season. We do try and enforce our non-smoking policy without offending our smoking guests and we are working on some changes that should benefit all. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerley
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was our first trip to Francis Scott Key Family Resort and we were pleasantly surprised and how great it was. The trip was for my youngest daughter's 7th birthday. We stayed in a newly remodeled room in the New Jersey building that sleeps six. The beds had temperpedic mattresses and nicely themed bedspreads. Full kitchen was small but had everything you would need, only drawback is the table sat four, not six. Bathroom was small but clean. The resort features an indoor themed pool with a small slide, hot tub for the adults, volleyball, and spraying water features. The light up palm trees were a fun touch. The lifeguard was friendly and attentive. We took advantage of the free movie and popcorn in the "living room" area of the main lobby, what a treat! Beautiful comfy seating for children and adults in a nice seaside decor. We were hoping to play golf on the free put-put course but the weather was not cooperating! The ladies at check in were friendly and helpful during our stay. I would highly recommend this resort to families...it's a great value! Lots of free activities for the whole family rarely seen at this price level. I only wish the Route 50 diner was open during our stay (seems to be open only in busy season). Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimpyfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you so much for such a great review. We recently added movies in our family lounge and they have been a huge hit...we just ordered a new bigger pop corn machine! I wish the weather would have allowed for putt-putt but that means you need to come back! We really do try and make our families feel like the Francis Scott Key is their vacation home away from home. We look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here 14 years ago, the room we had this weekend is the same now as it was then, (needs some updating)other then that we are having a ball, my only complaint is I had to leave the pool due to chlorine odor, I think they have either too much or need better ventilation. Will return and recommended to others! As we are locals now :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooperms1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the FSK Family Resort. Welcome as Ocean City locals!! I did pass on the information to our Caribbean Key pool staff. We are always trying to improve our property but we are a work in progress. We look forward to seeing you family again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have been staying at FSK for a few years now and absolutely love it. I have a young son that looks forward to all the fabulous amenities; pirate ship spray ground, indoor pool, peg leg putt putt and everything else every year! The recent addition of the Route 50 diner was a great idea and they have amazing food. Everyone at FSK are nice and helpful for the most part.
My only complaint in the years of staying with last year we had a tub that got clogged and even after asking for it to be looked at, it never was. However, everything else makes up for that.
Will be staying there again for years to come and have recommended it to all my friends (many of which have ended up trying FSK and loving it).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thanks for your great review. We are busy this winter inspecting every room and we are getting excited to see our summer families. We just enjoyed our guest appreciation Month in January and it was wonderful seeing so many of our return guests. Our best compliment is word of mouth so a sincere Thank You!

See you soon,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My family had an awesome time. FSK is truly focused on family values. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Family Fun is number One here at the FSK. Thanks for taking the time to write and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carbon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My husband, myself, and our 5 children (ages 16,11,6,3,>1) stayed here overnight for our family vacation.. we were sad to leave! I honestly dont think i will stay at another hotel in OCMD again! There are soo many things for children to do. My younger daughters really enjoyed the sprayground, i couldnt get them to leave! And our older two children really enjoyed the indoor pool, put put, and arcade. I cant wait until this year to go back and stay longer! The only disadvantage is we requested a ground floor room because of the baby and all the things we needed to tote, and we didnt get it, and we also requested early check in, we didnt get that either. We did have to wait an hour after check in to get into our room. The hotel resturant food is superb. But for a family who thrives off different foods, its mainly a burger resturant. Ive already reccomended this hotel to numerous friends and one has already booked.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Party0f7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay. We aim to make our kids feel that this is their home away from home and with kids of different ages that can be a challenge! Please contact us when you know your dates as our first floor 6 person rooms book fast. Though we do offer an early pre-registration sometimes we can't get the rooms completed earlier then our 3pm check in time....it is a priority for our housekeeping staff!! We look forward to your next FSK experience...

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing