We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Sands Motel
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Have stayed three years in a row for a week each time. Management has always been very nice and friendly. Rooms have been clean, housekeeping very accomodating. Rooms are plain but my daughter and I don't spend too much time in the room. As a single parent on a family vacation I appreciate no tolerance for late night visitors or partying in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geewillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The management was terrible. The guy was extremely rude to everyone. The rooms smell bad and musty. The tiles on the bathroom floor are filthy. The ceiling is half fallen down. I would not recommend anyone staying here even for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanchris, Manager at Crystal Sands Motel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The police were called regarding this customer and they were requested to vacate the premises due to their disorderly conduct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Poorly managed, mediocre maid service, unpleasant customer service, sub-standard rooms - need I say more? Go ANY place else than this!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanchris, Manager at Crystal Sands Motel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The police were called regarding this customer and they were requested to vacate the premises due to their disorderly conduct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Went down around senior week and I'm 21 years old and in the military and was told no alcohol in the room and was treated like an 18 year old In high school. Tried coming back to the room after 9 and was interrogated by the "security" gut and he had to check my I'd. I was also told my guest couldn't come back in my room because there are no guests after 930. Ive never been so disrespected and treated like a kid. I would never suggest or stay near this place. It is sketchy and unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacole829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Pros:
Great location, affordable, Very nice staff, spacious room

Cons:
small parking lot
odor in room
Dirty towels& sheets
Rust inside fridge
Dated decor
No pool

Thought this would be a nice place to enjoy a birthday weekend however we were greeted by a disgusting odor in the room. We went to walmart to buy some fresheners which helped a little. When we returned we decided to bathe before bed, the bathroom was clean however the towels were dingy.So we tried to ignore that and get some rest. I pulled back blanket to find dirty sheets underneath. I guess that was the last straw so we slept on top of the blanket and checked out the first thing in the morning. Due to the no refund policies we ended up losing the money for that & paying for two nights at another hotel.

This is a decent place to stay if you aren't planning on being inside the room Much. However, I wouldn't suggest this place to clean-freaks like myself or families with children.

WARNING: bring your own towels and sheets just in case

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sp_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed at the Crystal Sands and really enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was super nice and helped me in ideas of what to do and where to eat. I love the location and walking distance to the beach. Parked the car and did not return until it was time to leave my trip. I would stay there again~

Room Tip: Great place for a couples or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cprohias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

GOOD
Cheap
Location
Clean
BAD
Tiny out dated room
Limited amenities
(No shampoo, hair dryer, tissues)
Attitude of some desk personnel
1/2 parking 2 blocks away
No pool

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabababba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#46 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Motel

Property: Crystal Sands Motel
Address: 1705 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3634
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Sands Motel is located in Ocean City MD. We are just a block away from the boardwalk and beach! Here at Crystal Sands we provide 3 different room types: King Room w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, Double Bed w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, and also our large Family Efficiency rooms w/ 2 beds, sofa bed, dining room table, kitchenette area with stove top, microwave, and large refrigerator. We have knowledgeable staff with GREAT customer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing