We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Hurlock, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for the Kids”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our rooms were neat and clean. Front desk friendly and effective. Not real fancy , but very sufficient . Pools were clean. Good pizza and hotdogs. main restaurant was closed for the winter.
I can say the food was great when it was Marlin Moon , not sure what its called now. We all had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are do glad that the kids had a great time. Our Rt 50 Diner is open during the summer season! The wonderful Marlin Moon that used to be here is now open in Jacksonville Florida! We hope that we will have the opportunity to show your kids a great time again in the future!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    316
    87
    42
    33
See reviews for
835
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family and I stayed here and we were disappointed. The indoor pool didnt open til noon. Pool was so dirty. Rooms were not that clean. Diner was not even open to eat. So loud. Walls are paper thin. We will never come here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are disappointed that this family did not perceive our property as a value. During spring break week our rates averaged $86 per night. Is it true that our indoor pool hours (which we have posted on our website since January 1st and detail in our confirmation letters) were from noon to 8pm on the weekdays and from 10am to 10pm on the weekend. We also allow our guests to pre-register early on their arrival day and use our indoor pool on their checkout day until 6pm as we have showers and changing facilities at the Caribbean Key. We had the pleasure of hosting hundreds of families this past spring break and the pool was very busy and our General Manager spent most of her week overseeing the facility. We do call arounds to our arrival rooms to make sure that thery are satisified when checked in. In the future no matter where you choose to stay please let the staff know if you have and concerns or issues. It is our true and honest intent to give every family a good value in a clean and comfortable guest room and many times if we are notified we can fix any issues on our end. We do hope this family enjoyed their time together and made some Ocean City memories while they were here.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvin, pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband bought a special on Groupon for in March and I thought what are we going to do in the cold! We didn't arrive till 10pm and the desk clerk was still waiting on us. They close early in the off season and since we'd booked thru Groupon, they didn't have our phone number. The resort was exceptional and we'd definitely return. We upgraded to the kitchenette and loved being able to get up and make our own breakfast. Our room was clean, the beds were fantastic and the room was very nicely laid out, the staff was nice and while the restaurant wasn't open for the season, we were close to enough restaurants that were open. It's a mile from the OC strip so you just have to drive across the bridge. Keep in mind if you go this time of the year, OC is extremely quiet. The resort is in the middle of OC, Assateague and right across the road from outlets and lots of stores around. It got to around 60 degrees on Saturday so lots of shops were open on the boardwalk. The pool at the resort was really nice. They have lots of things for kids to do. While I don't know if I'd return in March, we loved the resort and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Florida condo's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kisefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank your for your review... Yes March can be a unique time to travel in Ocean City. It can be sunny flip flop weather or ear muff snow storms. It was a key factor when we decided to build the indoor pool in 2005. This was our first time using Groupon and we have be introduced to a new audience and we are so grateful!

We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our first time stayiong at the FSK Family resort. My family had a nice time despite a few bumps in the road.
Pros:
Very family oriented
Lots to do from mini golf, pool, playground etc
Movies at night in the main building (loved this, not only did it get us out of the room at night but also added to the "family feel")
The indoor pool is great! My kids LOVED it!
A short ride to the boardwalk
The hotel is right across the street from the Tanger outlets and there are many restaurants in the area.
About 20 minutes after arriving we got a welcome call from the front desk asking if everything was ok.

Cons:
Ok the room...I know there are mixed reviews. If you are looking for modern or fancy, this is not the place for you. The rooms are quaint and "homey" We had a room with a kitchen which was very useful. Yes, like other review we did have a few bugs while we were there (spiders and such) But at a beach resort I wasn't turned off by this. The bath would fill up everytime we took a shower. Also if you want your sheets changed make sure you ask for them! We left a nice tip on the dresser because we felt bad that my son got a cut and bled on the sheet) Lo and behold same sheets were on that night. We later saw a sign that read sheets are only changed every 3 days unless you ask...every 3 days!
As for the pool, the first day it was perfect! The second day was a little more crowded and FREEZING then I noticed a lot of the slidong glass doors were open! This is maybe what some of the other reviews were talking about? When I asked the lifguard if we could close the ones right behind the shallow baby section he immediaetly closed them....only to be opened again by another guest a few minutes later...grrrr Not the hotels fault, but they shouldn't be allowed to stay open when its only 58 degrees outside.
Last but not least, if your child has asthma or allergies shower right after the pool. Our last night we ended our vacation with a trip to the Emergency room where my son was treated with albuterol. He was coughing and wheezing. The DR. said that places like this have such heavy amounts of chlorine that it can irritate the upper resp system. Again not really the hotels fault at all (I'm sure all public pools use the same amount) just not really the way we planned our last night :(
All in all my family had a great time, not sure I would come back in the off season though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank your for your honest comments. I will touch on a couple of the issues this guest encountered. We do at times have guests that will open the sliders at the indoor pool and it will impact the air temperature. Guests that are not swimming tend to find the 84 degree temperature warm and do not realize how this impacts our swimmers. As far as the chorine levels in the pool, we blow our whistle every two hours to check chemicals as our load levels fluxuate. As a parent with a child with allergies we are sensitive to the reactions but we follow the protocal required. We, as most hotels do, only change our sheets every three days and each check out of course. We do this to conserve water/ energy but we will gladly change them daily is asked. It is true we are not modern or fancy but we do offer Temperpedic Mattresses in every guest room as we believe a good nights rest is important, all guest room furniture is less then three years old, all rooms have flat screen TVs and DVD players. We have ordered new bedding for 80 guest rooms for May of this year and we will be updating our walls and carpet in the next three to five rooms for all 232 rooms. As a property built in 1952 we are dedicated to improving every year, adding new amenities and at the same time keeping our pricing affordable for our families.

We hope that you will return when all our amenites are open in the summer!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our first time staying at FSK Family Resort. We loved it! We vacationed with 4 other families and a great time was had by all. The indoor pool was awesome. We enjoyed playing mini-golf, basketball, and on the playground. The location was perfect. All of the staff members were pleasant and the lifeguards were engaged with the children. The rooms were clean and the beds were cozy. No complaints here! :) We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
It is great when groups, neighborhoods and families all come together and enjoy each others company and our family resort. We hope that you all visit us again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed at FSK twice now and are planning another trip this summer. It's small enough to be cozy but big enough that there is plenty to do. We have come both in summer and in the off season when only the indoor pool was available and the kids still had a great time. So close to the outlets and boardwalk, you really can't beat it, and so affordable. I recommend it to all my friends looking for a little family getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We love our return guests..Thank you for choosing us! We believe we are an affordable option for families to re-connecy all four seasons!


See your family soon!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess Anne, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Took advantage of the locals special to enjoy a family weekend away for our daughter's birthday. Rooms are a bit dated and smelled a little musty. Indoor pool was awesome for the kids even though the water was a bit cold. Locals deal is great. Four wristbands and a free pizza. Will definitely come again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellam21853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We believe we offer a great value to all our guests but especially for our locals. An off season staycation is just what is needed sometimes to excape the crazy winter weather we have been having!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 103 in Ocean City
2,178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 103 in Ocean City
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing