We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want mold filled lungs this is for you”
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Islander Motel
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you want mold filled lungs this is for you”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

noticed baseboard rotting away wit mold as soon as i opened door the mold n mildew in bathroom along with white farr growing like a cobweb on baseboard under bathroom sink mild in the tile grout it was just horrible something you see in rod zombie movies laft 40 mins after we got there and i have pictures

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baltimoredude1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    9
    24
    102
See reviews for
64
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I wanted to stay here because it is only one block from Fishtails. The best kept secret in in Ocean City. Good food, friendly staff, great sunsets, and kid friendly. The room was very basic. Clean and a great deal on Groupon. My only complaint was the shower/bath. Water could not be shut off, constant running. When turned on for the shower both facets leaked and I couldn't turn on a full shower because water was still coming out of the facet. Other than that, like I said, "You get what you pay for".

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I will say this as a small tibit as to the type of place this is - we found marijuana on the nightstand that had not been cleaned up from the guests before us! Our friend booked the reservation, which was our first mistake. We show up before the friend and are not allowed to check in. We even offered to put our credit card down instead, since our friend would not be in town until around midnight - still no. We finally get to our room, later that night, and the door is so flimsy that I, a 110 pound woman, could put my foot through it if I tried. Inside it smelled like mold and dust, the bathroom needs a good scrubbing, and the bedsheets are the lowest quality, thinnest you can find. We stick it out for the night. I wake up with an eye infection on the side that was on the pillow. The shower head falls off into the tub while our friend was showering and the shower then becomes a pressure washer, leaving bruises. Sleeping in your car would be better than this!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

As seasoned travelers we have been to 30 countries and 18 states. I have visited ocean city md twice a year for approx 40 years and I have never been speechless before when I walked into any of my accommodations. In a nut she'll very dirty. Appliances did not work. Ac was so loud could not sleep. Toilet ran all night everything dropped. Stains on towels. Coffee stains spilled in our drawers and not wiped out. We had to buy a bottle of cleaner and redo our room. There was a pot under our sink collecting dripping water. Bathroom had much mold as did areas in cabinets and under sink. THERE IS NO GUARANTEED PARKING I have never experienced this at any oc accommodations in the approx 80-100 times that I have stayed there. Tenants were throwing fits at the accommodations and the lack of parking. 2 nights I had to park a few blocks down street. Very dirty and out dated. The pool sprinkler did not work and was full of some sort of growth. The pics online are not necessarily a good representation of what is to be expected. They claim to be under new management as well in which I would think suggests improvements maybe? Paid a little under $700 for 3 nights. We expected d and out dated but did not expect to have to clean my own room. Oc is a gem of a city. Aces like this should be kept up with cleaning at the very least. It was a good location tho being right next to Phillips crab house. Love that restauraunt. All in all. Not worth the money

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

blood all over floor, ripped covers and sheets, dirty bathroom with hair in tub, rusted appliances covered in old food, wood panel walls, light fixtures falling from ceiling, no refund policy, terrible customer service, terrible place to stay, the cheapest of the cheap, perfect to do drugs id guess other than that STAY ELSE WHERE, SPEND EXTRA MONEY, DO NOT STAY HERE, CHEAPEST HOTEL IN OC BY FAR!! EWWWWW!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzyaboybugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocean city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not ever one to complain but I have NEVER stayed in a place so disgusting. we had no shower head, so literally the water just poured out, no hot water. no towels our bed was literally a cot mattress. ants everywhere. the air conditioner leaked all over the floor. the tv had two channels an the remote didn't even work. when I went and asked for my money back they said no refunds and i told her all my complaints and she acted like it was no big deal. they moved us to another room which was worse!!! NEVER EVER AGAIN. oh and I was only there for maybe fifteen minutes before we decided to stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jennndennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Islander Motel in OC, Md is worse than a DUMP!!! Reserved 3 nights and couldn't even stomach staying there. Tried to get some of my money back and mgmt gave me a copy of my contract and they highlighted in front of me "...NO REFUNDS...". Rooms smelled of chemicals (possibly pesticides). No shower heads, stove didn't work and was rusted, broken beer bottles in parking lot, etc. Not associated with OC, Md Commerce, so they couldn't do anything. WORSE MOTEL EVER!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhondamayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#75 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#57 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Property: The Islander Motel
Address: 2001 Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3549
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Islander Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a family owned and operated business, we understand how important it is to keep our customers completely satisfied. From our flexibledaily, weekly and monthly rates to our spacious, quiet lodgings, we are the perfect location for a great vacation! UNDER New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Ocean City
Islander Motel Ocean City
Islander Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing