We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun in a good location - in room wifi is "iffy".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Sciota, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family fun in a good location - in room wifi is "iffy".”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We took a chance on this resort when a groupon appeared and booked a total of 4 rooms for a family get together - 6 adults and 6 kids. This resort is on the main road leading into the Ocean City boardwalk and about a mile away from the boardwalk - in season it offers a shuttle to the beach/boardwalk. The grounds are large and well maintained. There is a mini-golf course, a play ground area and a volleyball court. There is also an outdoor pool and spray park that are open in season, as well as an outdoor grill and pavilion.The main lodge has a room where they show movies and provide free popcorn, you can also "rent a movie" (its free) to play in your room. Our rooms had two double beds with memory foam mattresses, a mini fridge, a flat screen TV, and were quite spacious and clean. I found the beds to be very comfortable, my nephew didn't like them. The indoor pool was quite large and, while very nice, it is the reason I did not give this resort an excellent rating -either it is over chlorinated (to the point of making your eyes burn even when you are just sitting poolside) or they need better air filtration in that area. Also, the first day we were there they ran out of towels and the second day, when we arrived, they were out of towels. When I inquired with an employee she told us they had been out for a couple of hours and didn't know when they would be getting more - she didn't make any effort to obtain towels for us. I finally called the front desk from my cell phone and, to the resorts credit, towels arrived fairly quickly after that. So why couldn't the employee do the same????

The poolside snack bar has a decent menu and drinks for the adults - prices were reasonable compared to most poolside venues - I purchased 5 specialty drinks(mudslides and others that contained several alcohols) and a corona for $39, a price unheard of at most poolside bars.

The resort advertises wifi and, in the main lodge, it worked great for us. In our rooms, which were in the Virginia Building, the wifi was awful. It constantly booted you off and, if you were lucky enough to stay connected, it was incredibly slow - it took nearly 20 minutes to download a game from the google play store to my tablet - at home the same download would tale about 20 seconds. This was a problem for my niece as she was expecting to be able to work from her room at night while her son slept and was unable to. So, if you are a telecommuter either plan on working from the main lodge or bring your own connection.

Overall, if you are traveling with kids, this is a great place to stay. If you are not traveling with kids, and you don't mind being around them, you should also consider this resort as it is clean and in a great locaton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reb859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for such a great overview. One issue is our WIFI which we are in the beginning process of an upgrade sue by end of May. Guests will have much better room access for email and web searches though streaming will not be supported. We are a family resort but love all our groups that come.....

Thanks Again for writing
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    310
    83
    42
    33
See reviews for
812
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our rooms were clean, a little musty smelling but it was obvious the buildings were old. It wasn't horrible to the point where we couldn't stand it, and we got used to the weird smell after a while. I used to work in a hotel so I tend to hold my cleaning standards pretty high (always check the sheets and the covers to make sure they are clean!), and I have to say that I was content with the cleanliness of the room. The staff was very friendly at check in and check out. We didn't have any issues there. Keep in mind that the pool doesn't open until later in the day, which is fine as long as you realize in advance. There is plenty to do to keep the kiddos occupied until then! But once that pool opens, expect to be there a while! My son didn't want to leave! It was a fun time. He loved the slide and being in the pool- of course, there's always that one group of kids whose parents aren't paying attention and they run wild and rough. Just pay attention to your kids in the pool and all will be well. If we had more time, we would have stayed longer. It's close enough to the main drag in Ocean City. When we return, we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. As we are coming into the spring season re-opening 100 of our 232 guest rooms we have at times a bit of a musty smell to contend with while we are spring cleaning. It should never have impacted our guests and I apologize. Our pool hours are shortened during the off season because we are so much slower....once we hit summer time all gears go! We hope to see you all again soon!


Thank You
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nasty, carper was old and stained and nasty. The bathrooms were horrible the sheets were stained. Not to mentiom someone over top of us was running and falling all night long in which I called at 11pm to front desk to complain. The room smelled like mildew and smoke. There were ants all over. I had to keep spraying my Victoria Secret spray just to kill the odor in room but that didnt help. Everytime we took a shower the tub filled up. This place was horrible and dirty
It needs to be shut down and torn down. They need to build all new.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Missjay324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Our General Manager has already responded to this guest and we have issued a full house credit for a future stay for their issues during their stay. This is the first we have heard of the ants or the tub not draining. We have contacted our Pest control company and we have the room out of service so our maintenance staff can look at the draining of the tub. We are in the process of steam cleaning our carpets in all 232 rooms which we do throughout the year. The carpet in the Maryland building where this guest stayed was replaced in 2011 and will be replaced this coming winter for 2015. All of our guest linen is cleaned and ready for every check in. It was a very busy spring break week and it was exciting to see so many families out and about throughout the property. Our goal is to satisfy all of out guests and when we do not re try and rectify to the best of our ability. We are proud of our property and will continue to strive to give a good value.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurlock, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our rooms were neat and clean. Front desk friendly and effective. Not real fancy , but very sufficient . Pools were clean. Good pizza and hotdogs. main restaurant was closed for the winter.
I can say the food was great when it was Marlin Moon , not sure what its called now. We all had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are do glad that the kids had a great time. Our Rt 50 Diner is open during the summer season! The wonderful Marlin Moon that used to be here is now open in Jacksonville Florida! We hope that we will have the opportunity to show your kids a great time again in the future!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family and I stayed here and we were disappointed. The indoor pool didnt open til noon. Pool was so dirty. Rooms were not that clean. Diner was not even open to eat. So loud. Walls are paper thin. We will never come here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are disappointed that this family did not perceive our property as a value. During spring break week our rates averaged $86 per night. Is it true that our indoor pool hours (which we have posted on our website since January 1st and detail in our confirmation letters) were from noon to 8pm on the weekdays and from 10am to 10pm on the weekend. We also allow our guests to pre-register early on their arrival day and use our indoor pool on their checkout day until 6pm as we have showers and changing facilities at the Caribbean Key. We had the pleasure of hosting hundreds of families this past spring break and the pool was very busy and our General Manager spent most of her week overseeing the facility. We do call arounds to our arrival rooms to make sure that thery are satisified when checked in. In the future no matter where you choose to stay please let the staff know if you have and concerns or issues. It is our true and honest intent to give every family a good value in a clean and comfortable guest room and many times if we are notified we can fix any issues on our end. We do hope this family enjoyed their time together and made some Ocean City memories while they were here.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvin, pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband bought a special on Groupon for in March and I thought what are we going to do in the cold! We didn't arrive till 10pm and the desk clerk was still waiting on us. They close early in the off season and since we'd booked thru Groupon, they didn't have our phone number. The resort was exceptional and we'd definitely return. We upgraded to the kitchenette and loved being able to get up and make our own breakfast. Our room was clean, the beds were fantastic and the room was very nicely laid out, the staff was nice and while the restaurant wasn't open for the season, we were close to enough restaurants that were open. It's a mile from the OC strip so you just have to drive across the bridge. Keep in mind if you go this time of the year, OC is extremely quiet. The resort is in the middle of OC, Assateague and right across the road from outlets and lots of stores around. It got to around 60 degrees on Saturday so lots of shops were open on the boardwalk. The pool at the resort was really nice. They have lots of things for kids to do. While I don't know if I'd return in March, we loved the resort and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Florida condo's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kisefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank your for your review... Yes March can be a unique time to travel in Ocean City. It can be sunny flip flop weather or ear muff snow storms. It was a key factor when we decided to build the indoor pool in 2005. This was our first time using Groupon and we have be introduced to a new audience and we are so grateful!

We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our first time stayiong at the FSK Family resort. My family had a nice time despite a few bumps in the road.
Pros:
Very family oriented
Lots to do from mini golf, pool, playground etc
Movies at night in the main building (loved this, not only did it get us out of the room at night but also added to the "family feel")
The indoor pool is great! My kids LOVED it!
A short ride to the boardwalk
The hotel is right across the street from the Tanger outlets and there are many restaurants in the area.
About 20 minutes after arriving we got a welcome call from the front desk asking if everything was ok.

Cons:
Ok the room...I know there are mixed reviews. If you are looking for modern or fancy, this is not the place for you. The rooms are quaint and "homey" We had a room with a kitchen which was very useful. Yes, like other review we did have a few bugs while we were there (spiders and such) But at a beach resort I wasn't turned off by this. The bath would fill up everytime we took a shower. Also if you want your sheets changed make sure you ask for them! We left a nice tip on the dresser because we felt bad that my son got a cut and bled on the sheet) Lo and behold same sheets were on that night. We later saw a sign that read sheets are only changed every 3 days unless you ask...every 3 days!
As for the pool, the first day it was perfect! The second day was a little more crowded and FREEZING then I noticed a lot of the slidong glass doors were open! This is maybe what some of the other reviews were talking about? When I asked the lifguard if we could close the ones right behind the shallow baby section he immediaetly closed them....only to be opened again by another guest a few minutes later...grrrr Not the hotels fault, but they shouldn't be allowed to stay open when its only 58 degrees outside.
Last but not least, if your child has asthma or allergies shower right after the pool. Our last night we ended our vacation with a trip to the Emergency room where my son was treated with albuterol. He was coughing and wheezing. The DR. said that places like this have such heavy amounts of chlorine that it can irritate the upper resp system. Again not really the hotels fault at all (I'm sure all public pools use the same amount) just not really the way we planned our last night :(
All in all my family had a great time, not sure I would come back in the off season though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank your for your honest comments. I will touch on a couple of the issues this guest encountered. We do at times have guests that will open the sliders at the indoor pool and it will impact the air temperature. Guests that are not swimming tend to find the 84 degree temperature warm and do not realize how this impacts our swimmers. As far as the chorine levels in the pool, we blow our whistle every two hours to check chemicals as our load levels fluxuate. As a parent with a child with allergies we are sensitive to the reactions but we follow the protocal required. We, as most hotels do, only change our sheets every three days and each check out of course. We do this to conserve water/ energy but we will gladly change them daily is asked. It is true we are not modern or fancy but we do offer Temperpedic Mattresses in every guest room as we believe a good nights rest is important, all guest room furniture is less then three years old, all rooms have flat screen TVs and DVD players. We have ordered new bedding for 80 guest rooms for May of this year and we will be updating our walls and carpet in the next three to five rooms for all 232 rooms. As a property built in 1952 we are dedicated to improving every year, adding new amenities and at the same time keeping our pricing affordable for our families.

We hope that you will return when all our amenites are open in the summer!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 103 in Ocean City
2,065 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,092 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing