We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Clean, Comfortable!”
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Cozy, Clean, Comfortable!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The room was very clean, and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and fast at meeting any needs we had. This hotel has a GREAT location; hardly half a block from the beach! Very inexpensive for what you're getting! LOVE this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    91
    33
    16
    44
See reviews for
101
79
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Buckingham. Every time we stay, we notice new upgrades and improvements. This hotel now offers the best value in Ocean City, especially because it's so close to the beach/boardwalk and downtown. Friendly service, easy check-in, none of the hassle of staying in a high-rise. Our family won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnePATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for Senior Week and I couldn't have been happier. I'll break my review down to pros and cons just so it's a bit easier to read.

Pros:
Location -It's perfect, walk across the street and you're right on the boardwalk.

Price- I was a bit skeptical of how nice it would be because it was so cheap (I paid a little over $900+tax for the entire week) but I was pleasantly surprised.

Cleanliness/ friendliness - a housekeeper came everyday to clean and collect trash & the staff was very nice.

Noise level- even though I went for Senior Week I was still on vacation and wanted to relax sometimes, I loved that the hotel was very quiet and if guests did get too loud someone would come up to let them know to quiet down.

The shower- yes, you read that right, one of my pros is the shower. The shower head that they have is wonderful it's like a massage and it's just... perfect. Lol. Especially after a long day at the beach.

Cons:
Space- the hotel itself its pretty small compared to others in OC so obviously the rooms are going to be small, however while I consider it a "con" it wasn't much of a problem. It was kind of annoying to have to wait for someone to come up the stairs before you could go down due to lack of space but still not that huge of a deal.

Humidity problem- unfortunately when it rains the room starts to feel a little sticky and our air conditioner started leaking down
the wall.

No iron in the room, you have to go to the lobby and haul the ironing board and iron back up to your room.

All in all, I think the Buckingham is a great place to stay. The rooms are up to date and the beds are comfortable. Despite the minor annoyances, for the price you just can't beat it. Definitely money well spent and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We loved our vacation at the Buckingham in OC Maryland! The location was perfect--we were able to walk to the beach, boardwalk, and our favorite OC restaurants! We stayed in one of the efficiencies and it seemed like it was brand new. It had a full size frig, cooking area, and snack bar in the kitchen. There was also a comfortable area for watching TV and two separate bedrooms--one for us and one for the kids! I especially enjoyed grabbing my free cup of coffee in the lobby each morning and sitting out on a rocking chair on the front porch!!!! The kids loved the convenience of the vending machines and I was so happy to see that you even stocked one with toothbrushes and suntan lotion!!! How convenient! Can't wait to come back this summer!

Room Tip: Upstairs efficiency apartments were brand new and very comfortable! Perfect for a family vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My boyfriend and I went to OC for the day and last minute we decided we wanted to stay the night. We had made no reservations and it was the Dew Tour Weekend. This made it very hard to find a room. We went to about 8 hotels before we ran into Buckingham. To our relief they had a room available. The room was very updated, clean, and super cute! The bathroom was spotless with nice tile, not that nasty moldy stuff. The staff was super friendly and the place was not loud inside. I really enjoyed the fact that they rent rooms out to the 25+ crowd. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back in September! Next summer we will be looking into their apartments!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mswiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn O, Manager at Buckingham Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Ms. Wiseman

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your stay with us in September as well. The staff has printed copies of this review and posted it on the wall in the office in a few different spots.... it's really nice to read at least once a day. It really brings a smile every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The staff at Buckingham Hotel are super friendly and accommodating. The hotel is just a block from the boardwalk and close to many great restaurants and a CVS. Parking was free. I really enjoyed my stay and will return.

Room Tip: I liked the inside rooms as one can walk out the front of hotel then cross the street and in a few s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudgy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

gI really enjoyed the hotel, it was very affordable, the staff was nice,and professional, the rooms were very clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom was very nice, modern and updated and had plenty of towels and necessities.The parking was right outside of the hotel which made for a short walk to our room with no stairs to climb. This is a lovely little place to hang your hat for a family trip where you can have a simple and enjoyable stay with free coffee and rooms that offer microwaves and large refrigerators. Its just small enough to feel cozy and stress free and yet large enough to accommodate all of your needs.

Room Tip: Please be aware that if anyone in your party is under 25 yrs old, even if they are your children you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinaH41332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Madison Beach Motel
Madison Beach Motel
#26 of 103 in Ocean City
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#72 of 103 in Ocean City
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#52 of 103 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1405 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3628 (Formerly Buckingham Motel)
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buckingham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 1/2 block from the beach and boardwalk, The Buckingham Hotel was renovated just a few years ago. The property features both rooms with microwaves & refrigerators, as well as two bedroom apartments and efficiencies with kitchens. New beds and linens, air conditioner units, windows and drapes. Freshly painted. With a new era of cleanliness being the top priority, we'll also continue or tradition of friendly guest service. Free parking, WiFi, ice and coffee/tea service in the 24 hour lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing