We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the indoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Charles Town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the indoor pool”
Reviewed 30 March 2008

My husband and 3 year old twin boys wanted to get away for a few days during spring break. We paid $79 each night for 2 nights, which isn't bad considering the prices on the ocean front.
I had never stayed here before and I was looking for a hotel with a nice indoor "water park" for my kids. They enjoyed it. However, the hours were from noon until 8pm so we had nothing to do at night.
Be aware that you do get what you pay for. The rooms do have a distinct smell to them, which most old Ocean City motels do!

We went off season, so many of the usual places were closed.

We didn't need to worry about the beach, so we decided to try this motel.

If you are interested in the beach and do not want the usual beach smell at old motels, I would suggest save your money and stay at a newer resort hotel on the ocean.
I would not pay in season rates during the summer to stay at this motel.

  • Liked — The indoor pool
  • Disliked — The room smell
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bethyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    315
    84
    42
    33
See reviews for
824
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poohbear
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2008

I took my family there for the spring fling deal they had. You basically get what you pay for. The rooms were very very old and smelled like mildew. The staff was very very rude. We were given one room which took our breathe as soon as we walked in. So we called to the front they gave us another room with air freshner. The best thing was the pool area which was small , butthe kids loved it. STAY AWAY!!! NOT WORTH THE GAS MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank kizjanadante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amdinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2008
I am very disappointed that this guest did not enjoy their stay. The Spring Fling Package was $100 for 2 nights including tax and also included a smores kit and bonfire on Friday, a St. Patricks Day party pack, a treasure hunt and give aways. The response was great and we feel was wonderful value. But, value is nothing if the guest doesn't agree. I would ask this poster to contact our General Manager Heather and we would like to listen in detail to their concerns. We have just completed a 60 room re-do, no guest rooms have furniture older then 4 years, all beds are tempurpedic mattresses. Finally, our indoor pool area is 6000 square feet and can easily accomodate 75 swimmers and 100 deck watchers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

My husband, son (12) and myself stayed at the FSK the weekend of Oct 20th. We are no strangers to ocean city, as my parents live down there. We were looking for an inexpensive place with an indoor pool for my son and were pleasantly surprised with all the ammenites offered. Everyone was extremely nice and treated us respectfully. My son brought his bike and loved riding around the huge property, he would even ride up to the main building and get board games, movies, golf clubs, basketballs etc. I usually read the trip advisor reviews before booking any vacation, but for some reason I did not this time. Upon returning, i decided to read these reviews to see what others thought about the place and could not believe how many positive reviews there are. The negative reviews were all answered by the owner of the hotel which shows pride in her ownership of the facility. On Sunday, we checked out and decided to hang around Ocean City since it was a beautiful day, when finally getting ready to leave for home, my son begged for another day so they could go fishing one more time on stinky beach, we figured why not and pulled into the FSK for another night. Upon approaching the desk, the receptionist recognized us and responded "back already" and in a matter of seconds we were checked in again using our old paperwork which only took a few seconds. If you are looking for a great place to stay try their winter family package which gives you a $75.00 gift certificate for dinner, a $10.00 blockbuster video card and a $10.00 starbucks card.....how can you beat that deal. We are hoping to get down one more time this winter, and even giving up my parents "free" place this summer for a few days so my son can experience the pirate water spray area which was closed for the seaon....hey it was 80 degrees this weekend i wished they could have opened it! As others have mentioned, my only complaint was the lighting and no screens in the window so we could allow some fresh air in.

  • Liked — all the ammenities
  • Disliked — needs brighter lighting in the rooms and window screens
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mschenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

After reading the mostly positive reviews on this website and viewing pictures of the pool facilities, we decided to book 4 days/3 nights at this motel. We and our children were looking forward to spending our vacation together in this kid-friendly resort. The first thing we noticed upon walking into the room (we stayed in the Carolina and had an upper level room) was the damp/musty smell but we figured this was no big deal and could be overlooked. We then requested a crib but were notified that we could not have one because our room contained a sleep chair, although they did not offer other arrangements to accomodate one in spite of our need. Afterwards, we attempted to lay our 6 month old infant under the bed sheets only to find several black body hairs all over the sheets. My wife also found white colored stains on the carpet by the bedside at which time we immediately called and asked for another room with hopes of relief. We moved to a room down the hall, and after peeling back the bed sheets we again found more tiny body hairs but decided to brush them off this time so as not to be a burden, which we clearly got the impression we were being from the front desk's response on the phone. Additionally, there were white stains on the headboard of one of the beds which was disgusting but again we decided just to stuff pillows in front of it and cover it. Both rooms had very dirty carpets which turned our previously white socks black. This had us wearing our shoes around the room at all times and monitoring our children to do so as well. Now, we understand if there are a few things that are not perfectly clean in a room, but these issues were not sanitary. We made it through one night in that humid room on a total of 2 hours of sleep because the pillows reeked of hair and coffee. We checked into another hotel the very next morning to redeem what was left of our vacation. If you are considering coming here be aware that you do not receive a refund if you have checked in already. We realized this after check-in of course. My family was also made uncomfortable by a male restaurant employee who would constantly stare at us while we were checking in. We left thinking that if this place had any dignity, they would observe that we only stayed there one night and refund at least some of our money, but our credit card was charged in full this morning, and we were simply given a "thank you" when we left.

  • Liked — Nice main building
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amdinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2007
When reading this guests post we were obviously disappointed, for us and more importanly them. Every year constant wear and tear requires us to replace and refurbish areas of our resort. This winter we are purchasing all new furniture, room carpet, deck carpet and appliances in 60 rooms (Carolina, Ohio and both Ranch Style Rooms). Never under any circumstances should cleanliness be a factor. Clearly, this guest did not receive the service they paid for. The issue with the crib has to do with the size of the room. I will meet with Marlin Moon in reference to the staff member that made this family uncomfortable. We charge the balance for a guest stay at check in. From this posters comment I am assuming and from not having any information of these issues while the guest was in house, that we had no idea why they were checking out early. I would ask this poster to contact me directly and I will refund their stay and listen to their concerns personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We stayed at the FSK for 2 nights 8/30-8/31/2007. We had been staying at the Commander for 4 nights (excellent place, check out other review), and planned to try FKS for 2 nights when friends met up with us. This is not a fancy place, but it worked out well and is great for kids. The value is unbeatable. We have a 21 month old and our friends have an 18 month old and they could have stayed at the pirate ship all day! They also loved the indoor pool and slide. The rooms could use a little updating, but they were fine. It would be nice if they had microwaves. One thing we noticed, they must have well water or really soft water because you get that feeling like your soap doesn't rinse off! It was nice to try a temperpedic mattress out because we had considered buying one, now we are glad we didn't. We weren't that impressed with them. We didn't use the shuttle because of wanting to use car seats, but I think it would be very convenient if you had older kids. The beach and boardwalk are very close and parking is not a problem at all. The outlet malls across the street are an extra bonus! The free breakfast is kind of lame, it would be nice if they had an area you could sit down and it took awhile for the staff to bring out more donuts because they went fast. This would be a great place to have a family reunion. We would stay here again if we were looking for a very affordable, family oriented vacation!

  • Liked — Great pools, kids activities, and value!
  • Disliked — Rooms could use a little updating.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

My husband and two boys, ages 9 and 5, stayed at the FSK at the end of August with my sister's family of four (2 girls, also 9 and 5). What a fantastic place for kids and families! The outdoor spray ground is a riot, outdoor pool is great and has a poolside bar for adults and the indoor splash pool is warm, wonderful and fun. The indoor pool features "dive in movies" every night at 8. We didn't get a chance to play miniature golf, because our stay was only 3 days, but free passes were included with your reservation.
The location of the motel is ideal, right across the street from an outlet mall, next door to a Starbucks and huge beach store and only a 2 minute drive to the Ocean City boardwalk and beaches. The motel also offers free shuttle service from 10 am to 10 pm about every 15-20 minutes for guests.
The on-site restaurant was casual enough for beachgoers, but still had an upscale feel and menu. Our older son is handicapped and the staff was very friendly and accomodating when we dined there. There is a grab and go breakfast every morning featuring coffee, donuts, fruit and juice.
I just can't say enough about this place. Rooms were clean and comfortable (our room featured a tempurpedic mattress) with plenty of pillows, an ironing board, minifridge and coffee maker. The ONLY suggestion I would make is that the bathrooms need a vanity or some flat surface where toiletries can be laid out.
Great value too ($70-90/night)!

  • Liked — Great location and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getzboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Pa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the FSK. Our kids loved the pools (the splash pool, outside pool, and the inside carribean pool). The inside pool is very unique and the reason we stayed here. The drive to the beach is .9 miles. Not too bad. They have a shuttle but it stopped after Labor Day. The rooms were satisfactory. The staff was friendly. I would echo the comments that the rooms were dark and needed better lighting. We arrived Labor Day weekend and the place was packed. The place cleared out the Tuesday after Labor Day, and we had the place almost to ourselves. On Thursday, the bikes rolled in -a bike rally group that came in a week before bike week. Thankfully, the bikers were not rowdy, but motorcyles (lots of them), in and of themselves, were loud and we have young kids. I would check to see if they are renting out the place to an entire group before renting. Otherwise, if you have a young family, check this place out.

  • Liked — Inside Carribean Pool
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Famwidkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing