We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Everything is there you could ask for, I would maybe recommend an hr extension at night for pool and activities, but other then that, everything was great. perfect stay for the family and if you like going to the beach, hop on shuttle, drops you off less then a block on somerset from boardwalk, cant beat that or if you just want that get away, the kids have alot to do, and poolside is awesome. already tried to book for next year but have to wait til October. this was our second year of staying here... stayed Sunday til Friday and the entire trip, not a rude person was met that worked there.

Room Tip: we loved the kitchenette room for the week, did a little cooking, and had more space too, worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed here for the last two years and again this year in Aug. We stay on Thurs and Fri and then move to our Condo in OC for the rest of the week. We look forward to it every year. We are treated very well, pools are clean, rooms are clean. Kids love to play the little golf course and fish. It is a great two days stay. It might not be the Hilton, and if that is what you are looking for, then by all means stay at the Hilton, but the kids won't have as much fun...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Main lodge last year and the room was very nice with lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pegaroo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Kids are the customer! We do cater to our younger guests and we are so pleased that the grandkids love it. We have grown over the last 10 years to add several amenities all with kids and families in mind! Thanks for choosing the Francis Scott Key as we know you have many choices!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Been coming for 15 years and we've been able to extend our stays over the years-only thing-it gets harder to leave each year! There is not just one thing we love about FSK but many-convenience(outlets/beach/onsite amenities/nearby activities/Assateague Island horses/Boardwalk & beach/shopping....)the value and the awesome staff. Every year I get a little nervous before our trip because I think this year can NOT be as great as last year BUT the FSK has never let us down. I know I sound like I am getting paid for this and in way I am I guess. My family and I get paid in good times, kind and helpful staff and experiences of a lifetime! Thank you Francis Scott Keys Family Resort!! See you next year!

Room Tip: Ay room that faces the outdoor Pool, Mini-Gulf and playground area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilaj320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you so much for all the great comments. We are so blessed to have so many wonderful loyal families that visit each year! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room smelled and had ants in it. The employees at the front desk are very rude and not helpful. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcp1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

I have tried contacting this poster via Tripadvisor as I have little to follow up with. I did look up both rooms we had in this week from this posters city but did not see any notes indicating an ant problem or housekeeping issues.

We pride ourselves on good hospitality and rudeness should never be tolerated. We are not perfect but we do try and rectify any issues when they happen.

I am hoping this poster contacts me directly so I can make any necessary adjustments to make us a better family resort.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family just returned from staying at FSK for the first time (week of July 2nd, 2012) and while my kids absolutely loved the amenities my husband are conflicted as to if we should stay here again next year because of the room noise/thin walls. See below.

Pros:
Indoor pool
Splash park
Friendly staff (the lifegaurds there are really great)
50s diner has FREE donuts :)
Kids activities
Clean rooms

Cons:
Small beds
Thin walls (you can hear everything)

We stayed in an upgraded room w/ kitchenette (New York) on the first floor and me and my husband could barely sleep because of the loud stomping above us. It would have been nice for things to be quieter (or even if quiet hours would start at 10pm instead of 11pm). There was also a really loud creaking sound that would follow for 30 seconds after the people above us would run the water or flush the toilet. I think there was an issue with the pipes. On Friday, the power went out in our building for about 8 hours at night and while the front desk was friendly they didn't have many details on what occured or how long the outage would last. We have two boys aged 7 and 2 and were worried when the temperature started to rise in the room. The rooms were very clean just smaller than what we are used to.

That being said It was not all bad. Since we were on vacation we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room. What I will say is that I really appreciated the nice staff and all of the wonderful activities they have for children. My children loved all the water activities- they even had an indoor pool word search. It really saves money because we didn't need to pay to go to a waterpark this year as the kids just wanted to stay at FSK the entire time. Plus there is free fishing with rods and bait provided. Me and my husband also met some other families while playing volleyball in the pool.

If anything we may try to book really early to stay in a cabin or second level room at FSK or opt for a closer location to the beach if all of the cabins are full next year. I was going to give three stars but had to upgrade my review to four stars because of all the amenties for children.

Room Tip: Higher level room or cabin may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teka2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We do try and make our younger guests happy but our adults are just an important! We do only offer standard double beds in all our guest rooms but they are Tempurpedic mattresses! We do offer complimentary sound machines for guest use and we do try to keep our quiet hours strictly in effect.

We did have a transformer blow at 1:47am and the power company was on property by 2:35am. Our maintenance manager had located the pole to expediate the process but the line had also blown requiring a different team to be sent out. We tried to keep our guests updated as they called in but we were at the mercy of Delmarva Power. We were restored by 8:20am.

We are so appreciative of families like yours that have choosen to spend their family vacations with us. Thank you!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

6 more days until we leave for our family vacation at FSK. My husband and I have been coming to FSK for quite a few years but have been coming for a long weekend with our 2 sons, 1 daughter, their spouses and grandchildren for the past 4 years. Everyone looks forward to our time there and hate leaving. There is so much for all of us to do and I love being a kid again when I am there. Yes, the pirate ship is more for younger kids, but I love it as much as the kids do! Mini golf, fishing, the pools, movie night, great breakfast at the diner...oh how I hope our time goes at a snail pace! Every time I talk to someone about Ocean City, I recommend FSK. Yes it's an older hotel but it's always been clean and the staff is always wonderful and you can tell the owners honestly care about their guests having a great vacation. There is not a hotel in Ocean City that offers half of the amenities that FSK offers. If you are considering a stay at FSK, don't hesitate. Take the negative comments with a grain of salt and enjoy yourself like we do. Or you can go stay at the Hilton and spend over $500 a night and get what?....a fancy room? Well, if you spend all of you're vacation in your room you might as well stay home and save yourself lots of money. As for me, I will be in count down mode until 5 a.m. Saturday. FSK here we come!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

We can't wait till Saturday! Your review hits our sentiments exactly. We have invested these last 10 years in trying to build a family fun enviroment that allows families to re-connect. We are renovating our rooms but again if a guest is expecting a 5 star resort in accomodations..that is not us. We are dedicated to providing a clean, fun, family centered expereince to great families like yours!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My family stayed in the Pennsylvania building for a weekend and we had a great time. Yes, the rooms are dated, but who cares, they are clean. My son loved the Pirate Ship and the indoor pool. We had a great time, and all I can say is THANKS!!! We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thanks for your review~ Glad that you enjoyed your weekend. The pirate ship is the hot spot for the 10 and under crowd! Hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dcikerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £51 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing