We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, excellent check in staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, excellent check in staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here 14 years ago, the room we had this weekend is the same now as it was then, (needs some updating)other then that we are having a ball, my only complaint is I had to leave the pool due to chlorine odor, I think they have either too much or need better ventilation. Will return and recommended to others! As we are locals now :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooperms1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the FSK Family Resort. Welcome as Ocean City locals!! I did pass on the information to our Caribbean Key pool staff. We are always trying to improve our property but we are a work in progress. We look forward to seeing you family again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    304
    82
    39
    33
See reviews for
793
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have been staying at FSK for a few years now and absolutely love it. I have a young son that looks forward to all the fabulous amenities; pirate ship spray ground, indoor pool, peg leg putt putt and everything else every year! The recent addition of the Route 50 diner was a great idea and they have amazing food. Everyone at FSK are nice and helpful for the most part.
My only complaint in the years of staying with last year we had a tub that got clogged and even after asking for it to be looked at, it never was. However, everything else makes up for that.
Will be staying there again for years to come and have recommended it to all my friends (many of which have ended up trying FSK and loving it).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thanks for your great review. We are busy this winter inspecting every room and we are getting excited to see our summer families. We just enjoyed our guest appreciation Month in January and it was wonderful seeing so many of our return guests. Our best compliment is word of mouth so a sincere Thank You!

See you soon,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

My family had an awesome time. FSK is truly focused on family values. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Family Fun is number One here at the FSK. Thanks for taking the time to write and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carbon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

My husband, myself, and our 5 children (ages 16,11,6,3,>1) stayed here overnight for our family vacation.. we were sad to leave! I honestly dont think i will stay at another hotel in OCMD again! There are soo many things for children to do. My younger daughters really enjoyed the sprayground, i couldnt get them to leave! And our older two children really enjoyed the indoor pool, put put, and arcade. I cant wait until this year to go back and stay longer! The only disadvantage is we requested a ground floor room because of the baby and all the things we needed to tote, and we didnt get it, and we also requested early check in, we didnt get that either. We did have to wait an hour after check in to get into our room. The hotel resturant food is superb. But for a family who thrives off different foods, its mainly a burger resturant. Ive already reccomended this hotel to numerous friends and one has already booked.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Party0f7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay. We aim to make our kids feel that this is their home away from home and with kids of different ages that can be a challenge! Please contact us when you know your dates as our first floor 6 person rooms book fast. Though we do offer an early pre-registration sometimes we can't get the rooms completed earlier then our 3pm check in time....it is a priority for our housekeeping staff!! We look forward to your next FSK experience...

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest HIll, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

I have given this resort a favorable review before. We were due to stay two nights in January 2011 while our children were off school. Reviewing my confirmation I realized that the pool is closed Monday-Thursday during the off season. We were staying Sunday night and Monday night to avoid the crowd on the weekends. When I realized the pool issue, I cancelled our reservations. Speaking to the general manager, she refused to refund all of my deposit even with over three weeks notice and the reason I was canceling was because they could not accomodate us. Great place and usually great service but beware of the pool hours on the off -season.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank para522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thanks for your honest comments. In the off season winter months we are so slow on weekdays that we do limit our pool hours as we don't have the guests in house. We are open when school holidays fall on weekdays but again it may be limited hours. We have our pool hours posted on our website and also on the confirmation letter. We need to make sure our co-workers communicate this properly during the reservation process. We do charge a $10 processing fee when reservations are cancelled due to credit card fees. Please contact me if you would like further discussion...we value your business.

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

FSK was recommended to my family by a friend who had vacationed there numerous times. We stayed for the 1st time on New Years Eve 2010--just one night-- and were drawn by the Caribbean indoor pool. The woman at check-in was friendly, and helpful in guiding us to local restaurants. Our room was in the Florida building, cozy and dated in decor but clean and well-equipped. The mattress was a new Tempure-pedic. We stayed only one night & didn't use the kitchenette, but it appeared to be well stocked with cookware, utensils and full-size fridge and small dining table/area. The indoor pool was located next to the Florida building with a short walk outside and had an arcade & vending machines. The pool was very busy but had plenty of lounge chairs and tables and the kids had a blast! The water was clean and the air was actually breathable (as opposed to some other indoor pools where the chlorine burns you eyes) and was lifeguard-staffed our entire visit. There was a hot-tub, small water slide, volleyball net and other water attractions and the pool decor was very welcoming. The only minor complaints during our visit would be: alot of light comes thru the blinds at night, the room was very warm (the heat worked too well & we just couldn't get the temp down enough to be comfortable) and it was noisy--FSK has "quiet time" posted in the rule book but being New Years Eve, I don't think it was enforced. We would definitely stay here again & recommend; the property appeared well-maintained, had outside pool and sprayground, a picnic pavilion, a restaurant on-site & whole bunch of other amenities we weren't able to use because of being off-season. It seems very family-friendly and there are a variety of places to eat & shop in close driving distance. The drawback is that FSK is located about a mile from the boardwalk/beach but that could also be an advantage depending how you look at it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b4bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for your review...we used to have room darkening curtains in our rooms and we replaced them this year with the new blinds...we have had some complaints and we will re-visit that issue. We are located about one mile from the beach and boardwalk but in the summer we run 2 shuttles from 9am to 10pm. Free and convenient for easy beach and boardwalk fun. We hope to see your family this summer!

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We must love it or we wouldn't have been back 14 times in 11 years. We've been there in February, September and even October when they have the auto show at the Convnetion Center. But I don't recommend that with young childen because you can't get anywhere near the Boardwalk. Kitchenettes are a great way to save a little money by preparing your own meals. Food Lion is only a few blocks away. Plenty of fast food and restaurants if you like eating out. But the FSK itself, has kiddie pool, indoor and outdoor pool, volleyball court, basketball hoops, put put mini golf, and the shuttle is a God send. It runs at least every hour to and from the Boardwalk. Saving you headahes and gas. Not to mention parking fees. It's close to shopping;{ across route 50}, and the marina is not far away either.
Great place for a family get-away and after so many stays, and we're going back again.We even travel to the NASA flight center in Wallops Island, VA. and on down to Chincotegue to have lunch at Mr. Baldy's. Oh, and Assateague Island where the wild horses are is just south on route 611. That is something to see.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thanks so much for your review. We are centered around the family and we are always trying to build from that core. We have found that our families enjoy their time here just enjoying the amenties and making Maryland Memories! We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing