We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francis Scott Key Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband, son and I spent a few days of spring break here. This place is so awesome for families, you almost don't need to leave the property. The rooms are nicely done and comfortable. The pool is everything. While the kids are playing, mom and dad can mosey over to the snack counter (which is also a bar!) for some lovely adult refreshment. In the same activities building there is a nice exercise room and a small arcade. The main building hosts free movies for kids (grown-ups can sit in, too) every evening, with complimentary popcorn. There are some outdoor activities such as mini golf and volleyball but since it was rather cold during our stay, no one was out. The staff were all sweet and helpful. LOVE.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Carolinas or Florida buildings if you want to be closest to the activities bui...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobraswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

What a great review. Thank you for making us a part of your spring break tradition. It is actually beginning to feel like spring weather so hopefully we will see you all again so you can enjoy our outdoor amenties!

Thanks for writing!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Francis Scott Key Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Their indoor pool is awesome for families with kids of all ages and perfect for when the weather is not idea for the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were very clean and nice! And the prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonP240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Our indoor pool has been a wonderful escape for this past winter...that won't seem to leave! We hope your family returns when all of our outdoor amenties are open and in full swing!


Thank you
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel was the "sponsor" hotel for the Ocean City half marathon. Usually sponsor hotels have some events for the race and at the least shuttles that take runners to the start. However, we checked in and realized that was not the case. There were no events associated with the race, it was a few miles from the start, and the stay was an overall disappointment. The room was clean enough but not updated (as the website indicated). The price was "discounted" for runners but our friends stayed at a hotel on the beach and close to the start of the race for cheaper than we paid for our room. The walls were so thin that we could hear conversations of the people in the room on both sides of us.
On the positive side, the woman who was doing the housekeeping each day was very nice and always checked to see if we needed anything. It is right across the street from the outlets so going to shop was easy. There seemed to be a lot of activities for children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cthor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

The Francis Scott Key has been a supporter of the OC marathon for several years. It is true that in years past we used to hold the packet pick up here, let the event use our shuttle and even hosted a post race event. As the event has grown dramatically in size we could no longer accomodate the number of participants for a post race event or even packet pick up. Because we support the race we will aways offer discounted rates for this event. We did not claim to hold any events here and we were listed on their website along with other hotels that offered discounts. As far as our rooms are concerned we are an affordable (race rates this year were $79 standard rate and $92 with a kitchen) clean property in which we focus on family. All of our rooms have Tempurpedic mattresses, furniture that is within three years old and nearly half our rooms have kitchens. We always strive to give our guests a great value and we appreciate our guests giving us that opportunity. When are guests are disappointed...so are we. I wish we were a perfect fit for every guest and we will continue to try and achieve that goal.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We used a groupon to take our 6 year old here for spring break (April 2014). We got a room with a kitchenette and reserved another room for family and their 8 year old.

The good:

*The indoor pool area was quite warm. It goes from a few inches to 4 feet deep, so it is a great play area for younger children.
*The staff person running the concession area at the pool is very pleasant and hard working. *They offer alcohol for the parents. The food and drink is reasonably priced. ($1.50 for a slice of pizza.)
*They offer free movies to take to your room and show recent movies (Frozen; Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2) in a big theatre room with free popcorn at 4pm and 8pm.
*There is a Starbucks and two (dive) diners withing walking distance.
*The room was clean and the kitchenette was stocked with basics to make cooking easy, thus lowering costs.
*The beach is about 1 miles away.
*There is a "quiet" rule after 11pm.
*They have volleyball and minigolf but the weather was too bad for us to use these.

The not so good:

*The chlorine in the pool is VERY strong. (At least you know there is some in there.)
*Most of the free movies were already rented out when we were there.
*The theatre room for the movies at 4pm and 8pm was VERY crowded and there was a group of about 10 girls ages about 8 -12 who were very loud taking through the entire movie while sitting up front. No parent or staff member did anything about it and we did not go to another movie there atter that. It was just too unpleasant. That would be simple to solve with some rules/rule enforcement on behavior of the kids.
*The coffee machine has no coffee filters. They supply prepacked coffee pods. If you want to make "real" coffee, bring your own basket style coffee filters (or walk to the Starbucks next door).
*The walls are very thin and if you get noisy teenagers next to you....you'll hear EVERYTHING they do - until 11pm when you can complain and they will be quieted or kicked out.
*The wifi in the rooms was very slow - most likely because of all the kids trying to play games.

Overall, it was very good for what we wanted - a place near the beach where our 6 year old could swim even if the weather was cold/rainy (which it was). We would stay here with her again and recommend it for anyone with a young child who likes the pool...if you don't mind a "summer camp" atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMSD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We had a very positive response to our Groupon and we enjoyed many new families. Our spring break this year felt like summertime with the number of families on property. We check our chlorine levels every two hours and keep our pool at the required levels. We did have large crowds at both the indoor pool and during our movie times. We have over 75 movies for guests to check out for free and we offer DVD players in each guest room. Usually our families monitor their children and I apologize for any loud chatter during the movie. The WIFI is currently being upgraded.... we can at times have over 500 devices trying to log on at any time to we are trying to bridge that gap. We know our guests have many choices when picking where to stay and we thank you for thinking of us!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay with kids. We mostly stayed in the indoor pool area from open to close. The life guard was great with the kids he interacted with them. Kids did like the golf. My only complaints are no microwave in the rooms and beds should be bigger. We got a pizza from the pool bar and had left overs but had no way to reheat it so it went to waste.

We will be returning next year for spring break again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for writing your review. It is true our standard rooms do not have microwaves but we do have 80 rooms with full kitchens including the microwave. They typically run $10 to $15 more per night. We also have microwaves for guest use in our guest laundry room located in the middle of our property.

We hope that we see you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have taken my children to this resort for the past 11 years. We kind of "raised" our children on this resort. If we decide to go to Ocean City, Maryland for an extended weekend or spring break vacation, this is the place we book. Its a no-brainer for us. This is the first place we look to check for availability.
Some of the attractions: a pirate-themed ship water area, an indoor pirate-themed pool with slides, volleyball and jacuzzi. It has kid friendly movie nights; mini golf, basketball courts and other amenities. In my honest opinion, it is the only TRUE family resort in the area. And it is located conveniently in the middle of restaurants, outlets stores, and just minutes from the inlets. The front desk is amazingly friendly and the staff takes very good care of their customers. It is a must to stay at. The only downfall for now is the 50's diner is not open until summer and wifi comes and goes but is free.

Room Tip: Please check the website for the desired room your looking for.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for allowing us to be part of your family memories this past decade! We are always in planning mode and will we are planning to replace our outdoor pool and mini golf with a new outdoor pool golf area called ShipWreck Cove for 2015. It is true our WIFI has not met the demands of our technical families and we are in the process of a major update to be completed the end of May/ first week of June!

Thanks for taking the time to write!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just came back from a short stay at this resort and had a great time. This was our first time going to Ocean City and I wanted to book a good family friendly spot in a convenient location that was reasonably priced. This resort won because of the reviews and the indoor water park and I have to say I'm very glad we chose this resort.

The resort itself is about a 2 minute drive from the Boardwalk and located right across from the Tanger Outlets and numerous eateries. Our room was in the Virginia section and although it could have afforded a little updating I have to say it was extremely clean and comfortable. The mattresses are Temperpedic and were very comfortable to sleep on. The room was cleaned very well every day and the refrigerator inside was a big plus.

The best part for us since we went "off peak" when the weather was not as warm as summer was the indoor water park. Our kids had a blast playing there and the water park was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly and they also provided life vests and goggles for the little kids. The food bar there was also great. The food and drinks were very good and priced very reasonably.

The resort has free mini gold and also offered movie night in the lounge area. We will definitely be booking another vacation here in the summer time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We love that you enjoyed your stay. The off season has been a challenging one weather wise this year and I know we are all looking forward to warmer weather. We hope to see your family again thi summer!

Thank you for your kind words!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,219 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,497 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £72 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing