We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cliffside Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

First time in Ocean City!! FSK resort was suggested by my sister in law who has been here 2 summers in a row with her little ones ages 2,4,10. The place is great- as far as location, amenities and environment! Guest services are very helpful and nice. My 8 yr old twins loved the outdoor and indoor pool. We enjoyed movies in room free of charge and of course the shuttle to the boardwalk! The plus to all this was the bed--- very comfy after a long day of fun in the sun!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yari75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so glad the FSK was a hit! The family movie is a great way to wind down after a day at the beach. The Tempurpedic Mattress is a great nights sleep!

Thank you for writing,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    304
    82
    39
    33
See reviews for
793
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville Md.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great indoor waterpark and pool for small kids. Basic Put Put, and nice pool, volley ball, and playground.
Free Shuttle to boardwalk is great feature.
Great location just out of town.
Diner on site, with great breakfast and lunch food.
Will go back soon.

Room Tip: corner suites have large rooms with 2 full beds and 1 sofa, fridge, no microwave in the one we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhahn20012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are thankful that we have such awesome guests. We will see you again soon!


Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I rate F.S.K. a 4.5 out of 5 and recommend it to all !!Good location, relaxing, camp-like
atmosphere, yet only a 2 minute drive to beach.
Ranch-style buildings are closer to main entrance, quieter location, easy access, and of course no stairs needed. If you plan on driving around the area, there are several ways in/out of resort (traffic). Gas station, restaurants close by.
===================
1. Arrived at 11:55pm
Hotel desk clerk, louise: knew what she was doing, explained everything in a polite manner, very friendly. (you are given a wrist-band to wear during your stay….the resort is extensive so they need to keep track of legitimate guests).
2. Room 402 (ranch house style): 2 dbl beds, very clean, furniture in excellent shape and decorative, plenty of extra towels/washcloths, bed linen was impressive and clean, bed mattress was temprr-pedic memory foam(i slept better than at home), normal pillows, but there were 4 per bed…nice to see for a change. Lighting was good, plus a ceiling light w/fan. Overall, created a nice cottage feeling.
Carpeting was clean and had nice padding. Shower and bathroom put a damper on what would have been a top notch rating-------shower was over-sized(nice), clean, had a hand-held shower unit, operated fine, shower curtain was clean…….but there was no soap dish….what an oversite as far as i am concerned. Side-note: shower curtain rod was the kind you would buy at walmart for $10……c’mon F.S.K. !! Also, i suggest the owners should have cut down on the size of the shower to allow for some vanity top space…..none in the bathroom!! Coffee pot was stocked well(no decaf ?....shame on you f.s.k), but the worst part was that it was not plugged in and the cord was too short to reach any outlet from where it was place (on top of frig). Even if it the cord was slightly longer, i would have had to move the dresser to plug it in. This turned out to be no big deal since there were plenty of other outlets in the room….just had to re-locate the coffee pot.
Nice 3ft round table and two chairs. Windows(2 in room, 1 in bathroom) were in good shape with 2” vinyl slats.
Aircondtioner was great, no problems.
3. Indoor pool was as good as pictured on web site.
4. The 50’s style diner in the main building served us a decent breakfast in a great atmosphere for a good price.
5. Bonus: F.S.K. runs their own (2) bus shuttle bus to the boardwalk on a regular basis every 10 min (and that’s all i had to wait), of course depending on traffic and ‘draw-bridge’ use…. As only route to boardwalk is across the bay bridge.
Did i mention that we used the shuttle server “after” we had checked out? Yes, F.S.K. will let you use any of their facilities up to 6pm of checkout day as long as have your i.d. band on….this was perfect for us because the previous 2 days of our stay were not fit for beach/boardwalk enjoyment….hurricane ‘arthur’ was off the coast….so naturally the weather turned ‘perfect’ on our checkout day.
Thanks to F.S.K. policy, we enjoyed a wonderful few hours on the boardwalk. !!! Way to go F.S.K. !!!
Overall i liked my room at f.s.k…..nice feeling….that, plus the friendly and knowledgable staff was enough for me to overlook the few negative items i mentioned earlier. Familys will definitely get their moneys-worth !
Oh! And the free wi-fi worked just fine.
I rate F.S.K. a 4.5 out of 5 and recommend it to all !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
WOW... what a great overview. I have noted the constructive items listed for our September managers meeting. We are always looking for ways to improve and we do listen to our guests. The extended day came from our guests that had to cut their vacations days short.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conowingo, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the very best place we could have stayed in OC with children. We took four grandchildren ages from 7-13. We never had to leave the premises. They had a choice of indoor or outdoor pools - both were great, but the indoor pool had a pirate theme and slides for the kids too. There was putt putt golf, movies in the evening, a big pirate ship with water slides and cannons that squirted water. Snowball stands, ice cream and food facilities readily available. Every family we met was nice as well as the staff. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. We could not have asked for more. Last year, we spent more money staying at a hotel and transporting the kids to water rides and putt putt. We saved more and the kids have memories they will cherish forever. Thanks for everything, Francis Scott Key Family Resort! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We got a end unit. Only had neighbors on one side, but there were no noisy neighbors here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
WOW! Thank you. It makes me smile to think we had a positive part of family memories. We may not be perfect but we are dedicated to trying to be the best we can! We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a wonderful time as always My grandchildren never want to leave The staff is great and there is always a fun activity we go at least twice a year. we especially like the water park and spray park We are looking forward to the renovations we undrrstand are taking place over the winter we add are looking forward to coming back soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyvan1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Nothing is better then seeing generations of families together making memories...That is what it is all about! I can't wait for the Shipwreck Cove seeing our guests enjoy the new pool!

See you next summer
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first time staying here. Had heard many good things. Very clean and friendly staff. Lots of things for the kids to do while the parents relax. Have activities planned for rainy days. Shuttle service to the beach/boardwalk was great. Never had to wait long for the next shuttle to arrive. Have rooms and cabins to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We are so blessed that our number one marketing is our repeat guests. A huge thank you to all who recommend the Francis Scott Key! It is our biggest compliment!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

As previous condo renters we really found a jewel here in OC!. Great facility with lots of amenities. Had mild weather during our stay and it was great to have the capabilities of opening the windows. Beds were fabulous with the temper pedic mattresses! A great family resort with lots of activities for kids and wonderful that the shuttle takes one to the beach which is a great amenity. Staff both at the front desk and in the restaurant were very friendly and courteous. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We are working hard to try and give our guests a variety of amenities to enjoy. We are excited about our the Shipwreck cove swimming pool that will be replacing our outdoor pool for 2015. Thank you for choosing Ocean City to vacation and the Francis Scott Key as your family resort!

We hope to see you again soon!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing