We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Beach Hotel
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has a great ocean view, room was large enough (i'm handicap) for my scooter, room was clean as well as the bathroom.
The hotel is on the opposite side of shops, so unless you rent a bike or ride the tram prepare for a walk, I got about 8 hours sleep for the weekend, mattress was like a rock.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing us for your oceanfront accommodations! I apologize that you found the bedding to be less than satisfactory. Your concern has been noted and we are currently in the process of upgrading many aspects of our wonderful hotel! Thank you for being our guest, we can't wait to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Matthew James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Generally this is a very nice hotel. Location is ideal. Oceanfront on the boarwalk. The room was clean upon arrival and was kept that way during our stay. Room staff was very friendly and efficient. Some confusion upon check-in. We were given the wrong room upon check-in and had to return to the front desk with our belonings to transfer to another room. The nice thing to do would have been to have someone from hotel staff come to our room to personally to move us to another room or a small compensation on our bill. When arriving in the second room we realized the chairs on the balcony were both broken. They were exchanged promptly. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for your thoughtful review. I apologize for the confusion at check-in and the inconvenience of having to move rooms. As you have noted we take pride in our friendly and efficient staff within the Carousel Group. Also, we have replaced almost every balcony chair over the past few months to make our guest's experience more enjoyable and memorable. Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Matthew James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff was friendly and the place is ok. Far from the lap of luxury and the bedding is quite hideous but it was clean. The mattress REALLY needs to be replaced, hard as a rock and you will feel every spring. Flat screen tv's were recently added so that's a plus. The view from our ocean view balcony was gorgeous and it's at the quieter end of the beach.

Room Tip: If you are going to sleep on the horrid bed do so with a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaywdw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing us for your ocean front accommodations! We apologize you found the bedding to be less than excellent, I have noted your comment and will be requesting our team address these concerns to be met before your next visit. As you mentioned, we did just upgrade all the TV's to 40" flat screen TV's! Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nikki at the front desk is amazing! she upgraded our room to OceanFront without us even asking. She asked if we needed anything to let her know. The boardwalk/beach is right outside their door. The room was very large and clean. The balcony was a good size. The price was amazing, we just needed a little R&R and this hotel really hit the spot. We went to Ocean City for our honeymoon back in 1997 and it hasn't really changed much and I mean that in a good way. Ocean City Maryland is very old school, very much for couples and families. We can't wait to return to this hotel in the very near future.

Room Tip: OceanFront rooms are the best value and bring your bikes to ride on the boardwalk
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reednikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear valued guest, thanks for the stellar review! We just love making our guests happy and anticipating guest needs before they ask is our main strategy. The Carousel Group Management team has recently been working hard to make some small upgrades to the hotel. Thanks again for the great review, we look forward to having you again as our guest in Ocean City Maryland!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel was clean & comfortable. Jacuzzi was awesome & provided relief for sore golfer's muscles. Nikki at the front desk was so helpful & friendly, she really made us feel welcome with her smile & upbeat demeanor. She was so pleasant & helped us with all the questions we had. Bed sheets were clean & bed was comfortable. Had an issue with the tv remote not working, but the staff came right up & took care of it. Area of the hotel was very quiet and away from the loud noises found down towards the amusements at the end of the boardwalk. Looking forward to staying here again. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: An ocean front room obviously would be the best.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for the thoughtful review. We want to state that The Crystal Beach Hotel is a great hotel, and it's only getting better. The Carousel Group Management Group has recently taken over the operations and management of the hotel. What does this mean for you? It means more than just quality assurance, it means you will get the benefits from staying at a Carousel Group Hotel.

Benefits Include:
Free Vouchers when you book on our website: crystalbeachhotel .com
Free Vouchers exclusively found with The Carousel Group:
1. Family Photo Night
2. Discounted Ice Skating
3. Discounted Dining in the Carousel Oceanfront Restaurant
4. Use of the Tropical lawn, live entertainment including Live Ice Shows in The Summer

There are many great activities just walking distance from the hotel. These activities include Movies on the beach, family beach Olympics, Jolly Rogers amusement park, great dining, attractions, miniature golf, and so much more!

Thanks for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management Team 800 641 0011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Back again in 2013 for the 4th year. Wouldn't like to have to go anywhere else. Already booked
for 2014!!! Cleaning crew friendly and helpful, what a combination! Manager is awesome, like
having a friend who really cares about you and your stay!!!

Room Tip: We love the ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for the thoughtful review. We want to state that The Crystal Beach Hotel is a great hotel, and it's only getting better. The Carousel Group Management Group has recently taken over the operations and management of the hotel. What does this mean for you? It means more than just quality assurance, it means you will get the benefits from staying at a Carousel Group Hotel.

Benefits Include:
Free Vouchers when you book on our website: crystalbeachhotel .com
Free Vouchers exclusively found with The Carousel Group:
1. Family Photo Night
2. Discounted Ice Skating
3. Discounted Dining in the Carousel Oceanfront Restaurant
4. Use of the Tropical lawn, live entertainment including Live Ice Shows in The Summer

There are many great activities just walking distance from the hotel. These activities include Movies on the beach, family beach Olympics, Jolly Rogers amusement park, great dining, attractions, miniature golf, and so much more!

Thanks for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management Team 800 641 0011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Very dirty place!! Carpet disgusting! Air conditioner unit didnt look like its been cleaned in quite sometime! So if we get respiratory infections we no the source! Beds were very uncomfortable. Bed clothing old & torn. Nice to have a sliding class door- but- if uou can't see out of it- what's the purpose of paying for it?? Not cleaned on daily cleaning @ all. The only thing that was done daily was the bed thrown back together! Disgustingly dirty coffe pot (white) with mold in it- they exchanged it for one that was black in color so you couldnt see the mold! Very dirty glass carafe with it! Would never use it!! They charge top dollar for the location! Owner needs to access rooms & staff! Bathroom air vents never cleaned! Won't waste my money next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 1Suntanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for the thoughtful review. We want to state that The Crystal Beach Hotel is a great hotel, and it's only getting better. The Carousel Group Management Group has recently taken over the operations and management of the hotel. What does this mean for you? It means more than just quality assurance, it means you will get the benefits from staying at a Carousel Group Hotel.

Benefits Include:
Free Vouchers when you book on our website: crystalbeachhotel .com
Free Vouchers exclusively found with The Carousel Group:
1. Family Photo Night
2. Discounted Ice Skating
3. Discounted Dining in the Carousel Oceanfront Restaurant
4. Use of the Tropical lawn, live entertainment including Live Ice Shows in The Summer

There are many great activities just walking distance from the hotel. These activities include Movies on the beach, family beach Olympics, Jolly Rogers amusement park, great dining, attractions, miniature golf, and so much more!

Thanks for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management Team 800 641 0011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#39 of 104 in Ocean City
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Beach Hotel

Address: 2500 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3430
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £47 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Beach Hotel is located at 25th Street and the Boardwalk. The hotel is featuring 79 deluxe efficiency rooms overlooking clean, wide beach on the Atlantic Ocean. The Crystal Beach Hotel is situated within walking distance of shopping, fine dining, fun eateries, and the amusements on Ocean City's newly renovated boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Beach Ocean City
Hotel Crystal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing