We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We just concluded our 1st vacation with 3 generations of family all staying at your resort. It was absolutely fabulous! From 14 month old twins to 57 yr old grandpa's there was something for everyone! The accomodations were perfect. We were able to vacation with my son and his 3 children and my daughter and her three children, and still enjoy our own space too. The shuttle was a blessing, and also the discounted tickets to Jolly Rogers! We can't wait to make our reservations for next year! Thank you for creating such a wonderful place for all age groups to vacation together and relax and enjoy! I loved the Temperpedic mattresses!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Multi generation fun at the Francis Scott Key...love it! When my husband and I first got our Temperpedic mattress we knew what brand we would convert our hotel too! Glad that you enjoyed it as well.

Thanks for choosing Ocean City and the Francis Scott Key for your family vacation!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

This place s trly a hidden gem in OC!! It all started five or six years ago when my mom, and grandmother and myself decided to go to oc,md.Our first trp, The last week of august, so no surprise that all beach front hotels were full. My mother said she really wanted to stay on the beach front, but since we had no choice we crossed the bridge, and what we found ended up to be so good we have gone back every summer. The Francis Scott Key Resort has almost everything there for a family. We were very satisfied with the shuttle services to and from the beach, and they were very nice about finding us a bottom level floor for my grandmother. They have two pools and a splash pirate ship. But they also have several games and activities planned for kids, such as savenger hunts, bingo, boat building, golf tournaments and mch more! Also if its ever raining and you find yourself with nothng to do, right across the street re stores and outlets.

i highly suggest staying here, it is doing alot of work to become modern. Everyone has a great time there and its not too expensive either!

Room Tip: Each building on the premisis is named after one of the thirteen colonies. Try to be roomed somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saraxo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We are working hard to exceed all of our guests expectations while keeping an affordable price range. Each year we try to bring something new for our guest convenience. See you again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just finished a decent stay there (our first). The pools... good / great for kids. The pirate ship themed splash zone... great for kids. Mini-golf and playground on the premises... great for kids. Beach volleyball court... nice addition. Free DVD rentals for a pre-bed kid movie in the room... nice perk. The occasional kid-themed activities and nightly movie... nice perk. The shuttle to the boardwalk, while we never used it... nice perk to have available. Good breakfasts at the on-site small diner. Quick walk to Starbucks, grocery stores nearby, all good things. Lunches at the nearby Shrimp Boat and Smokers BBQ Pit were excellent, if you like shrimp and/or BBQ. Cuts the commute to Assateague down a bit as well, where we spent all of our "beach time". The price seemed reasonable as well given the time of year and the perks mentioned above. All positives!

The only disappointment was the room itself. Clean, I think so. Nothing notable that alarmed us. But it was definitely dated (even though it was touted as "newly renovated" or something along those lines when the reservation was made). The bathroom could use an overhaul and fresh paint. The paneling on the walls gave me visions of a 70s or 80s version of "man cave". :) There was a "peeler"-like utensil in the mini-kitchen that was rusty. Saw more than a handful of ants all over the room at various times, including high up the walls and on the refrigerator. And "quiet" wasn't exactly easy to come by at times... one night we could hear every word of prolonged parent / child arguments in adjacent rooms while also hearing the footsteps of people above us. In fairness, our neighbors probably had to deal with our voices anytime we raised them above a normal tone. The tub drained very slowly from day one.

All in all, it was certainly more "favorable" than not... but I can't help thinking that it wouldn't get an even bigger boost in reputation if they brightened the walls, updated the carpet, painted the bathrooms and updated the tub / shower stall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavensFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your honest comments. It is true that we have placed a large priority on our free family amenities at the Francis Scott Key. In the last 10 years we have added the playground, indoor pool, picnic pavillion, Pirate ship splash ground, 18 hole mini golf, additional shuttle and hours, beach volleyball and basketball area and a complete renovation of the Main Lodge including the Rt 50 Diner and a recent WIFI update. As you can imagine having a property that was built in the 1950's is always a work in progress. Until our next big renovation for the outdoor pool which we hope to do in five years we have been renovating our guest rooms. By renovating, we have new carpet, furniture, artwork, bedding, light fixtures and rooms with kitchens new cabinets. We did not renovate the bathrooms or replace the wall boards. So far we have replaced 110 rooms with 122 more to go! We will complete the 2nd floor Lodge, cabins, Delaware building and Virginia buildings this winter. We have tried to make smart financial decisions that would allow us to create an affordable family atmosphere that is clean and comfortable . We are dedicated to our guests and take all comments seriously and make decisions based on them. Thank you!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

FSK is a wonderful resort for children and adults! They really take care of you there! Very nice and accomodating! They have three pools and a shady woodsy area if you just want to relax and take a break from the hot sun. And if your in the mood you can grill or lite their outdoor fireplace! The shuttles take you to and from the beach all day. Free movie rentals and movie nights! 14 Acres for toddlers to run..playground and mini golf. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapplergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We can't wait till you come back as well. See you again soon!

Thanks
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a great time at this resort! The facilities were clean and well-kept. Every person we came in contact with including the front desk clerks, the shuttle drivers, the maintenance people, the restaurant staff, and the housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful!! We used every part of the resort except the picnic grounds and have nothing negative to say except that we wish we had more time!! My husband even said that if it wasn't such a far drive for us, we would definitely go just to visit FSK!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the New York building, which has been recently renovated and have a full kitchen. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for you kind comments. Hopefully next time your family can stay longer! We have great discounts on weekly stays!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed over a long weekend in the Pennsylvania building. This is our second year staying at the FSK and we always enjoy ourselves! The pool areas were very clean. The rooms were clean, the Tempurpedic mattresses are very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great! The shuttle service into Ocean City is great as well. I love having Starbucks right next door too. Great place for the price!
We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your comments! With so many great restuarants and shopping many guests love our location. Starbucks is one name we hear alot and next summer we will have a Dunkin Donuts right next door! Lots of coffee choices including here at the Rt 50Diner!

We hope to see your family soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I just arrived from this place this evening and had a great time we were a family of over 60 people and the facility's were awesome the splash park was great my son loved it and indoor/outdoor pool were great also we used the grills to have a BBQ and volleyball courts everything u could think about to make your time great, the only complain I have was when I got the room it had a musty/moldy smell but after a phone call they sent some little machine and it smelled a lil better but we totally forgot about it with all the enjoyment we were having A+++++++ to the facility. We will be back here very very soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit with the kitchen its a better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexgon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We love when our family reunions check into our property. It is very special seeing generations of family able to make some memories together. We hope that this becomes a tradition!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £51 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing