We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“watch the bird in the lobby”
Review of Plim Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plim Plaza Hotel
Ranked #81 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
maryland
1 review
“watch the bird in the lobby”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My husband and i stayed at plim plaza,it was very nice had a great time but there was one bad thing that went wrong the bird they have in the lobby who they allso let out in the bar area bit my arm and drew blood someone was taking pictures and i got a copy of what the bird did to me.My arm still hurts im tring to get intouch with the manager of the motel so i can send him a copy of the picture i have .So I'll keep you informened of what happenes .Toni From Maryland

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank tlc2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    87
    80
    41
    101
See reviews for
138
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I have never stayed at a place so gross. We went there with our 3 children and would not allow them to take their shoes off in the room. The first room we were given smelled like smoke (non smoking room by the way) so we switched to a different room and it smelled like garbage. The room was extremely small. The mirror was cracked in the bathroom, the bathtub was filthy, the window in the bathroom would not close so we heard the noise from the boardwalk all night long. The shower was freezing cold and then switched to burning hot so my kids cried the whole time they took showers. The comforter had blood stains and burn marks on it. We could not open the window to get any fresh air in the room because we were afraid the kids were going to fall out. The hallway was filthy, the pool area was full of locals. We actually left a day early because we could not stay there any longer. We will most certainly not be going back there next year. I think any place would have been better than the Plim Plaza.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammertimehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Lititz, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2008

It was my sons and mine vacation here and we have stayed in a wide range of hotels and motels in the last couple of years. This was something new, Nice wide windows opening up to a stucko wall, but if you moved to the side enough you could see the beach. The room was very tiny, I asked for two beds just to make sure we had a big room. It wasn't big at all. Very damp, everything was damp. Smell wasn't so bad, lol. Bring a candle. you get what you pay for right, but for this price you should get more. Upside was the pool, bar and front rocking chairs very nice. Way to give the customers a treat for thier stay. One thing would be at the pool, guests should come first then who ever walks in to snag all the chairs and be rude(locals). Yes we had to park a couple of blocks away but that was after the hotel workers helped and took our bags to our room. Truck never left that parking lot the whole time. awesome thought huh? Everything was close.

  • Liked — pool, pool bar, rocking chairs, location of being on the boardwalk
  • Disliked — dampness in the room, same linens the whole weekend
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank etchasketch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We had an Ocean front Queen room. The room was small, the bed was terrible but the view was awesome. I took a plug in air freshner to help the smell. I suggest you do the same. Parking was very limited and the 20 minute unloading spots had cars in them they didn't move the entire time we were there. The pool was nice until Saturday when folks rolled in that weren't guests of the hotel. At noon it was standing room only and the pool was really crowded. There was a group of people standing in the pool by the stairs drinking, swearing, humping the girls they were with and several other gestures not appropriate for children or the other guests for that matter. These folks were in street clothes and I feel like something should have been said to them.

There is a sign at the Tiki bar that says the pool is for guests only. What a joke! People were walking in all afternoon and using the pool and lounge chairs that were not staying there. We heard a couple complaining that had a 7 yr old girl that left. I understand things are going to be a different, after all it's a pool bar. But there is no room for the guests that put up with the short comings of the hotel to enjoy the pool and now you can't even enjoy that for all of the locals and people walking in off the street.

My husband and I went on to the beach and enjoyed the ocean. We came back around 5pm thinking the crowd would thin out and it had so we decided to go for a swim. Then someone pointed out there was feces in the pool. Several people took a dive down to view the turd and confirmed it was indeed poop. I observed a couple of people that made a waitress and the guy with the straw hat that handles the bird and cleans up around the pool aware of the feces in the pool. The straw hat guy left and did nothing. The waitress thought it was funny and told other staff members which also got a laugh. Needless to say we didn't take a swim. We finished our drink and went on our way. The front desk staff were very nice. We will go back for the location and hopefully next year if enough people complain they will restrict the pool and lounge chairs for the guests. That sign hotel guests only past this point is a real sore subject with us. This is not a family friendly hotel when they allow people to conduct themselves the way they did in the pool.

  • Liked — Location of the hotel and the pool until the weekend
  • Disliked — People off the boardwalk or street using the pool and lounge area making it too crowded for the guests.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestVirginiaLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worton, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I just got back from a 3 night 4 day stay at the Plim. this is my second year returning to the plim and I don't think I will ever go anywhere else. Everyone is so helpful at this hotel, we called three times to change our room and once to change the date of our stay, and not once did customer service give us grief. Check-in and check out go soooo smooth, couldnt ask for it to go better. Thier rooms arent that big, but we had a oceanfront with two queenbeds and we fit 6 people in there. of course two had to sleep on the floor, but we were snug and not one of us complained. Our bathroom wasnt dirty and filthy like these other review say, it was very clean, and well stocked. The cleaning crew were super friendly, they always spoke to you in the hall, and one day we had for room service on our door, and she didnt get to us first thing, but made sure to tell us as soon as she got the checkouts done she would be over to freshen up our room, which I thought was very nice, so that we didint think they had forgotten us. The pool bar was excellent, waitress was super friendly, the pool was absoluitely refreshing, with NO bugs swimming near us. My sister's and their boyfriends came down Friday evening, and the front desk gave me a parking permit for them with out any hassle, and I thought that was just great, becuase finding parking in OC can be hard. I had an amazing weekend and can't wait to go again next year, this hotel has won a place in our hearts. Thumbs up to the Plim!

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, what an amazing time!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The Plim is definitely not for the faint at heart. It's true the old girl needs some TLC and a good scrubbing but there is an upside.
Location, location, location! From our OC front room, we overlooked the sand sculptures, which were beautiful. The staff were all very nice, the bartenders friendly. The Caribbean Pool bar is great and the Plim is a convenient walk to the pier, inlet and MR Ducks tiki bar.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msanders-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We have just returned from four days at the Plim Plaza. The hotel is neglected, dirty, dark, dated, and we have never experienced such conditions before. The hallway to our room reaped of an odor like raw sewage, the room itself was small, the bathroom had mold, grime, and dirt. The sink basin backed up each time one washed their hands. It was so disgusting that it was hard to drag ourselves back to the hotel each evening to sleep.

The pool is great but neglected. Excessive unremoved sand, black grime around the pools edge, and bugs actually swim in the pool along side you.

Overall I would say this is probably one the worst hotels we have ever stayed at........

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — odor, neglectful conditions
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoraPa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plim Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plim Plaza Hotel

Property: Plim Plaza Hotel
Address: 104 N Baltimore Ave, Boardwalk and 2nd St., Ocean City, MD 21842-4019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Plim Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plim Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of the boardwalk, directly on the ocean. All of our rooms come with a refrigerator. During the day, grab a drink at the Caribbean Bar located next to the Olympic sized outdoor pool. At night feel free to relax on the spacious front porch and watch the people go by or head out for a walk and see what you can find on the boardwalk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Plim Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plim Plaza Ocean City
Hotel Plim Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing