We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful motel!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We had a wonderful time at the motel. So many things to do! The girls loved being able to get a board game or movie while waiting for us to get things around. The water park is great. My teenage daughter also enjoyed just playing volleyball or ping-pong. Our housekeeper was excellent. Your staff was very helpful and even remembered us as we came to get a game or movie. My main concern was the lifeguards in the water park. The girl lifeguards seemed more interested in their nails or talking. The boys were very alert. I pulled a little boy above water and was thanked from his parents. (A girl life guard busy with her nails) The next day I witnessed another little boy under water but the boy lifeguard was on top of it and got him out safely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationmomof3Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

We love getting positive comments and we also learn so much when constructive comments are made. We take our lifeguard training very seriously at the Francis Scott Key and your comments were addressed as soon as we saw the post. Our guest safety is a number one priority and I was disappointed by what you witnessed. I am pleased that your family enjoyed our family atmosphere and the amenities that we offer. Please stop in and see me during your next visit as I would love to see if your experience with our lifeguards was much improved!

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

This is the perfect place to bring a family. The facility is clean. the people are amazing. There are so many things to do there is no reason to leave and go in town. The indoor pool is amazing. The pirate ship is hours of fun. The shuttle is awesome. the longest i waited was less than 5 minutes. I can't say enough good things about this place. I will continue to take my family there for years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanstrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

Thank you or your comments. Now that we run our two shuttles constantly from 9am to 10pm it has become on of our guests favorite amenities. We thank you for you decision to stay with us as we know you have choices. We will continue to strive to make our property a fun family destination!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This was our first trip to OC after years at Myrtle Beach. I am very glad we chose to stay at FSK after reading the reviews and agree wholeheartedly with the positives mentioned: great value, quiet and clean resort, super shuttle service, and very nice indoor pool (my 8 yr old and 1 and half year old were there every evening and did not want to leave!) and for us, a super location away from the bustling boardwalk. We had a great time staying here and will definitely be back in the future. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

Thank you for writing. Our extended shuttles hours have been a huge hit! The indoor pool is a center of our amenities and we love to hear stories of our guests enjoying their time there. We are thankful you choose the Francis Scott Key and Ocean City MD. We look forward to your next stay!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We just returned from FSK and thought it was a great deal. We have a 4 year old and a 4 month old and were not sure what to expect as this was the first time staying at FSK. Our 4 year old loved the resort. He could have stayed at the indoor pool the entire time we were there. Unfortunately, the Ohio Building does not seem to have sound proof walls. We could hear our neighbors both upstairs and beside us all the time. It got to the point that our 4 month old would wake up from the neighbor's noise not his 4 year old brother's noise. Also, the breakfast was pretty cheap and we were not offered trays to take back to the room for the coffee and tea we so desparately needed to wake up from the noisy neighbors. BUT we thought overall the resort was PERFECT for our family and we would stay again but in a cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaOCVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

Thank you for your comments. We are very excited as next year we will offer a full breakfast lunch and dinner - diner style. This will allow our guests the sit down breakfast that we have been hearing they want. We are also adding convention / lounge space for groups and for our guests to enjoy. As far as noise is concerned I apologize. We do at times have issues with noise and we are strict with our "quiet hours" but it is an issue we will discuss this winter with our co-workers to see how we can improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We booked rooms at the Francis Scott Key Family Resort after reading the impressive reviews on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad we did! The resort sits right on Ocean Gateway, just a mile from the hustle-and-bustle of the Boardwalk, but it feels like a campground in the middle of the woods! It's cozy and quiet and spans more than 13 acres! We stayed in the lodge with a room facing Ocean Gateway. Amazingly, we heard absolutely no street noise at all. We were never bothered by the noise of guests in nearby rooms -- we couldn't even hear other showers running, which is usually a real annoyance. The activities for kids (and adults) are fabulous -- we took advantage of just about everything. Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is the shuttle. We went from hotel to Boardwalk in just minutes and could come and go as we pleased all day long! No traffic, no driving, just a relaxing jaunt with friendly, helpful bus drivers. The housekeeping staff filled our room with towels folded into animal shapes. The entire staff was exceptional. We will stay here on our next trip to OC, and we highly recommend FSK to other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFetzerFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our property has that family campground kind of feeling. What a compliment as my children love that atmosphere as well. Our goal is to make our guest experience the best it can be! Thanks for taking the time to write!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

fsk is the best motel to stay, shuttle bus is so conveint. the staff is all so very nice ! rooms are clean ... & affordable ... close to the beach , but not in the rutt of everything !! high recomenened

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach_bumm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

We are looking forward to your next stay. It makes our day when we make our guests vacation a memorable one! Thanks for taking the time to write!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

traveled with softball team. the shuttle bus was great for girls to go to beach. Bad weather they played in indoor pool. the girls played volley ball at the court. I think they had to much fun, didn't do to well at softball.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2009

We hope that we see your team again soon! Our shuttle service has become one of guests favorite amenities. What started out years ago with one shuttle going every four hours is now two shuttles running none stop from 9am to 10pm. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £66 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing