We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEPLORABLE!!”
Review of Seabonay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seabonay Motel
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Ridgely, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DEPLORABLE!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter and I got a room in early April so, I didn't expect things to be functioning as they would in the summer. However, they should be clean and safe at least, right?
The office was barely even an office. It has ONE coffee pot for ALL the guests. No microwave in the room, and the fridge was dirty. EVERYTHING was dirty..from dust on the furniture to a FILTHY carpet, and a chair I wouldn't even let a pet sleep in. My skin crawled just walking into this room. The icing on the cake was when I found out the lock on the door was nothing more than a chain lock...and there was a crack between the door and jamb about 1/2 an inch wide. I told my daughter do NOT unpack. I went to the desk clerk, who was VERY nice and she gave me a complete refund. The staff was very friendly but, it just didn't make up for the dirty room, and the building itself was in desperate need of repair. Never again would I consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    42
    35
    18
    47
See reviews for
80
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Seabonay The third week of Sept and loved it! We were on the first floor easy access to the beach and 1 block from the boardwalk. It was great! We went to be by the ocean and that's exactly what we got. The room was perfect for what we wanted, the customer service was very genuine and sincere (which is very important to me). And the price was unbelievable! We look forward to staying there next September too. Thanks Seabonay for making our stay a memorable one. 5 stars
Sincerely, Pantelas Family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddypantelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulipg17
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here with my sister in the beginning of the season May 30th 2013. It was clean and comfortable with a lovely oceanfront view and a good location. They upgraded us to an ocean view room for free when we arrived, I assume because the hotel wasn't full and we were only staying one day. We really appreciated this and would consider coming back due to this extra service.

Room Tip: Ocean view was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulipg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I must admit, I was terrified to stay here just based on some of the reviews posted here and various other places. It by no means was the nicest place I have ever stayed, but I feel like it could need some defending. We had a second floor room that faced the near by 'Dunes Hotel' but we could see the ocean from one of our windows and we could walk to the balcony at the end of the 'hall' to see the ocean even better. Every person we encountered at the front desk was fantastic, from check-in, to the night auditor to check-out everyone was great and very helpful. Our room could use some help, but it WAS CLEAN. The wall paper was peeling in places and the paint on the ceiling was peeling as well, the new bathroom was awesome, the carpet & beds were clean. The motel is pretty run down, but it's old ... like a lot of other hotels/motels in OC, it was great for the price, considering all we used the room for was to sleep and shower, it was perfect. If you go on vacation to hang out in your hotel room, this is not the place for you, but if you go on vacation to GO ON VACATION, give it a shot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LYNBROOK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at in July for 2 nights. Last minute reservation. Disgusting room- 2nd floor end unit facing ocean (south end). Filthy carpeting. Peeling wall paper with what looked like mold behind it. Door lock broken and replacement lock barely locked door. Room smelled like it had not been cleaned since the 1970's. If not for the " new bathroom" i don't know what we would have done for using the bathroom. In looking at exterior of many units, air conditioners all had ice buckets to collect the water dripping from the units. The ice machine looked like it was 40 years old and certainly not anything i would use for an ice supply. Front windows, including ours, filthy as i had to clean it myself. Any reviews that state contrary opinion are probably made up and not to be believed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accomodating.The rooms were very clean and the location was great!
I would highly recommend this motel to anyone. We'll definitely be returning next summer. Thank you for making our vacation great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjames_mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Seabony had a great location & staff. Very friendly especially brook hamrock! Would recommend this place highly. Great places around the motel as well. Great view of the ocean & easy access to the beach. Had a great time here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeannsky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#47 of 103 in Ocean City
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunes Court
Dunes Court
#44 of 103 in Ocean City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabonay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Motel

Property: Seabonay Motel
Address: 2711 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabonay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block north of the boardwalk, the Seabonay is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. All rooms are air-conditioned with a refrigerator and two double beds. All rooms share a walkway balcony. Feel free to take a swim in our 8ft. deep outdoor pool or if the beach is what you’re after, the Seabonay is directly oceanfront. From our location, you will be within walking distance from restaurants, amusements, the boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seabonay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing