We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rideau Motor Inn
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Enola, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

terrible room, paint chipping gap under door and ac unit dirty tiles didnt clean before we got there mini fridge had something spilled all through it wouldnt even let our kid play on the floor..... onlly good thing is location

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    16
    14
    15
See reviews for
31
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Although it is an older hotel, our room was clean and comfortable. We had an oceanfront room on the lst floor...it was huge...lots of room to spread out. Balcony was very large and you just can't beat the location. Pool was clean and water was comfortable. Hallways and common areas were clean. Would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Must get an oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLT4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

There was nothing spectacular, but we were satisfied. The pool is nice. It's not heated, and there is no kiddie pool (like the sign still says as of May 2012). This place is a little old and run down, but it is literally right in the middle of everything! The balcony overlooked one of the busiest places on the Boardwalk.
OC has a new 5 story beach ball that they light up with a huge laser show every Sunday night on the beach, and it's directly in front of this hotel. We watched it from our balcony. I read some reviews about bad parking, but as of this date, every room has a reserved spot in the parking lot right by the pool. No issue at all. The maid service is pretty much "do you need any towels today?" But if you clean up after yourself, that's totally fine as far as I'm concerned.
I will come back here again for sure. It's exactly what I'm looking for when I come to the beach.

Room Tip: The balcony overlooks the boardwalk in a perfect spot. Try to get one of those rooms. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdiegjdieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stay at the Rideau every summer. The rooms are big, and are kept pretty clean. Bathroom is a little small, but We can deal for 4 days. Awesome location overlooking the ocean and Board walk. Large ocean front is the way to go. Cant beat the price $239/night. Staff is very helpful. Try to get a room on the first floor, its a hike down the stairs to the boardwalk from the second floor. Nice pool that is kept clean. Private parking is also a plus. No need to drive everywhere, just park and enjoy!! Cant wait to go back this Summer!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

So, my family and I have stayed there every summer for the past three years. The first year, before even getting to our room, we had to pass dried up puke in the hallways, which made the whole hall smell awful. This was not cleaned the whole time we were there. The second year we stayed there, our AC unit stopped working. The maintenance man had to replace it but had to wait until the following day. They gave us a small temporary room to stay in that had air conditioning. This room was filthy and dark. The third year we stayed, (Don't ask why we even came back let alone even a second time) They put a loud restaurant right under about 3 of the second story rooms. This place stayed open until about midnight or maybe even all night, i had to play music to muffle the horrible screaming and yelling that was occurring. So basically, this motel is dirty, more like filthy, not so greatly maintained, no elevator, poor utilities, lots of noise until very late hours, smells horrible, and just not worth it. For a few extra dollars you can stay at the Howard Johnson's on 24th street, with a much nicer hotel. Hope this made your decision for you, because once you go, you'll think, "Oh crap, should have listened to that one review!" because trust me, you'll hate it. Thanks. :)

Room Tip: Don't stay here.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

nowhere, de
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed there with 2 friends (a married couple) for bike week. We found the room to be more than adequate in size. The housekeeping staff was pretty casual, but then again so are we. If you're looking for your bed to be made up in the AM and chocolate kisses on your pillow at bedtime, then the Rideau is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for clean and pleasant, go for it!

Room Tip: I'd stay on 2nd or 3rd floor. The ocean front rooms are set up a bit differently, but even the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iliveindelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

It's clean, close to everything, the rooms are large. The pool is very nice and clean, always a parking spot. The price is very reasonable. Staff very nice. This is an old no frills motel. But you can't beat the price and location. If you are very picky, do not stay here. If you want a clean cheap room with a perfect location and great pool, this place is fine.
Di

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Motor Inn

Property: Rideau Motor Inn
Address: 10 S Atlantic Ave, Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842-4062
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rideau Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Ocean City within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the widest beach, oceanfront with the best views, all up to date conveniences, swimming pool, on site parking with great personal service and a family atmosphere, all of which are hallmarks of the Rideau experience. We welcome you to enjoy your family vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rideau Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Motor Hotel Ocean City
Rideau Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing