We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Hawk, OC”
Review of Sea Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Hawk Motel
Ranked #39 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sea Hawk, OC”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I found the Sea Hawk to be a good value for the price paid. The room had 2 queen beds, sofa bed, TV, stove, microwave, and full size refrigerator. There was a supply of dishes, pans, mugs. The Motel is located 1/2 a block from the beach on the quiet family side and several miles away from the boardwalk and crowds. I did not hear any noise at night and this appeared to be a motel frequented by families. The pool is very small, as are most pools in smaller motels. The staff was friendly and allowed use of a change room and parking after we had checked out. There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off and many restaurants, stores, fast food, etc nearby. A bus route runs along the front street. The motel is an excellent choice. Only those not wanting to walk, drive, bike or bus to the boardwalk should avoid this place.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ae2j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    79
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
126
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed at the Sea Hawk Motel for the second time this summer and it was just as great as the first time. Me and my family all love it. First of all, the employees at the hotels are just very friendly and nice. Too the rooms are very clean and very practical because of the little kitchen(refrigerator , microwave and Oven). The pool is very clean and hot. The only things at the hotel that could of been better is that the water from the shower was getting cold and then extremily hot, the pool is closing at 8 o'clock(too early).
Over all the hotel was fun and i would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peacegirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This motel, located on 125th St in Ocean City is currently rated at #2 in terms of popularity on travel advisor. Based on our experience, this past 4 nights, I dont think it belongs in the top 20. The low daily rate of $155 per night was the main draw admittedly, and the rooms were cleaned daily and the grounds were clean. This is a family run motel, and so the front office was friendly and helpful, but the rooms were small, outdated, the beds not firm enough for anyone over 200 lbs, the clientele sometimes not the best (our boogie board and beach chair were stolen from our front door overnight.), and our car was also keyed in the parking lot. I am not sure if this was just a random teenager or what, but in any case, this is not what I expect when I go on vacation to a nice hotel at the beach resort of Ocean CIty, MD.

Let me say that in previous stays in Ocean CIty, that we stayed at the Hilton, whose rooms are almost brand new and three times the size of the Sea Hawk. Yes, the Hilton is more than three times the price of the Sea Hawk Motel, but is more than three times as nice as well in terms of size, view privacy and amenities. The Hilton is a hotel where you hate to leave. In contrast, we could not wait to check out of the Sea Hawk Hotel.. The Sea Hawk Hotel's only pool is adjacent to Coastal Highway and is really too small to be considered usable. In fact, its dimensions are no more than 20 x 30 feet. and 5 feet deep at the deep end. The Sea Hawk does have a 1.5 block walk to the beach at 125th st., but at least it is on oceanside. Also, the Sea Hawk does not have laundry facilities, so be prepared to use a laundromat, and bring your own toulet paper, paper towels, and can opener. The kitchen in the efficiency is rudimentary at best, and you will find yourself eating out almost every night., because the kitchen and related cooking equipment is not the same as what you are used to at home. On the plus side, the Sea Hawk is located across the street from a brand new all you can eat crab house, called Old Mill Crab House. Old MIll is expensive, but if you are hungry for blue crabs, you will enjoy the dinner. With the money you save by staying at the Sea Hawk you can definitely afford to eat out, so if you dont mind roughing it in an average non full service hotel, stay here at the Sea Hawk, and have extra money for eating out, or whatever else you like to do. If, on the other hand, you value quiet, privacy, ocean views, full service, no crime, safes in room, awesome pools, better location, but higher rates, stay at the Hilton. I think next time I will save my money for the Hilton. Hope this review helps everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tegemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have been going to Ocean City for most of my life. We had met some new friends while travailing to Chicago. They came out with their two teen girls this summer for a visit. The girls had never been in the ocean before so the trip was a big one for them. We have stayed in many places over the years and some of the hotels, even the big ones have not always been very clean.
This place was just what the other reviewers had said, older hotel, but great service and very clean. They even let us check in at 11:00. There was plenty of parking and the walk to the beach was very short. We plan on staying here every time we come to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treedoctor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Hawk motel for a week and it was great. The staff was friendly and the room was very clean and spacious. The walk to the beach was very short and there was no street to cross because we went out of the back of the motel. I thought that it was going to be noisy because it is located on Coastal Highway which is a very busy road, but it was surprisingly quiet. The private balcony was great - we sat out there every night and watched the cars drive by! The motel is not near the boardwalk, but there were plenty of stores, shops, and restaurants within walking distance. And the few times we drove to the boardwalk, we were able to find on-street free parking. The only negative thing I could say is that a few times when I was taking a shower, the water temperature was not consistent. Although, in a motel there are a lot of people using the water at the same time so I wasn't too surprised when it happened. Overall, it was a great trip and we would definitely go back to the Sea Hawk motel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMatis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

First time visit and would definitely stay again. The night clerk was one of the most kind and personable people I have met in a long time.In this day and age of establishments charging outrageous prices for shoddy accomodations, it is great to stay at a reasonably priced motel that looks like management still cares about upkeep. There are lots of places in Ocean City that are overpriced and have been going down hill for a long time but this place is not one of them. Even though our room faced the coastal highway, it was quiet, very clean, and the bed really comfortable . How many other motels in OC launder their bedspreads after each visit -probably not too many but the SeaHawk does! Kudos to the owner and staff for a great visit!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed at this property for one night to attend the Springfest. The room was more than adequate for the 2 of us, it had a stove, fridge, microwave, 2 beds and sleeper sofa. Not a fancy room but the room is not priced that way either. It was the opening of the season and they were still painting the outside which did not interfere with our stay. The road noise was somewhat bothersome but one would expect road noise since it is located on Ocean highway. The room was clean, the bathroom a tad small, the water was hot, the towels could use some upgrading, they were a bit small and worn. This hotel worked for us for a short stay and on a similar trip we would come back. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbuster885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk Motel

Property: Sea Hawk Motel
Address: 12410 Coastal Hwy, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842-4709
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Hawk Hotel Ocean City
The Sea Hawk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing